We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing lunch with great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Canova di Gustavino

La Canova di Gustavino
Via Della Condotta 29R, Florence, Italy
+39 055 239 9806
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #548 of 1,954 restaurants in Florence
Price range: $11 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian, Wine Bar, Soups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A relaxing lunch with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place is nearby piazza Signore and only a few steps from our hotel. Every time we passed by, it was very quiet and slow and we were hesitated to try until today that we were so tired and did not want to go far for lunch! The restaurant is a pleasant surprise offering interesting menu, different from the traditional tourist menu! We ordered grilled octopus and pasta with sea urchin, both are very good, highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    28
    32
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Supper in the Zupperia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family of 5 had a great evening here - there are two options - one the Zupperia where we ate - which is rustic wooden tables amongst the racks of wine from their vineyard near Florence. The other option is a smarter restaurant next door run by the same family.
We had local cheeses and meats as an appetiser followed by crespoline, lasagne, salads etc. 21 euros per head including some sparkling wine and a class of red. The staff were friendly and attentive and gave me a lovely complimentary bottle of Virgin Olive Oil from the estate when we left!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wine and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Easily the best restaurant we visited on our trip to Florence and the Naples area this summer. The food is delicious and since they serve traditional Tuscan plates you have an excellent way to try them out: 'cause they are at a great price! Same can be said for the wine and they have a wide selection and staff willing to help you pick it (It is an Enoteca after all). Staff is super friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed. Just watch out that you don't go into the fancier looking "brother" restaurant. Check for the entrance with number 29.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“If you would like somewhere special to eat in Florence try this restuarant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was the last night we spent in Italy and we had really had enough pasta and pizza for a while!
This is perhaps for a special occasion as it is not cheap, but the food is outstanding.
Some really different dishes, well presented and cooked to perfection.
Some special touches, like the complementary sparkling wine as we arrived as we waited for a table and the homemade limoncello after our meal (recipe provided)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly service, tasty food and very reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We just stumbled across this place about 2100 and managed to just get in without a reservation and we were welcomed with a complimentary sparkling wine while we made our choices. We shared a nice crepe then I followed this with Tripe something I haven't eaten in years and it was tender, tasty and just enough. My husband had the beef in wine with peppercorns which was very tender and yummy and quite a large serve. We had this as main with a Cypriot salad which was full of goodies. The half litre of house red was quite drinkable. A the end of the meal having requested the bill we were given a complimentary liqueur and were then surprised by a total bill of only 45 euro.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Canova di Gustavino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence

Been to La Canova di Gustavino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Canova di Gustavino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.