We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet oasis in the middle of Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B & B Cimatori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added B & B Cimatori to your Saves list
B & B Cimatori
Via Dante Alighieri 14, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salem, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A quiet oasis in the middle of Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A small A/C room with an external bath right next door; very friendly staff with excellent recommendations for restaurants. Our train was late, but there was no problem being met and shown our room. Breakfast was in a small but pleasant pantry room with coffee, tea, pastries, fruit, cereal, etc. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    66
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
89
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haworth, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in August at Cimatori as a family of 4 we had a room for 4. 2 single beds and a double. The room was clean and had air con. The B & B is on the 2nd floor and there is no lift so keep luggage light! Breakfast was cereal, bakery, juice tea and coffee and lots of it. The B & B is in a perfect location so central and in the middle of everything you would want to see in Florence. We arrived in Florence by train so got a taxi from the station to the B & B which was not too expensive. We would never have found it if we had walked as it was our fist time in Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very accomadating owners and staff.
We were on the 2nd floor ( I think).. comfortable room. We had a room with an external bathroom which was used exclusively by us. It was pefectly fine. Best part is there is a well stocked kitchen 24/7 with juice / tea / coffee and cereal.
in the midst of all the action hence its a great location and has few good diners close up and a super market right below.
Oh .. How can you forget the Lampredotto cart outside .. a must try.

Room Tip: Try the Lampredotto cart just outside. Good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

B&B Cimatori is perfectly located in the heart of everything. It was within walking distance to the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, and every other main attractions nearby. The B&B is located on the 3rd floor with high ceilings in every room. The rooms were decent sized for 2 people. Three things I always check upon entering the rooms: the plumbing, the air conditioning (during summer time), and the beds. The shower, although small but standard for Italy standard, worked very well. The very much needed air conditioning unit was the highlight. It cooled the room within minutes of turning on so we actually turned it off every time we left the room. We had a king sized bed. It was soft and comfy. We didn't get to sit down in the common room for breakfast but we did get to grab a yogurt, bread, and coffee to go. On our last day, the host allowed us to leave our bags behind and check out a little later until the cleaning person came, which was very helpful since we wanted to go to one more spot before our departure. Overall our stay was very pleasant at Cimatori.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This B&B was the perfect solution for our large group: accommodating hosts, adjustable rooms, ample breakfast, and ideal location. You can walk anywhere in 10 minutes or less-- you are in the middle of everything with the glorious city right outside your window. Of course there are some late-night revelers in the street, but the windows close nicely if you don't want to listen. As the other reviews will remind you, don't book this place if you have trouble with stairs: they are steep and your bags get heavy after the first landing. Your hosts will book you reservations for dinner-- we ate across the street several times and loved it; definitely the best home-cooked meals of the whole trip. Dante's house is 40 steps away. The Bargello is 4 minutes. The Duomo is 6 minutes. The Uffizi is 10 minutes. You can't get closer to authentic Florence than this!

Room Tip: There are a few rooms on the first floor (second floor in the U.S.), if you can't do all the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidson, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Advantages: Clean large room. Centrally located. We booked asking for two beds for two people and got a big room with one queen and one twin room with a little cabaret table with two chairs. Late, when we returned to the room, I discovered that the small bed didn't have any sheets, just the decorative cover. I slept on top of it using blankets from the closet.
The next day, the room was made up but still no sheets.
The noise from the street is crazy loud! The bar below drags out benches and sets up an outdoor party nightly. I sleep pretty hard and yet I struggled to keep down at this location. The view is pretty poor with another building just an ally away.
Breakfast is fine. Coffee, bread, yogurt, fruit and juice was served family style with the other guests at one big table.
I was sent a survey from the hotel about a week after the stay. I stated by trouble with the sheets and noise. I was shocked to get back a rudely written note in response.
I wouldn't stay there again, I slept too poorly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cimatori, Owner at B & B Cimatori, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
This is the answer I wrote and I didn't think to have been rude . )'m sorry ,maybe that's because my english (i'm italian) .

This is what I wrote :
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at the Cimatori because it helps to do better our job.

I'm sorry about the bed linen . I just checked your confirmation and I realize that we gave you a king size bedroom instead of a twin bedroom , as per your request. . The room where you stayed can accommodate up to 3 people so there is a 3rd bed in case of 3 people but the bed where you sleep was not prepared to sleep because we prepare the room with a king size bed for 2 people and not a king size bed plus a single bed.
I'm sorry for the misunderstanding because if you let us know about the mistake during your stay we could provide immediately to prepare the 3rd bed.

About the noise, I'm sorry but we are in the heart of Firenze and also if we are in the pedestrian are and we have the double glazes , on Saturday night much more people then usually , enjoy the city centre.

I'm sorry also because we clean your room when you asked us to not do it; maybe you told it to the housekeeping and on May the 18th, I just check, there was Dyna to clean the room, who doesn't speaks English .
It has been our greatest pleasure to host you and we truly hope that our paths will cross again so we will have the opportunity to let you change your mind about the Cimatori B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at Cimatori our last night in Italy. We were asked to arrive before 2 PM, which we did, to assure that the staff would be there. Check-in was handled by a charming lady - good English skills and very helpful. Rooms were large, bed was somewhat hard (but they are everywhere in Italy, it seems), and bathroom up-to-date and clean. Rates are reasonable. We had to leave by 5 AM the following morning to catch a flight - so no opinion on the breakfast. BUT the staff member did call the taxi service to book us a taxi, and her assurance that a taxi WOULD indeed arrive at 5 am proved to be absolutely true. Hotel is nicely located but it is on a square with two restaurants and a bar directly opposite. If you have a room with a window overlooking the square, it could be a little noisy. I had a room with a window that opened onto a different side street, and didn't have much trouble. There is no elevator--so you'll get good exercise. The WIFI computer in the breakfast room worked fine. And they seemed to have a lot of books available for the rainy day when you might just want to read. I would stay here again, absolutely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not overlook the square with two restaurants and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B & B Cimatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Cimatori

Address: Via Dante Alighieri 14, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cimatori Bed and Breakfast is an hidden gem in the heart of Florence right next to the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio in Florence’s famous Piazza della Signoria and the Uffizi Gallery. Cimatori Bed and Breakfast is on the second floor of an historic building and it takes its name from the medieval square inwhich it is located.All major attractions are within a few minutes walking to make you feel right at home surrounded by the magic and romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your B & B Cimatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b Cimatori Hotel Florence
Bed And Breakfast Cimatori

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B & B Cimatori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.