We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate here all 3 nights in Florence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Vecchio Vicolo

Osteria Vecchio Vicolo
Via Lambertesca 16r | a due passi dagli Uffizi, Piazza Signoria e Ponte Vecchio, 50122 Florence, Italy
0552654512
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 2,059 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Ate here all 3 nights in Florence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We found this restaurant with a recommendation from our hotel, and we loved it so much that we could not miss a meal here. We got different food each time including the bruschetta, both truffle pasta dishes, seafood risotto, beef filet, grilled seafood platter, fettuccine with cream sauce, and pizza, and each thing was fantastic! We also got some great wine, both the house wine (very affordable) and a special chianti Classico riserva by Ducale (this was the only thing we got twice, it was so good.). The tiramisu is definitely the way to end the meal. It was very light, fresh, and tasty. You will want to dine here so don't come when you will be rushed.

The service is typical Italian service which takes some getting use to for Americans, but everyone was willing to help us whenever we made the slightest gesture.

During our second visit we got to meet the owner as he recognized us from a previous visit, and he made the experience even better. He greeted us with a great smile on our visits and even gave us the table by the door on our last night. The hostess/cashier was also very helpful. She noticed that our food took a while on our first visit and gave us complimentary limoncello to make up for it.

I am sad to leave Florence, but even sadder to leave this place behind.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    327
    78
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Travelling from England through France to Sicily, this restaurant is one of the best we have encountered

Great food, great service, great atmosphere and superb value.

If you miss this one you missed out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“friendly enviroment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recommend this place to people as it has a very friendly atmosphere and good food. Price is good as well and has a traditional setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great restaurant, in a great city with great owner Luigi!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have been in Florence with my fiancee for 2 days this July (2013). I was looking for a restaurant typically italian with good food, atmosphere. While we were walking through the small streets of Florence, I saw Osteria Vecchio Vicolo and I said this must be the place. The decoration is nice and very simple but the characteristic italian food and the service are gorgeous. The prices are very reasonable. I must admit we have been only 2 nights at Florence but we have preferred to have our dinners at Osteria Vecchio Vicolo for both of the evenings. The owner Luigi and his wife, they are very friendly and they know very very well how to cook and serve the real italian food. As I have leaved for 3 years in Italy, I believe this one of the restaurants which everybody has to try at least once in a lifetime. I am sure after this first exprerience the others will follow as well. Selin

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Florence is 99% a tourist city and as a result there are loads of tourist trap type restaurants where you get poor service, average food and a big bill. This restaurant was a welcome change from this trend and provided good food at a reasonable price with nice friendly staff.

It was so good in fact that we went back twice on our last day. The food won't blow your mind or anything, but it's of a high quality and consistent. GIven the relatively low prices (pizza/pasta dishes for 8-10 euros, mains for 12-20 and 1kg steak for 42), it's excellent value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Vecchio Vicolo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria Vecchio Vicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Vecchio Vicolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.