We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Posta B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Posta B&B to your Saves list
Antica Posta B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Viale Belfiore 50, 50144 Florence, Italy (Santa Maria Novella)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 564 Florence B&B and Inns
owen sound
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this b&b in Sept. while visiting Firenze. We found the room and the private bath to be clean and kept clean during our stay. Marcella was a wonderful host and recommended great resturants and several things to do. The b&b is located about a 10 to 15 minute walk from Santa Maria Novella Train Station. Breakfast was brought to our room daily by our host. We had a great experience here and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    66
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
77
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed here during our recent trip to Firenze. The room and private bath were clean upon entering and kept clean throughout our 4-night stay. The room included breakfast daily, which was brought to us by our wonderful host, Marcella. She also gave us great advice and recommendations for dining out, transportation, and general info that helped us enjoy our visit even more. She was also very accommodating and is a lovely person. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Florence was our base for trips around Tuscany and this B&B was ideally located as it was a 10-15 minute walk from Santa Maria Novella Train Station. Marcella, the hostess, was wonderful ! Very friendly and willing to help with anything. Every day we requested to have the breakfast served in our room from the previous night because we needed to get up very early to cath the train and there was no problem with that. Rooms basic, but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room choose no.5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sur, Oman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Mariella, the host of Antica Posta, was as gracious as the rooms. Like others, we took the long route with our luggage, but it was a beautiful walk. Mariella was quick to show us the short cut so we wouldn't waste energy that could be spent in Firenze!

Antica Posta is close to everything, yet off the beaten track. There aren't hordes of other tourists to deal with every time you walk out the door. Even though it's on a busy street, the shutters and window treatments kept out the noise and the morning sunlight so we could sleep.

Finally, having our breakfast tray brought to our room was so romantic!

We HIGHLY recommend this affordable, quaint B&B for your stay. Thank you, Mariella!

Room Tip: If you like more quiet, ask for the garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Antica is a very small B & B in a newer section of Florence. The day we arrived in Florence, we took the longer way to our B&B with our luggage and it still only took about 15 minutes. A straight shot from Santa Maria Novella station would be Via Luigi Alamanni to Via Guido Monaco to Via Belfiore. Marcella came out to the street to flag us down. It's not hard to find but with luggage rolling down the streets, it was kind of her to make this easier.

Antica looks just as it's pictured here - small and charming. What it is NOT was important to us. It is NOT a large American hotel with gym or restaurant and lots of other Americans looking for gyms and restaurants. Marcella delivers a breakfast of hot coffee or tea with a warm croissant and packaged toast (not my favorite) and fruit juice. It was certainly enough to start the day and we watched Italian TV while we had our breakfast.

The rooms were very clean, the bathroom was modern and immaculate. The furniture is
sort of eclectic - it gets the job done. At the end of the stay, Marcella totalled our bill, printed out a copy for us and explained the 2 Euro city tax. There were no surprises in the bill - always important to those of us who don't speak much Italian. After we checked out, they allowed us to store our luggage in the hallway and there was a bathroom available before we started the return trip to the station.

Marcella was very warm and helpful, drawing maps, making recommendations, and explaining the bus system. Ciao, Marcella!

Room Tip: The side away from the street is much quieter. Keep windows closed if posssible to avoid mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We've been there for the weekend of our anniversary. The room was small but luxurious, absolutely clean and private toilet. The hostess Marcella gave us many useful tips about where to eat or which places to visit. The best thing was the breakfast in the room!! Wonderful. A very nice experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here for one night as on way to Rome and wanted to check out Florence. Bit tricky to find as above street level and we wandered for a short time. Look for street number rather than sign it's not obvious. Very warm welcome, relaxed and very helpful advice from the lady, I'm guessing Marcella. Rooms were great, clean, comfortable and nice bathroom. Close to station which was handy but not noisy as you might expect. Lots of traffic as on a busy road but again not noisy. Breakfast was brought to the room which was nice with croissants and big cups of coffee! Not too far to walk to centre. Altogether a pleasant stay. Would stay again. Very helpful host! :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Soggiorno Sogna Firenze
#243 of 457 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Residenza Giulia
#301 of 564 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Soggiorno Primavera
Soggiorno Primavera
#256 of 564 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Relais Dante e Beatrice
Relais Dante e Beatrice
#271 of 564 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Alla Dimora Altea
Alla Dimora Altea
#265 of 564 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
San Lorenzo
Cicerone Guest House
Cicerone Guest House
#248 of 564 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Posta B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Posta B&B

Address: Viale Belfiore 50, 50144 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 564 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Posta B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B antica Posta is located in Florence Center at only 500 meters from the central station of Santa Maria Novella.Our 5 bright and large rooms, are fine furnished according to the tuscan charm.Each room is provided of private bath with hair dryer, air conditioning, color TV, mini-bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Antica Posta B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Posta B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.