We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and Breakfast with Hotel Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Antea

Save Saved
You added Villa Antea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa Antea
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Francesco Puccinotti , 46, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #4 of 498 Florence B&B and Inns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Bed and Breakfast with Hotel Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Antea late March/early April and found it to be excellent. There is someone at reception throughout the day willing to help with tickets to museums, tours and any other questions. The housekeeper is on site in the evenings as well. The rooms are large and very well appointed as were the bathrooms. Breakfast offered something for every taste and were of excellent quality. Florina the housekeeper provided excellent service and a friendly greeting to each day. You can easily feed yourself for the day from breakfast alone. While a a 20 minute walk from the downtown area it is a good location, especially as it is close to an excellent pastry shop on liberty square.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    507
    53
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
393
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here.Differ from hotels in other citys,this B&B is a whole local building with 6 apartments.This means it has the lobby,reception counter,etc.A local map will provided when you arrive,which helped us a lot.Cause we are going to the Bell tower for sunset which can help us right there.Florence is a small city with too many things to explore.The local market,the great brand,historical spot,musem.The staff will introduce all the main spots when you checkin,then don't hesitate to ask when you have any question.They will definitely help out.Oh,we also like the restaurant serve breakfast every morning.We tried Tito recommended,gorgeous.We hope stay there next time in Florence.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the right hand on the second floor which is very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights, and got very nice and friendly service. And the building and rooms are beatyiful! Very clean and comfortable. If we ever come back to firenze we will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Villa Antea in March 2013 for 1 night. It is a small but really nice boutique hotel. Though it was renovating, we were not disturbed. The room is big and nicely furnished with huge bathroom.

The breakfast was very good, freshly baked croissant, freshly brew coffee and a healthy and hearty meal overall.

With that few rooms , I see at least 4-5 staff throughout the day to provide very good service for the guests, it is amazing!

Though it has its own yard for parking, it does charge € 20.00 for overnight parking. That is a little expensive.

The location is quiet, and we walked about 15-20mins to the city centre where the happenings are.

Overall, a nice and warm stay in Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Villa Antea is a private reprieve from the hustle of city center and only a 15 minute walk. Our room, #1, ground floor was spacious and well appointed. Bathroom is modern and very large. Breakfast is well executed, staff very friendly and efficient, dining room is regal. Our 2 night stay was very pleasant and we appreciated the comfort the villa and its staff offered. Will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Initially we were really pleased, the room was large, breakfast was excellent, top recommendations for dinner and very friendly staff - it was a little out of town but we knew that when we booked. However, when my bride woke up with her face covered in mosquito bites it marred the experience. The next two nights were spent sleeping with the lights on. As the weather was raining and not warm we can only assume they were living in the canopy over the bed. Overall we wouldn't go back for that reason - a shame as everything else was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diletta L, Proprietario at Villa Antea, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest, we are very sorry to hear that your stay at Villa Antea was ruined by mosquitoes and we apologize for the inconvenience. All of our rooms are equipped with non toxic anti-mosquitos devices (VAPE) that, unfortunately, very often are misunderstood as air freshener and some guests turn them off.
Last year the summer season was extremely hot and humid in Florence, and considering that we are located close to one of the Arno’s affluent, it was challenging to eliminate the mosquitoes. This year we have taken even more preventive measurements in our courtyard and rooms, the result is pretty good since we have almost no mosquitoes both inside and outside.
I wonder if it is our credit or because of the climate changes …
Nevertheless, since you appreciated our rooms, breakfast, staff and location, and we have solved the mosquitoes problem, I propose you and your wife to come back to visit us in your next vacation in Italy….we will offer you a good discount in order to forgive us for the inconvenience ;-)
All the best
Diletta Lenzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Relais Villa Antea is in a quiet area just north of the centre of Florence. A pleasant 15 minute walk to the Duomo, but there are bus routes to the centre nearby. The Villa has just 5 spacious and well appointed bedrooms. Ours was clean and comfortable, with antique furniture. The shower room was as big as the bedroom of some hotels!
Breakfast was good, with choices to appeal to most tastes. Diletta and her staff were extremely helpful. The booklet of information she had prepared led us to three very different restaurants in the evening just a short walk away. Each with lots of local character and only a few tourists for company.
For a peaceful stay away from the city centre crowds Villa Antea would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Antea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Antea

Also Known As:
Villa Antea Hotel Florence
Villa Antea Hotel
Antea Hotel Florence
Address: Francesco Puccinotti , 46, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 498 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Antea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a truly Florentine stay in an authentic 18th century Florentine villa. This luxuriously appointed Villa Antea was built by my great grandparents in 1887, and my whole family has lived here until the year 2000. The villa is located in one of the city’s most charming neighborhoods, surrounded by old poplar and lime trees, a few minutes' walk from the old town. Only six rooms, not just a B&B, but a little piece of paradise from which to discover the most authentic Florence.Like a luxury hotel in Florence, Villa Antea has bright, cozy and particularly spacious rooms with very high ceilings. Each room is nicely decorated with satin fabrics and antique furniture. The bathrooms are huge, entirely decorated with Carrara marble, showers have multi-jet spray offering all the comfort and elegance of a top class hotel.The ideal choice for a romantic stay slightly outside the hustle and bustle of everyday life in Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Villa Antea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Antea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.