We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Il Gatto E la Volpe

Osteria Il Gatto E la Volpe
Via Ghibellina nr. 151/R, 50122 Florence, Italy
055289264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #576 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $13 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had some raviolli that were great. Loved the restaurant and decor as well. Price is OK for portions and quality and the area in which it is is also nice. You can walk around to plaza do Santa Croce.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    131
    41
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

During our stay in Florence we visited the Cat&Fox one evening. We had crostini misti, linguine alla crema di tartufo (pasta with truffle cream), filetto di manzo al gorgonzola e noci (beef fillet steak with gorgonzola and walnuts) and filetto al funghi misti (beef fillet steak with mixed mushrooms). All dishes were good, however both steaks were outstanding! I strongly recommend the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The Cat and the Fox”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A very cozy and rustic atmosphere with good food.

Service was good and the food was definitely worth a visit if you find yourself in this area of Firenze.

Buon appetito!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfection on a plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This place had been reccomended by every person I knew that studied abroad in Florence. When you go ask for Fatjon, or FJ for short. He is the unofficial ambassador to all things awesome in Florence. Do not even look at the menu, simply look at your waiter and surprise me. Then have a glass of wine and wait to be sent to heaven. Our surpise consisted of anitpast, a pasta variety plate, and fresh meats. We had been in Florence for 30 minutes before eating at Gato and that is all it took to know we were in the right place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

These are the meals I dream about. It's our "policy" not to go to a restaurant twice on vacation, but we couldn't help going back here a second time. Amazing food--could order anything off the menu and be satisfied! We even took a bottle of their balsamic vinegar home with us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Il Gatto E la Volpe also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria Il Gatto E la Volpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Il Gatto E la Volpe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.