We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sovigliano is Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sovigliano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sovigliano
Save
You added Sovigliano to your Saves list
Strada Magliano 9 | Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, 50028 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Rhode Island, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sovigliano is Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

We have been going to Sovigliano for the last five years and have always enjoyed our stays there. The Bicego family is consistent in their efforts to please and to provide a response to any reasonable request. The location of the property (with its own vineyards and olive groves) in Tavernelle is ideal for exploring Tuscany and the town itself has several excellent restaurants and other useful amenities such as ATM's. On this last 3-day visit we took advantage of the B&B but on previous, longer stays we used the kitchen facilities that are available in several of the accommodations.

We've recommended Sovigliano to a host of colleagues, friends and relations with absolute confidence. Next year we plan to have a family reunion there involving children and grandchildren. It will likely be the rip of a lifetime for all of us.

  • Liked — The fine hospitality of the innkeepers
  • Disliked — We had to move on
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

We had a wonderful week at the Sovigliano. The location is perfect for visiting Tuscany (Siena, San Gimigniano, Pisa, Volterra etc). The accomodations were way beyond our expectations. We were in a large apartment in the main farmhouse. It was very spacious (2 bdrms, living rm, dining rm, very well equipped small kitchen), very clean and extremely well maintained. Claudia and Patrizia were extremely welcoming and friendly. Excellent location, just 5 minute drive from Tavernelle which has good grocery store, laundry, bank etc, and some good restaurants. Perfect for a family of 4. Nice access to the outdoor terrace, ping pong and swimming pool. Lots of mosquitoes in early July, but otherwise great.

  • Liked — Lovely apartment, great location.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

This place is in a great location and overlooks beautiful Tuscany complete with vineyards, olive trees and the family dogs and cat.
The website doesnt do it justice. Its more beautiful than the pictures!
The previous review I can somewhat agree with. The breakfast is simple and your bed doesnt get made and towels changed daily. But you have to realize this isn't the Marriott. Its a beautiful Tuscan farmhouse in which the bathroom looks brand new , rooms are large, clean and well maintained. You wake up to roosters crowing and cows mooing. We found Patricia and Claudia to be very accomodating and friendly. Although it was grape picking season (the family picks there own grapes) she made a tiramisu cake for our friends birthday and gave us local maps to head us in the right direction. We plan to go back so we can investigate more little Tuscan towns.

  • Liked — location and clean
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — n/a
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast, canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

We stayed at the Sovigliano after reading reviews which ranked it #3 of 57 in it's category. After staying there for 5 nights, I am dubious about the authenticity of the previous reviews. Firstly, we found the hosts, with the exception of the daughter to be somewhat un-accomodating. It is in a good location for exploring the area but we found the hosts unhelpful when it came to diections, suggestions, etc. The first day I asked about visiting the town of San Gimignano and I was asked about how I enjoyed my day trip there on our last day ---- just after handing her my visa card. Houskeeping on a weekly basis (our 5 days didn't qualify) and 5 euros for an extra towel did nothing to foster our affinity for Sovigliano.

And the breakfasts! Cerals, yogurt, juice that tasted like kool aid, espresso- lacking cappucino that resembled warm chocolate milk. After the first couple of days we supplied our own breakfasts. I don't like to knock anyone, but feel I need to let people know about our experience to give travellers as much info.
as I can.

We have had much better experiences in other places, but we just chalk this one up to experience and realize that "reviews" are not always accurate. But travellers can rest assured that this one is.

  • Disliked — Unhelpful hosts
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2006

Beautiful place in a beautiful region. Main guest building is old but artfully restored.
Rooms are large, tastefully decorated and very well kept. The grounds are attractive and well maintained. Swimming pool is large with splendid views across the neighbouring hills. Good extra facilities for guests include a nice lounge, breakfast room and food prep area. Owners are helpful and friendly. Overall, value is excellent for this part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

Sovigliano is a charming agritourismo located just outside the town of Tavarnelle. It is a working farm currently growing olives and grapes. Clean, spacious rooms are available in the farmhouse that was built in the 1300's. Each room has access to its own refirgerator along with common sitting rooms. Guests have access to a pool with magnificent views of Tuscany - on clear days you can count the towers of San Gimignano. Travelling to Siena, San Gimignano, etc. was very easy from Tavarnelle - Sovigliano is only about a 7 or 8 minute drive from the Autostrada. The town of Tavarnelle is great for dinner. It is not as touristy as other Tuscan towns but there are still some delicious restaurants to choose from. We had our best gelato in Italy at the gelateria on the town square.

Patrice and Claudia are wonderful hostesses who will make you feel warmly welcomed in Tuscany. Each morning Patrice prepares a Tuscan breakfast consisting of various cerials, yogurts, breads, and of course wonderful cappacinos. They are more than happy to provide sightseeing suggestions, etc. The added bonus for us - they both speak English. That came in very handy for two people who speak very little Italian. Communicating via email to make reservations was very easy.

We highly recommend the Sovigliano. You will not regraet it!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sovigliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovigliano

Address: Strada Magliano 9 | Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, 50028 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sovigliano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.