We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local restaurant....great pasta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamero'

Tamero'
Piazza S. Spirito 11/r, 50125 Florence, Italy (Santo Spirito / San Frediano)
055 282596
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #420 of 2,032 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Cafe, Pub, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Description: Tamero is the coolest restaurant in Florence in the heart of Oltrarno: piazza Santo Spirito. The restaurant is well known for the express hand made pasta. After the 11.00 p.m. Tamero is a club where you could see the best jazz and rock band play good music.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice local restaurant....great pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Found this place a few blocks from the Arno by chance on Ferragosto. Sat outside in Piazza Santo Spirito.....great local atmosphere. Nice salad to start...homemade pasta for the main course really good...food was reasonably priced and glass of wine (5 euros) was pleasant...very good service also

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    158
    55
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Get in now before it's overrun with tourists like me!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

After reading a favorable review in the NY Times just days before our trip to Florence, I was eager to try out Tamero Pasta Bar. The menu made it difficult to choose, but I opted for the freshly made rosemary tagliatelle with a pork ragu. The meaty sauce had both ground pork and a slow-cooked loin and the pasta did have a faint but welcome taste of rosemary. My husband opted for the squid ink ravioli in "spicy octopus sauce." We split an appetizer salad from the "bento" menu that played on the idea of a panzanella with chunks of fresh tomato, crunchy croutons and raw ahi tuna. We were among the first to arrive at 7pm, but all of the outdoor tables were filled by 8pm. The service is friendly -- nearly all of the waiters speak English -- and I expect that the place will be overrun with fellow New York Times readers in the coming months. The prices are very affordable and our two dinners, appetizer, and wine was 50 euros.

The hours aren't posted on the restaurant, so we ended up having an aperitvo nearby before the 7pm opening. Although they weren't open yet, we saw the chefs busy at work on making mountains of fresh pasta for the dinner service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stakeford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Tamero was recommended by our B&B owner in Florence, so we called in at lunchtime to book a table for that evening. We found the staff and chef were very friendly and approachable, so we ended up staying for lunch. We had the 'black' ravioli and octopus, both delicious. The chef even offered us some 'freebie' tastings of a couple of other dishes also! Surroundings are kinda minimalist but ideal for a relaxing lunch.
We enjoyed it so much that we returned that evening and enjoyed a further pasta dish and octopus 'kebabs'...lovely. It's unbelievable that it's the only pasta bar in Florence!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unusal Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I had read the recent review in the NYT and since we were in Florence, we wanted to try it. The reason I gave it an an average is not for the food, that is very good, but the other aspects of dining there are different and some will love and and others will hate it. So the good and very good is the food, delicious, good looking and very cheap for Florence, the two of us ate for 36 euros, two pastas, two desserts, full bottle of wine and water. Now the not so good: one server was trying to serve at least 15 tables and she did the best she could do, but there were long waits. Also a negative was the generally industrial setting/ atmosphere, So go try it if you want great cheap food with some long waits

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at Tamero during our first night in Florence with the recommendation of our host.
We had the Grande Taglieri, Tortelli with blank ink squid and the pappardelle.They were all divine!
Its located in the lively piazza santo espiritu.
Prices were very reasonable as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamero' also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tamero'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamero', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.