We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening, fine dining in amazing space” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Garden by Caino

Winter Garden by Caino
Piazza Ognissanti 1 | c/o The St. Regis Florence, 50123 Florence, Italy
+39 055 2716 3770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #472 of 1,876 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $89 - $167
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A collaboration between The St. Regis Florence and multi-Michelin star Chef Valeria Piccini from the 2-Michelin star Restaurant Da Caino in Montemerano (Grosseto). Winter Garden by Caino is a fine dining proposal bringing together Tuscan culinary tradition and the hotel's bespoke service in the heart of Florence.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely evening, fine dining in amazing space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The staff were welcoming and very knowledgable. Our waiter suggested superb wines to accompany the tasting menu, many local that I'd never heard of. Very honest, good advice from someone who just wanted us to have the best time possible. If you want a special evening in an amazing setting, then go here. The pianist was good too! A mix of Tchaikovsky and David Bowie... Priceless.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Restaurant Manager at Winter Garden by Caino, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Dickster B,

Allow us to thank you for sharing with thousands of travelers your amazing and priceless experience with us.
We are particularly delighted to read that you rate our staff and service so highly.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of your next visit to our restaurant Winter Garden by Caino.

With kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A lovely evening, with a few improvements I see Michelin stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We came across this restaurant a little by accident when planning our trip to Florence & our reservation had to be cancelled at another restaurant. The room itself is beautiful and really sets the scene for a lavish evening. After a glass of Champagne in the bar we moved to a very comfortable table in the restaurant and choose their tasting menu which was five courses at 95 Euros per person which we thought was very reasonably priced.
We had stuffed Squid to start which to be honest could have done with being half the size. We were given two stuffed baby squids which is a lot to tackle for your first course of a tasting menu, I pressume this to be the same size a an a la carte starter. Fine for a starter, prehaps a bit much when you have several courses to follow. It was stuffed with a kind of Persillade which was delicous but very stong so again a smaller amount would have sufficed.
Next course was Hare with mushroom jelly, wild mushrooms, truffle and dehydrated vegetables. The hare was perfectly cooked, the mushroom jelly a little lacking in flavour but the wild mushrooms were a welcome addition. Although we thought the dehydrated vegetable 'dust' a nice texture we did think that there was way too much of this and it wasn't clear which particular vegetables they had started life as!
Next we had probably the best course of the evening the suckling pig tortellini with chicken stock sauce. These were absolute perfection, we could of eaten it all over again which I guess is what any kitchen wants to achieve. Perfect pasta, delicious filling and amazing sauce.
The main event of the meal was sous vede Lamb which was cooked perfectly, full of flavour and served with a variety of local cabbages all cooked perfectly and adding a lovely texture to the dish.
We are not really dessert people as a rule but the Goats Milk Ice Cream with Orange & Olive Oil Emulsion & Spicy Peanuts was absolutely fantastic - again I could have eaten it again. Very clever, very strong techinque, an absolute triumph!
Service was lovely through-out, prehaps a little nervous in places, relax guys you are lovely people and this will shine through. The only point I would make that I think really needs addressing is the tea we were served. It was leaf tea, great, but it it was deposited into the strainer and hot water poured over it into a cup. It needs to be put in the pot of hot water and left to infuse for a couple of minutes, then the guest can strain it into their cup when the desired strength is reached. It's a small point but the correct serving of a tea or coffee, probably the final thing you have before you leave can colour the whole evening as it's the last thing you remember.
I am certain the kitchen are pushing for a Michelin visit which I am sure they will get. I am also sure that there will be an addition to the stars of the city of Florence sometime in the future. Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Restaurant Manager at Winter Garden by Caino, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear EdRobo,

Allow us to thank you for taking the time to post your positive and detailed comments regarding your recent visit to our Winter Garden by Caino restaurant. We are delighted to read that your experience has been memorable.
In particular we would like to thank you for your valuable feedback regarding our tea serving. Please rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration, as we always do our upmost to keep improving our service.

Thanking you again, we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future.

With kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Special evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Everything was perfect! Genuine staff and excellent cuisine in a beautiful setting with a piano player!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Restaurant Manager at Winter Garden by Caino, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear LFDNY,

Thank you for your kind words of praise for the Winter Garden by Caino restaurant and for rating our staff so highly. We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We ate there as part of our stay in The St Regis. Dining there is truly an event. The service is great and food is great. Very much recommended

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winter Garden by Caino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Winter Garden by Caino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Garden by Caino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.