We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Save Saved
You added Villa La Vedetta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 461 hotels in Florence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magnificent Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great hotel, friendly and efficient staff and incredible view of Florence from the terrace. Situated on a hill, few minutes walk to Piazza Michelangelo, where you can see a copy of Michelangelo's "David". Unbelievable stay!
I would gladly come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    45
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
48
178
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here once in January 2013 and visited the property a couple of times. Outside, the hotel is great. A beautiful South of France type building, a terrace with an amazing view over Florence and a nice garden with a restaurant and a large pool. Really great.

Inside...a different story. The furniture in the lobby and the living room/library is very cozy, but old and tired. The elevator to the rooms upstairs as well as the reception look like in a 3-star city hotel. Stairs, walls, everything cry for a renovation. Upstairs it smells like in my grandmother's medicine closet. The rooms are quite nice, but also rather old. Bathrooms are ok though. The restaurant is sort of in the basement and definitely stuck in the 80s in terms of age and decoration.

Obviously this hotel would be totally ok if it didn't ask for so much money and didn't aspire to be a 5-star property. I don't mean to say that it should only have 3 stars - but for €500-600 per night, I would rather stay at Salviatino and get 10 times better quality. My criticism is also directed towards the owners who pretend that the hotel still has the same class as 20 or whatever years ago and let this beautiful property deteriorate. It's a shame. This hotel could be the best hotel in Florence - the location, the appearance are amazing. But everything inside requires a massive renovation.

Some good points: there is a shuttle bus to Ponte Vecchio, people are extremely nice and helpful and the view from the rooms - well, the best in Florence (except for Torre di Bellosguardo)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Florence and we could not have stayed in a better place. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel really welcome. We were taken to our room and it turned out that the hotel had very kindly upgraded us to one of the suites. It was a gorgeous room with the most beautiful view over the city. All the staff were excellent with special mention of Valentina who went out of her way to make our stay so fantastic.
The Villa itself is a beautiful old building set up high on the outskirts of Florence, with wonderful panoramic views over the City. It was a pleasure to come back to the quiet surroundings after a busy day in the bustle of the City. The courtesy car into Florence was a really nice touch and very useful. If you are going to Florence, stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Florence and if you can, book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful villa a couple of hundred meters from Piazella Michelangelo with a superb view of Firenze and the surrounding mountains. Friendly, beautifully decorated, wonderful service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night, thats y we cant try every bits of the facilities here, but the service here was excellent, feel like a home away from home, people may thought this place was far away from city, but VLV gpt free shuttle service and we can actually walk down to town.
breathtaking view with nice people.
I will definitely visit here again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bucks County, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is very handy for those travelers who are driving! My newlywed wife and I planned a driving tour of northern Italy with this hotel being our second stop. Villa La Vedetta is grand and luxurious in service and appearance alike. Lots of marble, I believe our entire bathroom was made of marble. The bed although large was not very comfortable I recall.

The front desk manager was extremely helpful, including providing assistance with museum ticket booking.

The hotel has a shuttle that runs every half hour back and forth to town. We didn’t take advantage of the shuttle, we walked. This is only recommended for those of a more athletic nature as the hotel sits on the hill by the Piazzale Michelangelo. We also did not use the spa, it did look nice though.

The breakfast is absolutely stunning! A bountiful variety of; meats, cheeses, fruit, bread, pastries, cold/hot cereals, to name only a portion. Unfortunately, the restaurant, in the hotel’s lower level, leaves much to be desired. Overpriced, under portioned and sadly to say unsatisfactory servers. The food was decent from the kitchen, just not enough of it for the large price.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing out towards the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is a short walk out of town and away from all the hype. Service was impeccable, Room well appointed with everything you could require. The breakfast was a little light on for the overall standard of the place and I must admit we did feel disappointed after everything else was so nice.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel overlooking Florence city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#26 Family Hotel in Florence
#31 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Vedetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.