We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dal Barone

Dal Barone
Borgo San Lorenzo 30/r, 50123 Florence, Italy
+39 366 147 9432
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,941 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I happened upon this sandwich shop while in Florence. While walking down the street looking for places to have lunch, we saw a couple coming out of this Dal Barone with sandwiches that looked sooo good. We decided to give it a try and we're not disappointed. I had a bacon with eggplant sandwich that was definitely one of the best sandwiches I ever had. I've been to some good sandwich places and I have to say the sandwich I had here is up there. The experience was great too as the service was very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely not miss a chance to come back here if I'm ever in Florence again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    87
    14
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metz, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very cute and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The store is only open for lunch. We read the reviews and had to go! The store is small, but is has very fresh meats. The staff is awesome and incredibly friendly! The sandwiches are a great value, and this place is just the perfect place for lunch! I would definitely love to go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and serve yourself chianti...perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visited Dal Barone after seeing a trip advisor review and the food was deserving of the high rating...as was the service. The place is a small hole in the wall with a few simple tables. You order the sandwich at the bar...choose from the menu or simply ask the people who ok their to make you something...both the man and lady working there when we visited were great and gave really good service. The sandwiches we had were on crispy bread (focaccia) and filled with the freshest ingredients. To drink, there are a couple of bottles of local wine open and some small glasses. You help yourself and tell the owner what you're having. It's 1.50 E a glass. This is a great place for a quick and tasty lunch...well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Value and Great Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We found this hole in the wall through trip adviser not even knowing it was a sandwich store. The hamburger was advertised to be good and it was solid. I especially liked the bread. It was crunchy yet biteable. We also had the sausage with fennel. It was not as good as there was not enough meat. Maybe only 2/3 of the burger. Once again the bun was amazing though. I still the food full marks based on the burger. The service was Very friendly noticing we were hot immediately directed us to the back room and turned on the AC. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect panini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended to me by my b&b. sandwiches are to die for!!! Exactly what I had been looking for in Italy. Had lunch there every day. The people that work there are very nice

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dal Barone also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Dal Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dal Barone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.