We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in almost every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Corte di Cloris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Relais La Corte di Cloris to your Saves list
Relais La Corte di Cloris
Via Masaccio, 234, 50132 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 520 Florence B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Excellent in almost every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We really enjoyed the 5 nights we spent at Relais la Corte di Cloris, which was the first stop on our honeymoon in Italy. The interior of the hotel was cozy and we especially wish to mention Lillette and Camilla, two ladies who were at the reception desk. They gave us excellent service and were always attentive to our needs. The breakfast spread was very good. The location was fantastic, in our opinion - situated in a quiet residential neighborhood about 20-30 mins walk from Ponte Vecchio and the main Florence tourist thoroughfare. We dislike crowds so this was perfect for us - the walk to and from the hotel was pleasant and we were spared the rowdy students and tourists infesting the main tourist belt. The only downside is that the sound-proofing between rooms is quite bad -- especially if you have a family with screaming kids as neighbors. If you do, you can try to talk to reception about it and see if they can help you out in any way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Lame, Manager at Relais La Corte di Cloris, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Sherloh,
I'm so glad to know that we made your honeymoon in Florence just unforgettable.
I will bring the compliments myself to Lilith and Camilla and we really wish we could host you again in our relais.

All the staff wishes to you guys a happy life together.

Regards from Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    55
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
122
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had a deluxe double room and it was beautiful, spacious, clean and airy. The shower was powerful and the bathroom of very good size.

Breakfast was lovely, the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is about 15 minute walk outside the main centre, they do have bikes you can hire if you don't fancy walking far. We would definitely stay here again if we were in Florence.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Lame, Manager at Relais La Corte di Cloris, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Kate,
we're enthusiast to know that you left Florence with the with to return back in our relais.
We're so looking forward for your next stay with us!!

Regards from Denis and all the staff of "La Corte di Cloris"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We got a beautiful, well appointed and very clean room with a lovely terrace facing the garden. La Corte is charming and quaint, but it's best feature is the staff. They are unusually helpfull and accomodating, from promptly bringing a blanket to recommending outstanding pizza. The hotel is a bit far from the center of town, an easy 25 minute walk from the Duomo, but then again, you ge to see a little of the "real" Florence and the neighborhood is not overrun with tourists. Excellent value for the money, now I just need to figure out how i can justify coming back soon!

Room Tip: No. 13 actually brought good luck, that's the one with the huge terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Lame, Manager at Relais La Corte di Cloris, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear guests from Israel,
Thanks a lot for this great review.
A good excuse to return back is that we will show you some other hide stuff in Florence that only local people knows...

I'm so looking forward for your next stay in our relais.

Best,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in February, first time in Florence. The 2-bedroom apartment was very comfortable, beautiful decor, clean, well heated and had plenty of hot running water (crucial during winter)! Although the hotel was next to the main road, our room was very quiet so that was perfect. Breakfast was a lovely spread. All the staff we talked to were very helpful and nice, and gave excellent recommendations on where to eat and go, even advice on what buses to take to save money on cabs. The prosecco and chocs on Valentine's Day were very sweet too :)

Location was a little far from the main town centre, but still quite walkable and accessible, with good restaurants nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Lame, Manager at Relais La Corte di Cloris, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear guests from Singapore,
You make us very happy and proud reading this review.
It's nice to know that our advices and tips make your holiday just unforgettable.

With the hope to see you again,
I send my best regards.
Denis and all the staff of "La Corte di Cloris"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here in July this year and thought the hotel was lovely. It's a beautiful building, with a lovely garden for guests to use. The staff are friendly and very accommodating, giving guests lots of practical and useful advice. It was very hot during our stay, and we had an attic room with a balcony and a lovely view. The room was spacious, spotless and comfortable, even having a fridge and small dining area which was unexpected. The only gripe I have is that the air conditioning didn't work properly so it was too hot to sleep. We didn't realise until the evening of the second day that the unit wasn't working properly, so by the time we reported it it was too late to have it fixed (it being Sunday the next day) so the hotel gave us a fan to use. This did help a bit. We should have reported the air con problem earlier so it was partially our fault for leaving it too long. However, I was a little disappointed that when we informed reception they already seemed to know. We were not offered a discount for this. This is probably our fault for being too polite! Being English I really don't like to complain or make a fuss, but I'm sure that if we had done the hotel would have offerered something in return. Anyway, aside from the heat in the room, we loved this hotel and would return. It was very well priced for such a nice hotel, and although it is about a 20 min walk to the centre of Florence, we liked this. The surrounding areas
seems to be safe enough. The hotel is on a main road, so rooms at the front could be a little noisy, but I can't comment on this as our attic room was garden facing and lovely and quiet. Parking was 10 euros a day at a nearby underground carpark. Nice touches to the hotel are - cool marble and tiled floors, beautiful garden, honesty snack bar, good choice of breakfast items in the basement breakfast room, good location, classic, tasteful decor, comfortable rooms with modern bathrooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden - the view is lovely and it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Lame, Direttore at Relais La Corte di Cloris, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear guests from Nottingham,
first of all I would like to thank you for the review. It was really nice having meet you and I'm really happy to know that you left Florence with the desire to return back and stay again with us.

Please accept my apologies for the air con problems and missunderstunding about the small fan. Next time you'll be here there will be no problems !

Looking forward for your next stay with us,
I send my best regards.
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in later October and found it to be a great place to stay - far enough
from the big crowds if the center, but close enough to walk to all the great sites
in Florence.
Our room was immaculately clean and the beds were nice and firm for us. We overlooked the garden area which was lovely with seating outside. The staff was very helpful with directions and advice. It's a beautiful place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Lame, Manager at Relais La Corte di Cloris, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear guests from Pittsburgh,
thank you a loto for the nice description of our relais.
I'm delighted to know that your stay with was just great and that you enjoy everything in our place and in Florence.

I really hope I can host you here again.

Sincerely,
Denis and all the staff of "La Corte di Cloris"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My fiancé and I spent three nights here. Our suite was very spacious and comprised a large bedroom and separate lounge, both with beautifully painted ceilings and chandeliers. Strangely (for an Australian) the ensuite had only a bath and no shower, but was very clean. Our suite overlooked the street and was probably a little noisier than rooms towards the rear of the hotel, but not excessively so. There are public transport busses that depart from nearby streets, but it is an easy walk into the centre of Florence from the hotel with lots of sights to soak up along the way. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We look forward to staying here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Lame, Manager at Relais La Corte di Cloris, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guests from Adelaide,
Thanks a lot for sharing your experience in our relais with other tripadvisor users.

I'm really delighted to know that you have left Florence and our place with the desire to return back. We are so looking ofrward to see you here again and why not, next time I'll assign to you a garden view room.

Best regards,
Denis and all the staff of "Relais La Corte di Cloris"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais La Corte di Cloris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte di Cloris

Address: Via Masaccio, 234, 50132 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 520 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais "The Court of Cloris" is a resort just a few minutes away from the historical center of Florence which offers comfortable and elegant rooms and apartments to enjoy your stay in Florence.A welcoming Residence, elegant and reserved, with a beautiful flower garden, a green and relaxing courtyard where every guest is free to relax and rejuvenate.A little honesty bar is at your disposal near the garden for recharging your batteries or a short break to relax.Wi-Fi and discounted rate parking facilities make the hotel suitable for business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais La Corte di Cloris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais La Corte di Cloris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.