We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run. Hidden gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family run. Hidden gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Thanks trip advisor for another accurate reflection.
Hotel Europa is family run - Miriam was amazing - recommended a variety of restaurants which we agree - did serve delicious food. Our room was a double with balcony and view of the duomo. I got a bit disappointed when i found our double bed was 2 king singles pushed together. Free wifi. Tv available. No kettle/coffee/tea facilities. Breakfast was great for 2 mornings - you may find that you'd like variety if you stayed >4nights.
I liked that the hotel was hidden on level 2. The elevator was old but kind of cute. Statue of David was only 5-10min walk away. Duomo was much the same. I definitely wasn't wishing I was staying in another location.
I would easily stay here again. Great value for money and I loved the fact we were supporting such an old family business.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    278
    31
    11
    4
See reviews for
160
351
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston,tx
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We followed Rick Steve's recommendation and stayed in Hotel Europa in Florence. The location to all the major attractions is walking distance from the hotel. This is a family run hotel and everyone was very helpful with directions and such. They serve a light (but delicious) breakfast in a sunny upstairs room. Our room on the first floor was very clean and nice sized and looked out onto a courtyard area. The owner of the establishment was kind enough to forward a birthday card back to the US when it did not arrive at the hotel in time for my birthday. I appreciated their effort. My husband and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 4 nights and had a wonderful time. Convenient location, walked everywhere, except to and from airport/train station. Very clean. While having breakfast, met many of the other guests, several who have stayed there numerous times. Wonderful having free wifi. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: Talk with the owners and tell them your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in the delux suite with it's very high, reniassance mural painted ceilings and large, ornate windows. This suite is huge and unique, we're still talking about it even weeks after our stay! The location of the hotel is very good, we walked to the Ufizzi and Acedamia with ease.

Miriam and Robert were wonderful, you simply can not ask for better service. They went above andd beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable. They both spent time on the phone with Alitalia, fighting on my behalf to recover a lost bag. They were the absolute best.

Room Tip: You HAVE to stay in the deluxe suite, it's so unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a nice, adequate hotel to stay in.
If you are looking for a comfortable, clean room with LOVELY people running it then this is for you.
The location is fantastic. Minutes to everything.
Rooms are spacious.
Breakfast is ok.
WiFi works intermittently.
Decor etc is on the tired side but if that's not a problem for you then you're on a winner.
I thought it was a bit expensive for what you got but it's probably the location that sets the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great location, large and clean room, nice breakfast, and friendly, helpful owners... this hotel fires on all cylinders. They recommended the local ZaZa restaurant for dinner, which was also nice. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a lovely experience we had with Hotel Europa. Miriam is such a gracious hostess and makes great American coffee. We had a spacious room with an amazing view (could see the Campanelle of the Duoma from our large shuttered window). Three minutes from The Academia, short walk to the Duoma and to a restaurant Miriam recommended that was on of our favorites for our trip to Italy. Not kidding about the shower. It had lots of pressure unlike others we had experienced. I know I got all the soap out of my hair! No question, this is where we will stay on our next trip to Florence. Thank you again, Miriam for such a wonderful stay. We loved it. Anne and Stuart Wright

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#54 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.