We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Posta B&B

Save Saved
You added Antica Posta B&B to your Saves list
Antica Posta B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antica Posta B&B
Viale Belfiore 50, 50144 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 507 Florence B&B and Inns
Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this B&B for 5 days. We love it. It’s very clean and bed is very comfortable. It has very good location too. Only 10 to 15 minutes walk from Santa Maria Novella Train Station. We bought Florence card during our stay. So if you don’t want to walk, you can take any buses (the bus stop is just nearby) to go to Santa Maria Novella Train Station, but there is no bus for coming back. Marcella, the hostess was so nice and helpful. She told us where to eat where to go and even the best place for ice-cream. Florence was our base for trips around Tuscany. Marcella left our breakfast in our room for those days we had to leave early in the morning. We love this place and would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    49
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Basic room. Sheets were crisp and clean. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom incredibly small, but lots of hot water. European breakfast - fresh and tasty. Location was not the most convenient - a good trek from the city centre, however, would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen sound
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this b&b in Sept. while visiting Firenze. We found the room and the private bath to be clean and kept clean during our stay. Marcella was a wonderful host and recommended great resturants and several things to do. The b&b is located about a 10 to 15 minute walk from Santa Maria Novella Train Station. Breakfast was brought to our room daily by our host. We had a great experience here and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed here during our recent trip to Firenze. The room and private bath were clean upon entering and kept clean throughout our 4-night stay. The room included breakfast daily, which was brought to us by our wonderful host, Marcella. She also gave us great advice and recommendations for dining out, transportation, and general info that helped us enjoy our visit even more. She was also very accommodating and is a lovely person. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Florence was our base for trips around Tuscany and this B&B was ideally located as it was a 10-15 minute walk from Santa Maria Novella Train Station. Marcella, the hostess, was wonderful ! Very friendly and willing to help with anything. Every day we requested to have the breakfast served in our room from the previous night because we needed to get up very early to cath the train and there was no problem with that. Rooms basic, but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room choose no.5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofuf, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Mariella, the host of Antica Posta, was as gracious as the rooms. Like others, we took the long route with our luggage, but it was a beautiful walk. Mariella was quick to show us the short cut so we wouldn't waste energy that could be spent in Firenze!

Antica Posta is close to everything, yet off the beaten track. There aren't hordes of other tourists to deal with every time you walk out the door. Even though it's on a busy street, the shutters and window treatments kept out the noise and the morning sunlight so we could sleep.

Finally, having our breakfast tray brought to our room was so romantic!

We HIGHLY recommend this affordable, quaint B&B for your stay. Thank you, Mariella!

Room Tip: If you like more quiet, ask for the garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Antica is a very small B & B in a newer section of Florence. The day we arrived in Florence, we took the longer way to our B&B with our luggage and it still only took about 15 minutes. A straight shot from Santa Maria Novella station would be Via Luigi Alamanni to Via Guido Monaco to Via Belfiore. Marcella came out to the street to flag us down. It's not hard to find but with luggage rolling down the streets, it was kind of her to make this easier.

Antica looks just as it's pictured here - small and charming. What it is NOT was important to us. It is NOT a large American hotel with gym or restaurant and lots of other Americans looking for gyms and restaurants. Marcella delivers a breakfast of hot coffee or tea with a warm croissant and packaged toast (not my favorite) and fruit juice. It was certainly enough to start the day and we watched Italian TV while we had our breakfast.

The rooms were very clean, the bathroom was modern and immaculate. The furniture is
sort of eclectic - it gets the job done. At the end of the stay, Marcella totalled our bill, printed out a copy for us and explained the 2 Euro city tax. There were no surprises in the bill - always important to those of us who don't speak much Italian. After we checked out, they allowed us to store our luggage in the hallway and there was a bathroom available before we started the return trip to the station.

Marcella was very warm and helpful, drawing maps, making recommendations, and explaining the bus system. Ciao, Marcella!

Room Tip: The side away from the street is much quieter. Keep windows closed if posssible to avoid mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antica Posta B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Posta B&B

Address: Viale Belfiore 50, 50144 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B antica Posta is located in Florence Center at only 500 meters from the central station of Santa Maria Novella.Our 5 bright and large rooms, are fine furnished according to the tuscan charm.Each room is provided of private bath with hair dryer, air conditioning, color TV, mini-bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Antica Posta B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Posta B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.