We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel with stunning views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Villa La Vedetta to your Saves list
Villa La Vedetta
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“lovely hotel with stunning views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

the main reason for choosing this hotel is the view;it is a small hotel so facilities limited although nice but small gardens and out door pool which is more than most city centre hotels;
although not far from ponte vecchio but difficult to walk down as on steep hill[ limited free shuttle bus - approx hourly from 9am til noon then from 4-8pm has pick up/drop off point close to ponte vecchio and small supermarket if want to stock up on water etc;
we stayed in deluxe/small suite in annexe - nice and roomy , good sized sitting area and bathroom
breakfast was acceptable but limited for 5 star property but reflecting small no. of guests staying;
FREE afternoon tea and cake served in library or terrace refreshing after long days of site-seeing;
we ate twice in hotel restaurant onice - food v good but relatively expensive- main problem was limited choice and menu did not change during the week we were staying there;
IMPORTANT to note that this hotel is extremely popular venue for weddings and parties which means guests may not be able to use some of public rooms/spaces including terrace;
overall lovely hotel, small and generally quiet and we would probably stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    49
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
53
197
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Yes, lots of good things and some for improvement. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. But, some things to note. The setting is wonderful. In tranquil gardens with magnificent view across the Arno to the City. But busy roads all around equals traffic noise. Also it is Siren Central, but then it is Italy. The building is fine and well presented and it meets its aims to be a country house near the city. Really good shuttle service from Hotel to Ponte Vecchio and back; takes all the hassle out of getting around. Room was elegant and well appointed; perhaps a new mattress would be a good idea. Room prices are what you would expect; especially good if you pay in advance. Reception staff were extremely helpful and pleasant; all had very good English.
Breakfast was very good, especially the fresh fruit and the excellent coffee [so hard to find good strong coffee]. But, fruiyt juice was supermaket carton and not fresh. Easily remedied.
Now, the pool. We chose the hotel as one of the few with a proper outdoor pool; we like a swim. It is a good pool. Bad news is that it is not heated; but good news is that this means you may have it to yourself.
The hotel website implies a pool bar etc; this simply wasn't in action. No staff visited the pool area to tidy up or check on towels etc. They jumped when we asked, but no process in place.
The restaurant is OK but not a wonderful overall experience [see separate review]. If you are staying a few nights I suggest you eat in 50% and out 50%.
So, overall, if you want to be just outside the city and don't want to pay San Michele prices, this could be for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had our wedding here for 35 guests on May 17 and everything was perfect. The villa is more gorgeous in real life than the pictures suggest. Alina was amazing at coordinating the event, vendors, everything! Not only is the setting so beautiful the service was exceptional. I would not change a thing about our wedding or 4 night stay at the hotel. I would recommend the villa for anyone looking for a dream wedding :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was so lovely and upgraded our room to a suite for the 5 nights of the trip. The staff were all amazing and so helpful. Go to this hotel!!! We had the best food and even the room service was tasty, Thank you all for a great stay

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the hotel. As everyone else comments the views are jaw dropping and stunning from the hotel terrace. We stayed in room 203 which was ok- a bit too dark for my taste( lots of dark red in the room)- it's a personal taste though. The room was also quite small and on balance not 5 star. That said it was very clean, lovely linens and complimentary soft drinks. It was also the lowest price band room - so I'm sure that the larger rooms would be much nicer. The real gem of this hotel is the staff- service is excellent, friendly and warm. They go out of their way to make recommendations and always have time for a chat. Keep hold of these people- they will keep people coming back to the hotel. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

If you love a view, you get it from every angle. The inconic Florence city scape will linger in your memory for a long time. If you can, choose a suite in the main building facing that view as they are excellent. While you are on the hill away from the main action, it is nice to return to a peaceful haven. There is a courteousy van to drop off and collect at certain times, a taxi back up the hill is also easy, particularly for dinner out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Well , we arrived Florence quite late in the afternoon, with no arrangements, and everyone was impecable on arranging us a room.Quite a Room, one of the most beautiful i have ever stayed in. It was my birthday, and the arrangements for dinner in town and driver were made by the hotel staff.Top Quality staf. It was quite a night to remember.This was in 2011.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#37 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Vedetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.