We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk to center of town & bridge of gold” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais Il Cestello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Relais Il Cestello to your Saves list
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza del Cestello 9, 50120 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Rocklin, CA.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Walk to center of town & bridge of gold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We had a large triple room that was very clean and quiet but very dark. Only two small windows and they looked out over rooftops. We could walk to the center of town very easily. There is no lift and you have to manage your luggage up one floor to reception and then navigate more stairs if your room is on an upper floor. The breakfast consisted of packaged croissants, cereal, yogurt, lunchmeats, cheese & juice. The best part of breakfast was the cappuccino which was plentiful and good. There is no street parking in or around Florence. Don't chance getting towed away. There is a large parking lot directly in front of the hotel but be prepared to pay $25 US for 24 hours. We were 30 minutes late picking up our car and they charged us another $5. There is no free parking in Florence. We left some important documents at our hotel in Lake Garda. The manager at Cestello was most helpful and called the hotel in Lake Garda and arranged for the documents to be mailed to us in Rome. He would not accept anything for the phone call charges.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    39
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
89
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

This small and cozy 3-star hotel is in my experience a tremendous midrange solution for a nice stay in Florence. A comfortable place with a double thumbs up for the homey environment and the location.

First note of merit: the homey environment. Special thanks to Marco - one of the brothers owners of the place - for the friendly attitude and for the many niceties during our stay: from walking the extra mile to make my wireless connection work, to making me use his own pc, to a free minibar consumption because "never mind, it doesn't matter". Second, the location, in a quite square by the Arno River, at just a short walk from the city center's major attractions, you get the upsides of city center staying without the crowd and the noise. Santa Maria Novella Train Station is also at less than a 10-minute walk. My room came with no frills but with everything in order. A rich continental breakfast was also included in the rate.

If your expectation is a comfortable and clean place to sleep and rest, conveniently located to explore the city, you will be perfectly fine. I have traveled to Florence many times over the years and you might easily end up in a place with more stars, comparable quality, double the price, where being treated as one of the millions of tourists who are known passing by Florence and never returning. Not here, where you are a guest and not a customer. I will definitely return here next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

The hotel is within easy walking distance from the station. We arrived around 10-30 pm. and were expected. There is someone on duty 24 hrs so there are no worries if your flight is delayed.
Our room was typically Italian-- with open beamed ceiling and the warmest,snuggest bathroom we've ever had!! It was spotlessly clean, the bed was very big and comfortable with lovely crisp, clean linen. the mini bar is well stocked and replenished should you wish to use it, with reasonable prices.
At breakfast we had a very good choice of continental breads,croissants,pastries, as well as cheese, ham etc. Lovely coffee(or tea) with juice and water on your table. We were more than full to start our daily adventures!!
This is a small hotel,minimal staff(we only met two of them) But extremely well run. The staff/ owners were always on hand to help in any way but were never intrusive.
Everything in the city was an easy walk from the hotel and after a long day sight seeing it was great to have a shower in the warm, cosy bathroom!!
We would stey here again and recommend it to others.
The trip overall was a great success. We are novices at internet bookings etc. and were worried about connections from Pisa to florence, especially at night but we needn't have. Terravision are great! We pre-booked the bus on the net and it worked fine. You do get on the bus first with your booking so no worries about being turned down through it being full.
We're already missing Firenze and the lovely hotel Il Cestello.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

fantastic hotel! location is great. within ten min walk to the Duomo but just outside of the tourist belt. ergo, nice and quiet.
Rooms are big and clean. W TV and wifi and breakfast was superb! Same with Coffee!
The best part is it is being run and managed by Marco, the owner who is very helpful and friendly.
AAA+++ for this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Stayed here for a week to explore Florence. Excellent little hotel right on the banks of the Arno, within 15 mins walk of centre, Ponte del Vecchio and major attractions. Great service. The hotel is very small and quiet. The local area is well worth exploring.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

On the "other side" of the Arno within 10 minutes walk of the Ponte Vecchio, this is a great hotel. We had a view from our room of the dome of the Duomo. Easy walking distance to the center of Florence and to the train station. We walked there and back with our bags.

The air con worked great, which was super given how hot Florence was that week.

The only concern I had is that we had a single very dirty towel in our room when we checked in. Unfortunately I didn't notice it until I grabbed it to dry off after the shower.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We went to Florence over Easter with our two children and really wanted to stay in a small, comfortable hotel which would make us and our two children feel welcome. This hotel was the perfect hotel for us. It is a small, clean hotel close to all the main attractions of this beautiful city. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel does not have its own restaurant, but there is an excellent restaurant just around the corner which was really convenient as we went there for dinner on the day we arrived. There is a fish restaurant just outside the hotel, but it was not recommended as being very good.
The staff were very polite and helpful and If you are looking for a family friendly hotel, then this hotel fits that description exactly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Relais Il Cestello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Il Cestello

Address: Piazza del Cestello 9, 50120 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Il Cestello 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Relais Il Cestello is conveniently situated in a tranquil yet central part of town on the south banks of the River Arno. The Hotel overlooks the charming Piazza di Cestello and is moments away from all the major sights of the Renaissance capital of the world.This stylish 3 star establishment with its spacious climate-controlled rooms is the perfect base whether travelling for business or pleasure. Within a short walk from this centrally located hotel you will find Piazza del Duomo - the heart and soul of Florence, the Uffizi Gallery, Michelangelo's David, Palazzo Vecchio and Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Relais Il Cestello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Cestello Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais Il Cestello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.