We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overlooks the city with views to die for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Save Saved
You added Villa La Vedetta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa La Vedetta
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 459 hotels in Florence
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Overlooks the city with views to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is a short walk out of town and away from all the hype. Service was impeccable, Room well appointed with everything you could require. The breakfast was a little light on for the overall standard of the place and I must admit we did feel disappointed after everything else was so nice.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel overlooking Florence city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    45
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
46
167
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of December and loved this hotel.
We found the staff to be friendly, the lady on reception spoke very good English and was very informative about Florence. The porter was lovely, always there to help with bags, always friendly and the free shuttle service into the centre was great as the walk back is up a steep hill.
We found the minibar to be well stocked and very reasonable in price. We felt very safe in our room and in the area of Florence the hotel was. The car park was free which was really good.
The room was a good size, nicely decorated and clean.
Couldn't fault anything about our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Our first time in Florence like many tourists. Terribly disappointed with the management. Got robbed in broad daylight in the hotel! everything was dug out of the room safe. Hotel almost refused to give us another room after the door has been broken. No compensation whatsoever by the hotel. Not even compassionate about the whole event as if its a common thing and we were just unlucky to be there. Couldn't catch the thieves because apparently the cctv camera didn't work or some excuse. definitely won't be returning to this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto b, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
we apologize for the delay in answering . I am colecting more and detailed informations about that week . I will get back to you very soon .
Thank you very much for your attention

Roberto Bocccaelli
Guest Relation Manager
Hotel Villa la Vedetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed 6 nights at Villa La Vedetta the last week of November. We found the staff to be wonderful--friendly, efficient, and helpful. We stayed in the Bella Vista suite (incredible view!) and it was very nice. Quite spacious, clean, and nicely furnished. It was great to have two bathrooms and the second floor space worked well for my daughter. We opted to have breakfast included and this was a good decision. They offer a nice selection of breakfast foods and the serving time was long enough for early days as well as lazier days. The location is good--as other reviewers indicated, it is about a 15 minute walk into downtown Florence--uphill on the return. The hotel has a shuttle but we mostly walked, even in November when it was cool and rainy. Little things made the stay easier--plenty of plugs to charge electronic devices, bath slippers to keep your feet warm since they have marble floors, small safe for passports, jewelry, etc. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto b, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review . Our best satisfaction is to be able to grant a memorable stay to all guests as in your recent one .
Awaiting to welcome you again at VLV we all send wish you Happy Christmas and Happy New Year.

Roberto Boccacelli
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great position ..from some of the rooms you can overlook the city of Florence.
very nice staff..they are always at your disposal and you feel welcome since from the arrival..
and it does not change over the stay.
rooms are renovated and clean..
we had a superior delux with a good space....
one of the best breakfast buffets ever.... great choice and beautiful decoration
the bar in the under floor is not really great, and the restaurant was empty .. probably due to the season.. but the food was good.
the only negative point was that wifi did not work... after a heavy thunder storm over Florence the day before.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Lovely small hotel in excellent peaceful location. Lovely walk into city centre via Plaza Michaelangelo. Lovely view from the rooms. Beautiful garden terrace.Shame there were no tea/coffee making facilities in room. Staff helpful and polite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I chose this as the venue for a short break (3 nights after 1 night in Pisa) to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday.

The location is simply perfect, the only downside of having such a view is the distance down the hill to the city, this is taken care of with a free shuttle to and from the Ponte Vecchio every hour.

The attention to detail is simply breathtaking, from arranging for fast card access to star attractions and making reservations to allow no queue access too all the way to serving dinner to a couple of hardy brits on the terrace instead of in the dining room. This involved stairs and a lot of extra work, all carried out with a smile.

Prices are 5*, so is the service and quality.
The only negative point was that we had an adjoining room in the main house and the first night were disturbed by some rather unpleasant young ladies in the next door room.

Luckily they were only there for one night or I am sure the staff would have sorted the issues out for us.

A home from home, even complimentary afternoon tea is served in the lounge every afternoon at 530pm.

We will be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta
Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#23 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Vedetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.