We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alessandro Cammilli Private Tours

Alessandro Cammilli Private Tours
50100 Florence, Italy
+39 339 644 1133
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hello and thanks! I am available for day trips, wine tours, shore excursions and transfers. I hope to see you soon in Tuscany, ciao!
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Alessandro is a fantastic guide and we really enjoyed our day with him. It is by far the best way to see Sienna, Tuscany, and some of the local Wineries. Alessandro gives you a great background of what you can expect to see and sets you off to explore the cities along the way. The car ride is filled with great knowledge of the area and history of the towns you will be seeing. When you arrive at the wineries he does a great job of explaining the history of the winery and what kind of wine you will be tasting and any other questions you have. I would highly recommend his tour for anyone looking to get out and see more of the countryside.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Day Trip in Tuscany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Since this was our first time in Italy, we booked what we perceived to be the standard Tuscan sightseeing excursion…San Gimignano, Siena and a couple of wineries in the Chianti Classico region. Alessandro was on time, even early. His car was parked at the door of our hotel, warm and waiting for us at precisely 8:30 AM. Knowing we'd been in Florence for less than 12 hours and had not seen it in the daylight, Alessandro took us to Piazza Michelangelo so we could view the city from above and get our bearings. From there, we drove through the outskirts of Florence and stopped at the USA WWII Memorial. It is a solemn place, not for everyone, but who knew 4000 American soldiers are buried on a hillside outside Florence?

The next leg of our day took us to San Gimignano and then Siena. He'd take us to one end of the town, give us the lay of the land and some points of interest, and then cut us loose. He'd be waiting on the other end of town whenever we were ready. He even told us where to get our morning Gelato fix and took us to have lunch at a world famous butcher's small restaurant/shop. Each time we got back in the car we were greeted with a smiling face. Alessandro made it a point to open our doors each time we got in or out of his car… a little extra touch that goes above and beyond.

Conversation in the car was pleasant. Alessandro is extremely knowledgeable and personable and, for those curious, his English is great. We had questions galore that he answered completely and passionately. Alessandro is very proud of his country and specifically, the areas in and around Florence. He knows the town, its history and the surrounding countryside. He has anecdotes for every sight along the way and has a vast knowledge of local vineyards and wines in general. Alessandro was very flexible and able to tailor our excursion based on our interests. He dropped us off back at our hotel and we said goodbye, not realizing we'd run into him again later on that night at dinner. Having spent a day with Alessandro, we came away with more than just a few bottles of wine and some nice photos...we came away with a new friend.

Thanks Alessandro for being one of the highlights of our Italian vacation!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best guide in all of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had the pleasurable experience of two days with Ale during our stay in Florence. First, he provided a wonderful transfer for our family of 5 from Rome to Firenze the day after arriving on a flight from the US to Rome. It was a benefit versus just taking a train and seeing the countryside go by. We stopped in Orvieto to see the cathedral and then Montepulciano to taste wine and Pecorino cheese. Ale phoned ahead and had everything planned. Near dusk we arrived in Firenze and stopped for a great view of the Arno River and photos atop Piazzale Michelangelo. Ale even phoned ahead to our apartment owner as courtesy of our arrival.

Three days later we visited the Chianti Classico region (San Gimignano, Siena & Greve in Chianti) and had a wonderful lunch/wine at Montagliari Winery. It was super cool to see the process of both wine and balsamic making! The winery respects Ale as one of them.

In summary, Ale has the best communication skills pre-visit (prompt email responses) and during the visit. He is a consummate gentleman and his manners our respected (opens doors at every stop!). I can personally say being in Corporate business world for 25 years, Ale defines relationships. We began with him as a "driver" and departed considering him a family friend!

Gracie Ale!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

5 of us were met on time and whisked away in a comfortable, safe car by a pleasant, easy going professional. Ale shares past history and present perspectives while crafting your tour to exceed your expectations. We saw the obvious spots and some hidden gems as well. You're lucky to get on his calendar. He is very responsive to email. We will always remember our day with Ale.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Day trip with Alessandro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We spent a perfect day with Ale. He picked us up at our hotel in Florence.His car is comfortable and immaculate. We appreciated all of his recommendations and he was open to all our requests. I would highly recommend a day with him if you are in Tuscany.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alessandro Cammilli Private Tours also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Alessandro Cammilli Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alessandro Cammilli Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.