We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal for charming family hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best deal for charming family hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our flight arrived pretty late and Miriam was so nice about waiting around for us. She even showed us around our room and show us sites on a map. Her and her charming hotel helped make our trip to Florence wonderful. Our room was huge and our private balcony had a grand view of the garden courtyard and the duomo. We spent most of our time in on room on the homey balcony. The hotel is just a couple blocks from el duomo, but it is pretty easy to walk to everything anyway since Florence is a pretty small city. The breakfast is complimentary, the espresso was clutch for all of the serious site-seeing. I will stay here on my next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    280
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
162
355
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Located close to central train station and short walk to all major historic sites. Extremely helpful and courteous staff provide a great breakfast spread. Rooms were ample and the A/C worked flawlessly. Best restaurant, Firenze Barbeque and Bar, just across the street serves a fantastic array of Mediterranean dishes as well as an impressive list of health drinks. Quaint but tiny elevator helps to get luggage to your floor. Loved our stay and recommend it highly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed at the Europa for 3 nights in October 2013, whilst on a business trip. I was so pleased and lucky to stay at the hotel. The Europa is located right in the centre of the city, but I didn't here any street noise from my spotless, spacious and well appointed room. I had a double with an inward looking courtyard balcony. The balcony was a great little place to sit and drink coffee in the morning, surrounded by wonderful pot plants, citrus fruit and pepper plants. Breakfast is excellent and the staff, Robert (Roberto) and Miriam do their utmost to make you feel welcome and at home. I can honestly say that this hotel is the best 2* hotel I have ever stayed in. I often stay in 3* & 4* hotels in major cities that don't come close to the level of service you receive at the Europa. I will be re-visiting Florence in the spring with my wife and 4 kids, and I will look no further than this hotel. Book with confidence.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I first stayed here in 2006. We decided to stay in one of the newly renovated suites, and we were not disappointed in the least. We returned to Italy this summer with our daughters. We stayed in suite 39. The 2 rooms were huge with a mosaic ceiling. Lots of space to relax and spread out (when we were actually in the room). The only draw back to this suite is that it faces rue Cavour so there is traffic noise, although again we did not spend a lot of time in the room. At breakfast Miriam is always there to greet you by name and she makes an excellent cappuccino! The location is within easy walking distance to all of the major historic sites. This is our second stay and we will stay again on our next trip.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

You feel part of the family at this hotel that has been run by the same family for 44 years. Miriam and Robert were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. The location is excellent about halfway between the duomo and the Accademia and within walking distance to the train station. Also, a Medici palace is location almost right across the street. Rooms look into an interior court, which means no view, but that's fine in this part of town which is very dense. Good value, particularly if you pay cash to get the 10% discount.

Room Tip: the hotel is on the 2nd floor (3rd floor American) and there is an elevator, but within the hotel so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

It was our first stay in Italy.This a great small hotel. Miriam and Robert are the perfect hosts. They were very helpful and the family room was beautiful and roomy. Would stay with them again. They're walking close all attractions.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

What Hotel Europa lacks in modern amenities, it makes up for in charm, personality and location. Robert and Miriam were wonderful hosts. One day we asked if we could bring our take out lunch into the dining room and Miriam said of course, "this is your home!" The location is ridiculously convenient to the Duomo, Accademia and the markets. There's a nice supermarket very close by. I picked up some treats for our train ride to Venice. There's also an awesome Rotisserie place a couple of blocks away that was one of the best meals I had in Italy! The elevator is typically small but it was still bigger than the one in my hotel in Rome. Our room was also quite spacious considering the size of many of the rooms in Italy. Breakfast is typical except that they also have hard boiled eggs. Overall, we had a nice stay at the Hotel Europa. Thank you Robert and Miriam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.