We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Donnini 1894

Caffe Donnini 1894
Piazza della Repubblica nr.15/R, 50123 Florence, Italy
055213694
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,282 of 1,969 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne
1 review
“This is terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The waiters at the front of house are the best I have ever seen and were great entertainment. Unfortunately that was the only good part. The service inside was the worst I have seen in Italy and the food not much better. When I eventually paid the bill I noticed it was $95 Euro when it should been $66Euro. It was not a mistake. There are plenty of much better restaurants in Florence. Don't get charmed into this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    52
    57
    47
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good lunch UNTIL the BILL...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My sister and I were out walking in Florence, and as it started to rain we decided to get inside a restaurant quick, a nice young man at the door, greeted us and got us seated. We only wanted something small, we ordered and had lovely meal and service, when it was time to leave the waiter came over and gave us the bill. It had a service charge on it, and then he wrote on it the 20% tip that he wanted above the service charge, I am happy to give a small tip but that was unreasonable. The Italians do pay their wait staff, (I live in Milan) but being an American they "added" the "special tip " on. You are not required to to give any more money, EVEN if they add that tip on... just a reminder for all travelling in tourist areas.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A very entertaining evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We returned to Florence from an Artviva "Best of Tuscany" tour at about 6.20pm last night and decided to have a drink and something to eat before walking back to our apartment. It had been a long day and we were worried that, if we went back to the apartment first, we might not feel like going out again. We got to Piazza Della Repubblica and, against our better judgement (avoid places fronted by spruikers), headed for the best looking marquee. A spruiker we had noticed outside a restaurant we had walked past near the Bargello a few days earlier works at Caffe Donnini at night and he quickly guided us in. Being so early, we had our pick of the tables and chose a great table at the front overlooking the piazza and the carousel.
Our waiter was a very friendly and charming man who took great pains to ensure that he had my martini order right and returned shortly with an enormous and perfect martini, a particularly good margharita and bowls of nibblies. 10 euros each and bigger and better than the same drinks we'd had at the Gallery Hotel bar the night before for 13 euros each. We ordered Ribollita for each of us and both also had Spaghetti Carbonara. This was our first ribollita in our 15 days so far in Italy and we both enjoyed it. Basically, minestrone with bread in it. The spaghetti carbonara was very ordinary and not a patch on the carbonara I make at home. In fact, the sauce reminded me of the sauce in the packet macaroni cheese that Kraft used to make years ago and was the same vivid yellow colour.
However, for the first time in 10 days, the wine list included our favourite Amarone valpolicella, Tommasi, so the carbonara was forgiven. No room for dessert but espresso martinis finished off the meal beautifully.
The main course aside, we had a great evening at this restaurant. It's in a good location, our table was the best in the restaurant, watching the spruikers was very entertaining, particularly their interaction with the "enemy" spruikers from the restaurant nextdoor, the cocktails were very good and our waiter was a charming man with whom we had several conversations during the night. He was in no rush to move us on despite the heavy demand for our table. In fact, we noticed that twice he told the other staff to leave us alone until we were ready to go. We left at about 9.30 and will be back tonight for drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A special treat for those on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We were roped in by the very beautifully dressed men on the streets and after an offer of free glasses of wine we secured a seat right at the front of the resturant with a beautiful view of the piazza and the lit up mary- go- round. We were on a very tight budget so picked our meals carefully, the bruschetta €6 and the pizza florentine €9. We also ordered a bottle of water. The meals were both delicious, the bruschetta was three descent sized pieces and on a bed of salad which was nice, and the pizza simply amazing. The downside of this place though is deify timely the price... They charge €5 for a bottle of water, yes that's right €5!! If we had known that we certainly would not have gotten water.. Plus the charge the extra %15 tax, makes the meal very expensive! The thing saving the place is the service, the location, the atmosphere and of course the food! We just thought of it as our special treat in Florence!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Another delicious meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The waiters charmed us into the restaurant and we very glad we went. Location is great in the piazza della Repubblica. The service was fantastic, and we were not disappointed with the food. We thought it was slightly expensive with the 15% after the bill was issued but after enjoying our evening so much we didn't really mind.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Donnini 1894 also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Caffe Donnini 1894? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Donnini 1894, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.