We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of San Gimignano Siena and Chianti” 3 of 5 stars
Review of My Tour Tuscany Experts

My Tour Tuscany Experts
Via Cavour 21 Red, 50129, Florence, Italy
+39 0577 236330
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$31*
and up
Ranked #130 of 322 Activities in Florence
Attraction details
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Tour of San Gimignano Siena and Chianti”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Firstly we took the general walking tour of Florence with this company and it is highly recommended! The next day we took the above tour which we need to let the potential customers to avoid this tour just because of the lunch at the Poggio vineyard! What a shameful experience! You are " herded" into a room and served half cooked pasta with tomatoe sauce in cheap plastic plates and a small plate of some salami.....whilst you are served a few tots of their wine to entice you to buy them! The wine we found very sour so we gave it a miss especially as the price is very expensive! We bought some balsamic vinager for which we paid 30 euros for 250cc......later found the same online for less than 15euros! The whole lunch experience was degrading......if you like to be treated like idiotic tourists and sold expensive wine and oils that are cheaper online, then this is for you! Also the lunch went on for almost 3 hours at the expense of the other places we were visiting! The lunch is only there to get you to buy their vastly overpriced products!!
The rest of the tour is recommended but the ouch episode spoils the experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyTourTuscany, Responsabile reception at My Tour Tuscany Experts, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Customer, thank you for the review that helps to improve our service. But we want to respond to your critic on the lunch.
As written in the brochures, lunch we are going to offer you is a LIGHT LUNCH in a winery in the Chianti area, a rustic restaurant where you can taste the typical products, meats and cheeses, in the style and culture of the place. We don't sell a structured lunch also because customers need to continue with the tour in the afternoon and we don't want them heavy, we regret not to have appreciated our style. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    72
    28
    23
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Hill, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“San Gimignano, Siena and Chianti tour with Enrique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We decided to take this tour originally because of the price 55 euros for an 11 hour 4 stop tour seemed almost too good to be true but we finished the tour with nothing but praise for our guides and bus driver. The tour was conducted in English, our native tongue, and Spanish so there were two guides doing the translating and herding of their passengers. Enrique our guide was knowledgeable and interesting and made the tour not only educational but also fun.

We visited San Gimignano first and had adequate time to see a lot of the town and take a lot of pictures. You are NOT allowed to take pictures in their church which is a shame as it is beautiful. The views from this mountain village were spectacular.

Next we visited a winery in the Chianti area where we tasted some wonderful wine and had a light lunch. The owner was a real wine expert and makes great wine. The winery is named Poggio Amorelli and we were able to arrange to have 9 bottles shipped home of their wine and balsamic vinegar. It was 12 year old vinegar and was the best tasting my wife and I have ever had. The Chianti and Chianti reserve vintage 2007 were both also worth acquiring as was several bottles of Brunello Di Montalcino. They arrange shipment and insurance all as part of the price.

Next we went to Sienna where we saw the piazza where they have their famous horse race and then their Duomo. Finally we saw a fortress that lies between Florence and Sienna and that was only finally taken when the general in charge sold out to Florence.

Great trip included being picked up at our hotel and returned there for a small additional fee.

Great value for your money.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyTourTuscany, Responsabile reception at My Tour Tuscany Experts, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the review and the fine words for us! Your description is very detailed and also cited all our Partners, we are grateful. The tour San Gimignano Siena & Chianti is an excellent opportunity to visit the most beautiful places of Tuscany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sangimignano, Siena and Chianti Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I took the Sangimignano, Siena and Chianti tour with Stefano Maccianti and thought it was fantastic! I was especially impressed with Stefano's knowledge of Siena and how well he was able to convey this information to me who has little background information about the history of Siena. I would highly recommend taking a tour with Stefano in Siena, it was an unforgettable experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyTourTuscany, Responsabile reception at My Tour Tuscany Experts, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear customer, thank you for your review and for the enthusiasm you have shown toward our guide Stefano, we are flattered by your compliments and we look forward to another tour with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 terre tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We made a fantastic tour, we recommend the “cinque terre” tour and certainly the services offered by the MY TOUR, who wants to spend a beautiful day in a wonderful part. Thanks of this tour, you have the opportunity to visit Montirosso and Riomaggiori, a village famous for the wine, where every detail is accurate. The guides were able to speak two languages, and were very helpful. The time passed in restaurant was splendid, and a delicious lunch. You have also the possibility to taste the limoncino produced,.

Completely we suggest it!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyTourTuscany, Responsabile reception at My Tour Tuscany Experts, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you Mary for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the tour and that you have spent a wonderful day in our company! The tour 5 TERRE is really full, full day to visit the 5 Terre and lunch included! We look forward to another tour with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vespa tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was an absolutely wonderful Tuscan experience. We were picked up in central Florence by mini Mercedes Benz bus and taken to the office (and Vespa), where we received a quick refresher on Vespa driving. From there we embarked on a thoroughly enjoyable day driving through the Chianti region. Although the weather was dicey, our guides, Guglielmo and Giovanni, remained positive and gave us a top quality tour of Castellina and Monteriggiomi, and a delicious lunch and wine tasting at Poggio Amorelli. It was with some sadness that we had to come back to the office to be shuttled back to Florence, and that's saying something! I'd recommend this tour to anyone who likes the idea of seeing some of Tuscany in a new way. (And if you've never ridden a Vespa before, you can ride with a guide.) A great time outside of the bustle of Florence!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyTourTuscany, Responsabile reception at My Tour Tuscany Experts, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review! You have explained the journey in detail so that everyone can appreciate, we are grateful for that. The Vespa tour is definitely fun and perfect for those who want to enjoy the Tuscany on two wheels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Tour Tuscany Experts also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to My Tour Tuscany Experts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Tour Tuscany Experts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.