We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Europa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 461 hotels in Florence
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great location, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked the Hotel Europa for 3 nights in Florence, the location was perfect. It was a short walk to the basilica, the Accadamia and th San Lorenzo market. They had a good, standard breakfast. The bathroom had been updated but room was a little dated however, the location and the price more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    608
    274
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
158
345
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 30 years ago. How did he remember the name of the hotel? Because they were so nice . The next generation is now running the hotel. Miriam and her husband Robert are the nicest folks you could ask for. They are friendly, helpful and interesting.
The hotel location could not be any better, and despite the central location, the hotel is surprisingly quiet. The rooms are clean and comfortable, though nothing fancy. I loved being able to see the top of the Duomo from the window of the room. We will definitely stay here when we return to Florence. Oh, and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a world traveler, I am always worried about 'budget' hotels. I normally stay in upscale hotels as I travel for business - and try to do so (if reasonably priced) even when traveling for leisure. Downtown Florence is not cheap, at-least not for your average traveler.

I then relied on hotel recommendations (Travel through Europe by Rick Steve's) and found Hotel Europa. I could not be any happier with the recommendation. The room was comfortable, the rate was competitive - even economical, but most importantly the location an staff were nothing short of amazing.

If you are most interested in the overall experience of the travel (Florence itself plus seeing David at the Accademia) you can hardly do better than this hotel. Everything is within minutes by foot. The staff will go out of their way to help your every needs and they speak perfect English :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Once again, Rick Steve's recommendation was spot on. Owned and run by a local family for more than 40 years it is like "home". The breakfast offered lots of options Miriam and Robert were always ready to assist with directions and suggestions.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel Europa is ideally located near the Duomo and within an easy walk from the train station. Miriam and Roberto were very attentive hosts, making reservations for us to visit both the Uffizi and Accademia. They also provided excellent restaurant recommendations nearby.The room was quiet and comfortable. It even had a view of the Bell Tower. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is my second time staying at Hotel Europa, and will again next time I'm in Florence. The location cannot be better - walking distance to everything. We were even able to walk from the train station with our bags without any trouble. Miriam and Robert are very friendly and helpful. There is a nice selection at breakfast, and of course nice hot coffee! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and we had a nice view of the duomo two blocks away. For you classical music lovers, this place was once owned by Franz Liszt. I would definitely recommend Hotel Europa to my friends and family. I initially stayed here because my parents recommended it after their stay 20+ years ago. It was run by the same family then.

Room Tip: According to info from my parents, upstairs room has better view of the duomo.Both my rooms were nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bennington, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Europa, about two blocks from the Duomo.The central location made it easy to walk anywhere we wanted to go. Our hosts, Miriam and Robert, were very friendly and helpful, and even gave us a good restaurant recommendation. The rooms were nice and breakfast was good. Great value for the money. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#37 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.