We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought it was great !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Thought it was great !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights last week during our time in Florence. It was spotlessly clean. The family that owns and runs this hotel are extremely genuine and they want you to feel like part of their family. Breakfast was just enough to get you through to lunch. Our room was plenty big, and the view out of our window was amazing ( Duomo and courtyard).. This is a hotel that Rick Steves recommends. All the positive reviews I saw here on TI were true. Did notice that faintly musty smell when you walk into the building on street level but I also noticed that smell in lots of old buildings in Italy. The hotel is on the 2nd and 3rd floor, and does not have that smell.. It is fresh and bright! Location can't be beat! Would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    287
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
170
368
54
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Europa a few weeks ago. Hotel Europa is a wonderful small hotel right in the heart of Florence. The rooms are comfortable and larger than others we stayed in Italy. The European breakfast was very nice and I enjoyed the coffee Miriam made each morning. The location is within an easy walk to the major sites. Miriam was incredibly helpful, friendly and could not have been more accommodating. I would definitely recommend Hotel Europa and I look forward to staying there again when I return to Florence.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a wonderfully family run hotel in centrally located Firenze. The location, price, cleanliness and helpfulness make it a great place to stay. The breakfast, which is included, has lots of options for everyone's taste. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My adult son and I stayed in Florence for 8 days. As everyone points out, the location is excellent, walking distance from all the museums, the duomo, and the train station. The breakfasts were delicious, and they quietly change the TV station from the local Italian to an English station, depending on who is in the room. My son and I were on different schedules, and they were very gracious about coming downstairs to let whomever didn't have the key back in to the room. We had a very quiet twin room facing the courtyard, and it was far larger than we expected. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and to visit again. It's not a luxury hotel, but the friendliness and warmth of Miriam and the staff made our stay perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the courtyard on the first floor. Incredibly quiet. Aside from the first day with our l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenonah,NJ,USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel owners and all staff were helpful and accomodating. The location was great and the room was large, clean, charming and quiet. The breakfast included in the room charge was excellent. We would reccomend this unique and charming hotel to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Miriam and Robert run a wonderful hotel. Good value for your travel dollar. The accommodations are lovely, the breakfast is superior and the location is excellent. I would definitely stay here again. They made us feel like family! There is an elevator and the hotel rooms are up about two or 3 floors, so they are quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasonbury, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Europa last July 2012--traveling alone and my first trip out of the US. This is a well know hotel--even the taxi driver from the Florence airport knew exactly where it was.
It wasn't like a Hotel --in my experience it was more like a B& B in the heart of Florence. The rooms were well kept, decorated, and the bed comfortable. I had to shut off the air conditioning because I got cold! Aldo, I could see the Duomo from my suite. The owners are AWESOME, friendly and I actually would have liked to bring them along with me to Assisi when I traveled there. The breakfast was hearty--including protein (eggs etc) not just carbs. I was traveling to other areas in Italy and returned to Hotel Europa for a final night. Very convenient location and if you need train or other travel arrangements, the Travel agency is one door down from the Hotel--i was able to get train tickets there and avoid the long lines at the station.

I wish I was heading to Hotel Europa and Italy Today! Enjoy....

Room Tip: There are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.