We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greta location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Greta location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from our 3 week trip in northern and central Italy and the Hotel Europa ranked as one of our top hotels. There is a lift that will take you from the street level to the hotel, which I think is on the 2nd or 3rd floor. The hotel has been in the family for many, many years and the hosts are friendly, helpful and experienced hoteliers. The room was small, but clean, but the best was its location, just a couple of blocks from the Duomo and other attractions. Our room faced a small garden area and we did not hear any street noises at all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    287
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
170
368
54
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband I stayed here for 2 nights on our whirlwind driving tour of Italy. We arrived into the city and Robert helped us with stashing the car. It was great, we just left it out front and someone from the garage came and took it away! Our room was spacious, the breakfast was fine, and the location was amazing. We walked everywhere and the hotel was a good central location to return to during the day. There is a tiny little family run liquor store next door that stays open until midnight if you need a bottle of water. The boy who works there is saving up to come to America! Miram and Robert were very friendly and we felt like we were coming home after a day of touring.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I brought my folks to Florence and Venice for their ruby wedding anniversary. We had a super time in Florence. Not only it is the city beautiful but the hotel experience was first class.

The hotel is perfectly located, right beside the duomo. Our room was huge and very quiet and had free wi-fi. Robert and Miriam were the perfect hosts, so very kind and helpful. My folks are still talking about their trip and we really hope to come back to Florence and this hotel again sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently returned from a 12 day trip to Italy. We stayed here on our next to last night before heading home. It is a wonderful little hotel. The staff is very friendly. We checked in and were given a map with some restaurant and sightseeing suggestions. The room was clean and as far as size, on par with the hotel where we stayed in Rome. The bathrooms and showers are not big but that is the norm in Italy. Just takes a little getting used to. The Wi-Fi worked great everywhere in the hotel. Breakfast was the standard, boiled eggs, cereal, pastries, juices, meats and cheeses. We were asked as soon as we entered the breakfast room if we would like coffee, tea, cappuccino. The elevator is small but again, there is not much that is big in Italy by American standards. The location could not have been better. Our room opened onto the courtyard so it was very quiet at night. We were a short walk from the Duomo. We went to Mass at 7:30 Sunday morning at the Duomo and the streets were virtually deserted. It was such a nice way to see the city without all of the tourists. By 8:30 though, people were starting to trickle out and by 10:00, it was crowded. The restaurant ZaZa was recommended to us and it was very, very good. Great location and great food. I only wish we could have stayed a little longer. As we had a later train on Sunday, we were told we could store our bags until we were ready to leave. We were also told about a restroom that we could use before our departure as you have to pay to use most public restrooms. It was really nice to have the option to return to the hotel should we need anything before our train departed. We will definitely keep this hotel on our radar for our next visit to Florence. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel for better prices. I believe they offer discounts for paying in cash a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 9 day stay in this perfectly located, quiet, family-owned
(since 1970) hotel .Miriam and Robert are very welcoming and helpful. Up a block or two from the Duomo (just far enough from the throngs of tourists), We walked everywhere, including to Piazelle Michaelangelo. My room had a great view of the Duomo and Giotto's tower, comfortable bed, spotlessly clean, and a very substantial breakfast is included.The Tourist Info is right across the street, as well as a travel agency, and a coffee/wine/lunch bar.
I would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Florence. Peggy

Room Tip: Room 48 has a great view
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights September 21 & 22, 2012. Close to everything! Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. They prebooked tickets for us for the Uffiz iGallery and the Accadamia. They also called and made reservations for us at a nearby restaurant. Breakfast was good, nice way to start the busy day. The only negative is the sulphur smell, but that is throughout the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, New Hampshire, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

You almost fall out of bed and into the Piazza Duomo, the location is so central. Robert and Miriam are the perfect hosts. We felt like family s soon as we arrived. We discovered plenty of interests and experiences in common with other guests. The rooms were quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. The bathroom was great, although the compact shower took a little getting used to.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.