We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Manager, how he (she) should look like!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria a Marignolle 10, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Manager, how he (she) should look like!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our son defended the these in Florence and we wanted to stay for few days in Florence. We found this Villa Tolomei and it was absolutely brilliant choice! Situated on the hill only few kilometers away from the Porto Antica, (walking 10 minutes) you are practically in the city, but having the charm of country side. Particularly the young lady, Maja, who took care of us from the very begin. Energetic and warm, dynamic and communicative, it was a pleasure meeting and talking to her. She gave us useful information about the Villa, town, other hotels belonging to the same owner, and we shall hopefully arrange our next vacation to spend where Maja will be able to support us. It is sure we would come back to this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelliniGianluca, Direttore at Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear valued Customer, thank you very much for such awarding words, warmest regards from Miss Maja and the whole staff of Villa Tolomei Hotel & Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    46
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
136
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Pro's:

-Friendly staff and great service
-Fantastic view of the city
-Quite
-Nice decor
-Wonderful breakfast which was included in our room price

Con's:

-A little far from the city center
-The internet was not that great
-The price for eating at the restaurant was a little high
-Ants in the rooms
-Splinters in our kids feet from walking around the pool area (the deck there is not treated)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Well reading the previous half a dozen or so reviews, I'm left wondering if they're reviewing the same hotel my husband and I stayed at? The location is about a half hour walk to Florence centre, albeit quite a steep walk but very pleasant through cobbled back lanes, a very nice reside area with ample lighting for returning at night. We had no problems whatsoever.
Our AC was perfect. The room was fabulous with high ceilings and plenty of room. The shutters were brilliant and it was lovely to have the room "ready " for your return at night.
Breakfast was very good. Meats, cheeses, breads, crackers, fresh fruit, yogurts, pastries, cakes.......the cappuccino was to die for. There was also scrambled egg and bacon. The staff were very helpful and the waiting staff at breakfast were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The lovely waitress got to know I enjoyed a second cappuccino and always had one waiting.
The pool was a delight. The views stunning.
All in all we made a very good choice with Villa Tolomei and will definitely recommend. If you want the city, then stay in the heart of Florence.......but if you want peace and tranquillity, a tad away from the buzz, choose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelliniGianluca, Direttore at Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Dear Nicola,
thanks for your wonderful review and such awarding words shared on TripAdvisor.
Our property is just 5 minutes by taxi from the city center and is the perfect place to relax after spending a day downtown.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Tolomei and really hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Frequent visitor of Florence for business Stayed there 2 nights and rather dissapointed . Payed almost 1000,00 Euro for two nights and must say you can get far better value for money than that. Hotel quite out of centre , very quiet though . Room spacious but outdated . The first night we ate at the restaurant , little choice and not up ' Tuscan Cuisine " standards . Would't go back there , sololely booked because our regular hotels were fully booked long in advance due to the
"Pitti" that was going on . For that price go to the Savoy on the piazza Republica . Nicest hotel for the moment is the Westin-Excelsior as far as we are concerned ( you definitely have to try the rooftop cocktail happy hour between 19:00h and 21:00h : beautifull vieuws over Florence and canapés à volonté , a real treat . Other good suggestion in a price range that's a bit lower : the NH at Porta Rossa ;

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel is located within minutes from the heart of Florence and yet is minutes from the expressway. The rooms are good size, there were 6 of us in two junior suites that were extremely comfortable. We had rented a car and were able to make easy day trips to chinati, Siena, Pisa and The Mall. Florence was minutes away and so enjoyed a few days in the city too. The breakfast was limited. The view of Florence from the resteraunt was amazing. The resteraunt menu could have been better and the concierge a bit more informed and helpful. Overal excellent value for money.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelliniGianluca, Direttore at Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
thanks for your kind review and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Your comments are very important to improve our services.
We really hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you can personally notify all the progresses we achieved in order to use our full potential.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I don't normally write reviews on here but as this was for part of our honeymoon I wanted to.

On arrival, the hotel was impressive. The location is great, the view is stunning, and the pool is lovely. The room itself was nice but considering the price it was disappointing not to have a balcony.

The temperature in Florence was usually warm, it was 37-38 degrees everyday. Our aircon broke on day 1 of 5. Each day we kept having to chase for answers and each day we were given different reasons. Eventually we were given a fan, on day 3, and on day 4 they finally offered to move rooms. However the room they offered to move us to was smaller than our room and no cooler. They can't help that the aircon broke but having read reviews on here now that seems to be a regular occurrence, and their communication and handling of the problem is not what I'd expect for a 5* hotel.

The manager took some incidentals off the bill to compensate for the situation but for any holiday this would be disappointing, but for a honeymoon it was very frustrating. I do not believe this to be a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The staff was extremely friendly, the grounds are immaculate and pool was inviting. There's a fantastic view of the city, and the surrounding area is flush with olive trees.

One issue, the AC did not work in our room for the entire stay, so our room got quite warm at night. They attempted to fix it, but the problem ensued. They gave us a fan for our room, which helped, but you would expect a "5-Star" resort to have this working properly. At the end of the trip, they did offer a small discount for our inconvenience, and while appreciated, it didn't make up for the troubles sleeping in a hot room. The temperature in the day was in the 70's, so I can only imagine how hot the room would have gotten when temperatures approach 100.

Also, this place isn't really reasonable walking distance. Certainly not at night, the roads are narrow, and not many street lights. We walked into town one morning, and took a taxi back at night. It took us about 40 minutes to walk into town.

Overall, the hotel was very nice, the villa and grounds were beautiful and the view was breathtaking. The staff was very nice, and the breakfast was tasty. I wouldn't hesitate to return, if they get the AC fixed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelliniGianluca, Direttore at Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
thanks for your review and for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. Your comments are very important improve our services.
The hotel is just 5 minutes by taxi from the city center, 25 minutes walking to Ponte Vecchio.
We are pleased however to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Tolomei and really hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort

Address: Via Santa Maria a Marignolle 10, 50124 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Tolomei Hotel & Resort 5***** is the new fantastic luxury hotel in Florence with panoramic swimming pool and restaurant with terrace and view for all of you seeking the convenience of a hotel combined with the privacy and comfort of a unique residence just 2,7 km-1,5 miles from the famous Ponte Vecchio on the historic city centre of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.