We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dal Barone

Dal Barone
Borgo San Lorenzo 30/r, 50123, Florence, Italy (San Lorenzo)
+39 366 147 9432
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 2,082 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Street Food, Italian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I happened upon this sandwich shop while in Florence. While walking down the street looking for places to have lunch, we saw a couple coming out of this Dal Barone with sandwiches that looked sooo good. We decided to give it a try and we're not disappointed. I had a bacon with eggplant sandwich that was definitely one of the best sandwiches I ever had. I've been to some good sandwich places and I have to say the sandwich I had here is up there. The experience was great too as the service was very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely not miss a chance to come back here if I'm ever in Florence again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Metz, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very cute and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The store is only open for lunch. We read the reviews and had to go! The store is small, but is has very fresh meats. The staff is awesome and incredibly friendly! The sandwiches are a great value, and this place is just the perfect place for lunch! I would definitely love to go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikiH93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and serve yourself chianti...perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visited Dal Barone after seeing a trip advisor review and the food was deserving of the high rating...as was the service. The place is a small hole in the wall with a few simple tables. You order the sandwich at the bar...choose from the menu or simply ask the people who ok their to make you something...both the man and lady working there when we visited were great and gave really good service. The sandwiches we had were on crispy bread (focaccia) and filled with the freshest ingredients. To drink, there are a couple of bottles of local wine open and some small glasses. You help yourself and tell the owner what you're having. It's 1.50 E a glass. This is a great place for a quick and tasty lunch...well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Seren123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Value and Great Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We found this hole in the wall through trip adviser not even knowing it was a sandwich store. The hamburger was advertised to be good and it was solid. I especially liked the bread. It was crunchy yet biteable. We also had the sausage with fennel. It was not as good as there was not enough meat. Maybe only 2/3 of the burger. Once again the bun was amazing though. I still the food full marks based on the burger. The service was Very friendly noticing we were hot immediately directed us to the back room and turned on the AC. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonsportslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect panini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended to me by my b&b. sandwiches are to die for!!! Exactly what I had been looking for in Italy. Had lunch there every day. The people that work there are very nice

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TayArnold479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dal Barone also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Dal Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing