We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price, Great Location, Even Better Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa La Vedetta to your Saves list
Villa La Vedetta
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Price, Great Location, Even Better Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Incredible view overlooking Florence. If you are in decent shape, walking into Florence is fairly easy, else a shuttle is provided to the City entrance. Shuttles do not run all the time so check to see when if you think you will need one. Also, the cost of a taxi to and from is reasonable. The rooms were very nice. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Also, the people at the hotel were extremely helpful when my flight was cancelled the evening before I was to depart. I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VillaLaVedetta, Direttore at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear EjTraveller,

thank you much for sharing your stary experience in Tripadvisor!

We feel very proud when we read comments like yours, our main goal is to ensure that all our clients are satisfactied.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the property overall, our wonderful view on Florence, the room, the staff and the services provided to you.

Best Wishes

Antonio Dondiego
General Manager
Villa La Vedetta*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    46
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
50
191
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful location providing a stunning view over Florence. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was well appointed and the amenities provided were luxurious. We enjoyed the walk in to and back from the centre of Florence, which was in itself very nice. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle which we did not need to use as the walk was so enjoyable. Breakfast was over priced, and as I eat gluten free of poor value. In terms of all the hotels I stayed at during my recent trip to Italy this was the worst for gluten free options at breakfast. Despite this, this hotel would be my first choice when in
Florence.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VillaLaVedetta, Direttore at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Catherine,

thank you so much for posting your review on Tripadvisor!

We really appreciated your kind words about Villa La Vedetta, the services, the room, the view on the Florence's skyline.
We have spoken with our Maitre about your observations about the gluten free options at breakfast and we are researching some new optiions.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in our beutiful city, we send you all our

Best Regards

Antonio Dondiego
General Manager
Villa La Vedetta*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Perfect hotel above Florence, it's a short walk to the Piazella Michelangelo, beautiful views. Staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on that. Shuttle runs only twice a day so if you miss the evening shuttle, consider a taxi to return or it's a long UP-HILL climb coming back.
Wonderful little pizzeria on the walk in, it's at the bottom of the long stairs leading you down into Florence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VillaLaVedetta, Direttore at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Jab,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor!

We really appreciate your kind words after your stay at our Villa.

We hope that you will choose Villa la Vedetta for your next trip to Florence and that you will have the opportunity to try our varied buffet breakfast served every day in our gazebo and enriched by the wonderful view on Florence's skyline.

Best Regards

Antonio Dondiego
General Manager
Villa La Vedetta*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Large rooms, large bathroom and stunning views overlooking the city..Mattress and bedding a little tired, cloth chairs stained, but we didn't stay in much to let it bother us... The views and discounted room rate made up for anything lacking!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great hotel, friendly and efficient staff and incredible view of Florence from the terrace. Situated on a hill, few minutes walk to Piazza Michelangelo, where you can see a copy of Michelangelo's "David". Unbelievable stay!
I would gladly come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here once in January 2013 and visited the property a couple of times. Outside, the hotel is great. A beautiful South of France type building, a terrace with an amazing view over Florence and a nice garden with a restaurant and a large pool. Really great.

Inside...a different story. The furniture in the lobby and the living room/library is very cozy, but old and tired. The elevator to the rooms upstairs as well as the reception look like in a 3-star city hotel. Stairs, walls, everything cry for a renovation. Upstairs it smells like in my grandmother's medicine closet. The rooms are quite nice, but also rather old. Bathrooms are ok though. The restaurant is sort of in the basement and definitely stuck in the 80s in terms of age and decoration.

Obviously this hotel would be totally ok if it didn't ask for so much money and didn't aspire to be a 5-star property. I don't mean to say that it should only have 3 stars - but for €500-600 per night, I would rather stay at Salviatino and get 10 times better quality. My criticism is also directed towards the owners who pretend that the hotel still has the same class as 20 or whatever years ago and let this beautiful property deteriorate. It's a shame. This hotel could be the best hotel in Florence - the location, the appearance are amazing. But everything inside requires a massive renovation.

Some good points: there is a shuttle bus to Ponte Vecchio, people are extremely nice and helpful and the view from the rooms - well, the best in Florence (except for Torre di Bellosguardo)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Florence and we could not have stayed in a better place. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel really welcome. We were taken to our room and it turned out that the hotel had very kindly upgraded us to one of the suites. It was a gorgeous room with the most beautiful view over the city. All the staff were excellent with special mention of Valentina who went out of her way to make our stay so fantastic.
The Villa itself is a beautiful old building set up high on the outskirts of Florence, with wonderful panoramic views over the City. It was a pleasure to come back to the quiet surroundings after a busy day in the bustle of the City. The courtesy car into Florence was a really nice touch and very useful. If you are going to Florence, stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Florence and if you can, book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#40 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Vedetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.