We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa La Vedetta to your Saves list
Villa La Vedetta
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the most beautiful places I've ever stayed. Breakfast overlooking Florence was heaven. Laura, on reception, was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. Jacuzzi bathtub a complete delight after walking all of Florence's cobbles. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    51
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
55
204
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a must for those visiting Florence. An oasis of calm just outside the city with wonderful, friendly staff, spacious rooms and elegant public areas. Lots of outside sitting areas to soak up the.view. Courtesy bus runs throughout the day to take you to the city centre. Delicious breakfast served overlooking the Duomo. 10/10!

Room Tip: Corner room with double aspect windows gives a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I had an amazing stay here. It is such a beautiful hotel, away from the hustle and bustle of the city center. There are amazing views of Florence from the rooftop. The garden area is beautiful. The breakfast was very good as well and we enjoyed breakfast each morning with a killer view of Duomo. Other reviews have complained about weddings there, but we stayed during the weekdays- there were no weddings and it was very quiet and peaceful. Great value, especially for couples looking for some peace and quiet. Highly recommended and I will be staying here again next time!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment you arrive you are greeted and presented with a map. They offer rides to and from downtown , the hotels has 17 rooms so it's small but amazing !
Everyone is so welcoming , friendly and helpful .
You can schedule the time you want to go to downtown or be picked up .
They offer tea time in the lobby at 3 pm that I loved !! Served with cookies .you can enjoy the huge Terrance with a breathtaking view of the city .
Rooms are big with lots of space I'm a fan of bathtubs and this one was amazing . Hotel also has a sauna.
Internet is great.
We had breakfast included in our stay and it was worth it ! They have a little bit of everything including fresh orange juice , nuts , cheeses jams and yogurts .
You also have the option of eggs and they make them at your request so it can't get better than that.
We had dinner at the hotel one night and it was delicious , but the plates are very small. I don't eat much so for me it was just the perfect portion.they have a great selections of wines ( the moscato was lovely )
Over all I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel .
A block away from the hotel its a plaza and a few churches ( if you take a tour of the city you would end up visiting here anyways ) the view is amazing .
Hotel is in the perfect locations since its country side but still 15 minutes ride to downtown .
Hope you find this review helpful .

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Our trip was to consist of 2 days to explore Florence and 2 days to explore the Tuscan hills/wineries. When deciding where to stay, the choice was to either stay in a villa out in Chianti and drive to Florence, or stay in Florence and drive to the hills. Staying in Florence at Villa La Vedetta was by far the better option. It is located on the south side of the Arno and has the same commanding hillside perch as Piazzale Michelangelo so the view was amazing. The villa's terrace was huge and felt very private even though there are 12 rooms at the villa. Our room was large and luxuriously appointed. Our room faced the gardens in the front but we never felt deprived of the view of Florence which was always available throughout the rest of the hotel. Though never mentioned, the villa has a rooftop terrace which is perfect for taking a panoramic picture of Florence. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially Mossimo (sp). He arranged a private Mercedes and driver (Filipo) for our winery tour/tastings, suggested a restaurant that was a winner, helped us make other logistical travel plans, etc. To get to "town" we had the option to take the free shuttle van the drops off at Ponte Vecchio or walk into the center. We opted for the 15 minute walk into town each day (downhill) and took the shuttle back in the evening. If you want to enjoy some Florence nightlife, you will have to cab it back (around 12 Euros). If you are up for something different, a great way to see a lot of Florence with a tour guide - take the Segway tour.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Villa La Vedetta. We lucked out with a room on the corner overlooking the pool, which had an incredible, sweeping view of the Duomo, Arno, and the rest of Florence. The rooms were nice...can't say anything bad about them. Good size and all the amenities that we expected and needed. The pool was useful after a long day of sightseeing and the patio is a great place to unwind with an aperitivo before the sunset over the city. The included breakfast is outstanding. If the large buffet spread is not enough, the kitchen will make you whatever you want for breakfast. The staff was great, particularly Laura who checked us in and setup all of our meal reservations and gave us the lay of the land. Last, the location cannot be beat. It's right next to the actual best view of the city, Piazza Michelangelo. Right next to the Piazza, there is a lengthy set of stairs that puts you just on the other side of the Ponte Vecchio bridge once you make the 5 minute trek down...(10 minute trek up ). The hotel had a shuttle with pickup/drop-off neat Ponte Vecchio that would drive you down there or back to the hotel if you prefer. We didn't mind the walk and it was safe at all times, as people are always coming and going to Piazza Michelangelo. Overall a great stay at VLV

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I studied abroad in Florence and got to see/experience the city in many ways. The views from this hotel are magnificent. It truly is the perfect distance to get away from the busy part of the city, but close enough to easily shuttle into the city during the day. That's right, I said shuttle. This hotel offers a FREE shuttle that takes you to and from very close to the ponte vechhio.

Very glad I stayed here.

p.s. the beds are very comfortable

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#44 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Vedetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.