We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We´ve been 2 nights in Hotel Europa in Florence las July. The first at all: it´s a 2 stars hotel. Knowing this, I have to say that it´s a very good hotel: comfortable, clean and very well located, because it´s very close to the Duomo in one side, very close to the Academia in the other side. The owners are very nice, helpful and polite people. I advice this hotel even though I think that it´s a little expensive for being a 2 stars hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    290
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
174
375
55
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bragg, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel Europa is located ideally near the Accademia and the Duomo and walking distance to most of the sites tourists want to visit. The staff is warm and very helpful. Breakfast is generous. Our room was very quiet and reasonably comfortable.

Unfortunately, when we stayed, the entry way into the building had an unpleasant odor. Our room was large, but oddly laid out. The main bathroom light was on a 2 minute timer and the sensor was aimed across the entrance and did not take in the toilet or shower areas of the room. This naturally was surprising initially and fortunately, there was another light one can put on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a great location. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.
The staff was very helpful and it was nice to have breakfast included. When we arrived in Florence, it was the middle of our 2 1/2 vacation so we were in need of a laundromat. The hotel made arrangements for our laundry to be picked and washed so we did not have to sit at a laundromat for a few hours. That was a wonderful perk that was worth the extra price we payed to have it done that way. We stayed for one night on the top floor room. It was a beautiful big room but the only downfall was that the wifi did not work up there. Not a huge problem but my husband had to do some work so he just walked downstairs and did some work in the lobby. If we ever make it back to Florence we wouldn't think twice about staying there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a quaint hotel centrally located. Just a few minutes walk to all of the major attractions. Miriam and Robert are wonderful proprietors. Breakfast is fresh and plentiful. Old world charm. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff/owners were very friendly and helpful! Our room was great with a view of the Duomo! The breakfast was excellent with a variety of choices and the rooms were air-conditioned (a must in the month of July!). I would've given it a 5 rating if it weren't for our room not getting hot water in the evenings....had to take cold shower one night; the next night they did allow us to use a vacant room to shower in. They were very apologetic though and did give us a discount for our discomfort. We had an excellent referral to this wonderful restaurant, ZaZa's.....we ate there every night! I highly recommend this hotel (and the restaurant!). You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

And it could not have been better. 1.5 blocks from the Dome, sleeping in a building once owned by the Medici family. Great food, great company. Cooking classes, tours, the Market, safe and clean streets. Wow.
Robert and Miriam played a large part in making us feel welcome. Miriam helped in arranging tours, Robert in culinary suggestions. But being able to talk to someone interested in our travels at breakfast, or when we came in at night...the innkeepers made the Inn.
If you are looking for the Four Seasons, keep clicking. Clean rooms, breakfast and smiling faces in the morning, awesome location. I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

MIRIAM and her staff make your stay in down town FLorence a bliss. A small walk from the train station. A quiet oasi after a long day in the city of art. Good breackfast, hot shower, air conditioning, a refrigeretor in the room. The feeling of being in the time ofthe Medici Florence by the view from window. I am coming back from my fifth year. I sent here my Canedian friends, my A merican friends, all have had perfect stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the family suite , you will feel like the renaissance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Florence
#45 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.