We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florentine charm with the friendliness of a family run business.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 461 Hotels in Florence
1 review
“Florentine charm with the friendliness of a family run business.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

The reservation process was made easy by email. They answered our questions to make sure we had all the amenities we were looking for in a great location. They were very accommodating. The rooms were very comfortable. The owner/managers made you feel like family and looking forward to your return!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    280
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
162
356
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Europa for 2 nights while on our honeymoon. We'd booked the room with the small balcony and were glad we did. It was the perfect spot to sit and relax with a drink pre-dinner or post sightseeing/shopping. The top of the Duomo was visible from here. I liked that this hotel was quiet and peaceful, tucked away from the noisier streets of Florence yet still very close to the centre. Our bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom were nice and clean. There was a small fridge to keep our drinks cool. Breakfasts were good - cereal, fruit, pastries, bread, eggs, cheeses and cappuccinos made to order. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony was very sweet and romantic. Be mindful of keeping the balcony doors open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful location. Very close to train station. Near duomo and accademia. Basic but large room. Very comfortable.Unlimited wifi. Very helpful owners. Gave us some incredible restaurant suggestions and shopping advice. Our room was very cool in the intense summer heat of Florence. Would book again in a heartbeat. Felt like we were staying with family.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed one night at the Hotel Europa in Florence. The accomodation is basic but clean. The owners are super friendly and helpful - they allowed us to leave our luggage there the next morning until after lunch. The location cannot be beat! Half way between David and the Duomo and a block from the market.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel was a little gem. I'm so happy to have found it. The location is excellent (about 200m from the Duomo and walking distance from the railway station). The room was clean and there was no noise from the street or other rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I also really liked the decor, as it felt like an authentic Italian hotel. The breakfast was basic but sufficient. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel after reading such positive reviews on trip advisor, and we were very glad we did. Hotel is in wonderful location and easy walking distance to major attractions like the Accademia, the Duomo, Uffizi Gallery, etc. Also very close to Santa Maria Novella train station...my husband and I walked to hotel with luggage and had no problem. Staff is extremely helpful. Both Robert and Miriam are just lovely people and made you feel right at home! Robert was so nice to fix our shower immediately as it wasn't working when we arrived (and worked amazingly the rest of our trip). Miriam was very helpful in making reservations for us at some attractions with no charge either, which helped save us alot of time waiting in lines. She also provided us a wonderful gift bag of biscotti and wine since I had mentioned we were coming to celebrate our wedding anniversary while we were there. Wonderful hotel, great location and friendly staff...can't ask for more!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here during a 5 day visit to Florence. The hotel is at a fabulous location - 200m from the Duomo, but not on a busy street that gets very noisy. Our room was very clean and spacious. The staff were lovely and could not do enough for us.
Excellent value for money. We'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a superior double room and it was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Cavour, 14, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#27 Family Hotel in Florence
#50 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.