We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you would like somewhere special to eat in Florence try this restuarant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Canova di Gustavino

La Canova di Gustavino
Via Della Condotta 29R, 50100 Florence, Italy
+39 055 239 9806
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Canova di Gustavino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #483 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian, Wine Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The delicious corner of Gustavino. "La Canova di Gustavino" zupperia and taste delights. A beautifull corner Adjoining Gustavino's is Canova's: a cosy atmosphere and excellent Tuscan dishes. Pappa al pomodoro Peposo ribollita, trippa e baccala. All the wines from Azienda agricola Lanciola. With a tasty selection of Italian cheeses, the best salami from Siena, Italian and Spanish hams, bread and croutons. Your place of choice for a lunchtime snack or an after theatre meal.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“If you would like somewhere special to eat in Florence try this restuarant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was the last night we spent in Italy and we had really had enough pasta and pizza for a while!
This is perhaps for a special occasion as it is not cheap, but the food is outstanding.
Some really different dishes, well presented and cooked to perfection.
Some special touches, like the complementary sparkling wine as we arrived as we waited for a table and the homemade limoncello after our meal (recipe provided)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    48
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly service, tasty food and very reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We just stumbled across this place about 2100 and managed to just get in without a reservation and we were welcomed with a complimentary sparkling wine while we made our choices. We shared a nice crepe then I followed this with Tripe something I haven't eaten in years and it was tender, tasty and just enough. My husband had the beef in wine with peppercorns which was very tender and yummy and quite a large serve. We had this as main with a Cypriot salad which was full of goodies. The half litre of house red was quite drinkable. A the end of the meal having requested the bill we were given a complimentary liqueur and were then surprised by a total bill of only 45 euro.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Do not go into the main restaurant! Next door is a little wine cellar type thing at the back - it's absolutely brilliant. The setting is lovely, full of locals, brilliant food and wine at great prices. The guy who served us was really friendly too! Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gusto Vino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Delicious food in a beautiful building with great service, though the evening was somewhat dampened by being charged €25 for bubbly given without asking or pricing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Food and Great Wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I always wanted to go to this restaurant when I lived in Florence but as a student I couldn't quite afford it. I took my other half to Florence in January and finally got to go! The food we had was delicious! We both went for a artichoke with ricotta & pine nuts baked in puff pastry... It was accompanied with pesto and honey! It was truely amazing! We chose one of the restaurants own wines and to this day it was one of the best I've had. The waitor was great and quite witty which was nice. I would definitely recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Canova di Gustavino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Canova di Gustavino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Canova di Gustavino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.