We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Europa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 461 hotels in Florence
Yorba Linda, California, United States
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We only spent 2 nights at the Hotel Europa but it was a highlight during our recent trip to Italy. Miriam and her staff were very helpful and warm. It almost seemed like a home away from home. The facilities were clean and neat. The location could not have been better. It's just minutes walk from the cathedral, David and tons of shopping and eating opportunities. Thanks to the Hotel Europa!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    610
    274
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
160
346
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed four nights in Venice, all at the Hotel Europa. Miriam & her family and staff made us feel welcome and comfortable. Our rooms included a simple breakfast every morning of juice, cereal, yoghurt, slices meat & cheese, hard-boiled eggs, and croissants. Miriam personally made the caapuccino, which was the best I had my entire three weeks in Italy. Her Italian mam's greeting every morning just added a delightful family touch to our stay. The bathrooms are modern - although no washcloths were provided. The beds are firm but comfortable. The rooms are quite large by Italian standards. Be careful about opening windows - I still have scars from the Florence mosquitoes!! The hotel has an elevator, which was easy to operate for our one cane-using party member.

Room Tip: The higher your room, the narrower the staircase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights, with two teen daughters. We had the room on the first floor of the hotel (2nd floor of building) right at the very front. Hotel calls it Red Rubin I believe. 2 enormous rooms and bathroom which are directly off of a public lounge area. The Hotel was not terribly full, so we pretty much had the use of this lounge area to ourselves. Not sure if this is the norm. The room for our girls had 3 single beds, table with 4 chairs and some other furniture, which was lost in this huge room. Ours had a large (queen maybe) bed and again tons of room.

Shuttered windows opened on to the street below. We could barely hear the street noise, however the clothing store directly below us did crank up the music while the shop was open. Not a big deal as they open well after we were up and closed before 8 I think. If you are an afternoon napper, this could be an issue.

Rooms and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Beds were awesome. Breakfast room was large and well stocked. The usual plus hard boiled eggs, cold meats and cheese, cereal and fruit. And possibly THE BEST CAPPUCCINO EVER!!!!

Others mentioned the odour as you go in the front door. Good thing as I was prepared for it. It is just in the lobby, elevator and stair areas. Absolutely none in the hotel areas. Don't let it stop you from choosing this hotel.

Staff/Owners are friendly and available, allowed us to leave luggage a bit after we checked
out. Location is midway between the Cathedral and David. Can walk to everything from there. Maybe a 15 minute easy walk from train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Hotel Europa was a perfect place to stay with our family in Florence. We rented 3 rooms and they were all great rooms! The morning breakfast was also exceptional and they have the best cappuccino in Italy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights last week during our time in Florence. It was spotlessly clean. The family that owns and runs this hotel are extremely genuine and they want you to feel like part of their family. Breakfast was just enough to get you through to lunch. Our room was plenty big, and the view out of our window was amazing ( Duomo and courtyard).. This is a hotel that Rick Steves recommends. All the positive reviews I saw here on TI were true. Did notice that faintly musty smell when you walk into the building on street level but I also noticed that smell in lots of old buildings in Italy. The hotel is on the 2nd and 3rd floor, and does not have that smell.. It is fresh and bright! Location can't be beat! Would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Europa a few weeks ago. Hotel Europa is a wonderful small hotel right in the heart of Florence. The rooms are comfortable and larger than others we stayed in Italy. The European breakfast was very nice and I enjoyed the coffee Miriam made each morning. The location is within an easy walk to the major sites. Miriam was incredibly helpful, friendly and could not have been more accommodating. I would definitely recommend Hotel Europa and I look forward to staying there again when I return to Florence.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a wonderfully family run hotel in centrally located Firenze. The location, price, cleanliness and helpfulness make it a great place to stay. The breakfast, which is included, has lots of options for everyone's taste. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.