We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Friendly Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais Il Cestello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Relais Il Cestello to your Saves list
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza del Cestello 9, 50120 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cozy Friendly Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I selected this hotel due to its proximity to a friend's home but it turned out to be a perfect location for seeing all of Firenze. The hotel is on the river in a quiet square with easy access to the rest of the city. The manager Marco made me feel completely at home and was very helpful. The breakfast was always freshly prepared. The hotel is very clean and my room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    39
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
89
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

September 2012 - There is nothing that makes this hotel stand out from any crowd but.........

Visiting Florence for 24hours, we wanted a clean, mid-cost hotel, with easy access to both the old centre for a business lunch (Doumo etc was a gentle 10 minute walk) and Parco delle Cascine Park for an evening concert in the Eastern area of the city.

On arrival/departure, the welcome was under whelming, the service was sort of efficient if not bothered - no offer of help to get heavy suit cases up through a tight entrance and a winding stair case to reception (IMPORTANT - There is no lift from ground to the first floor reception).

PARKING - parking is a nightmare at anytime in Florence so I was pleased to see on Google that there was a large public car park directly out side, but the meter ran from 8am to 1am and in our very brief stay it cost 44 Euros to use - Above London prices - I got contradictory and wrong info from the hotel reception as to possible alternatives, and absolutely no help in sourcing the change needed - all a bit of a pain when all you need is some local advice.

Besides the general dis-interest of the staff the B&B was OK, our room and bed were big but so were the many hungry mosquitoes living in the room.

I just don't get previous reviewers excited comments that staff were friendly, helpful it was all just about average - If they could be bothered - so if you can find somewhere else I would and don't bother with this hotel.

Room Tip: Just make sure you keep your air con on to keep the many mosquitoes subdued
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel wasn't what I expected. The 10-15 min walk requires a few turns and crossing the River Arno. So, I thought it was far. In the hotel photo is diplays a small piazza. Open and inviting. It is actually a parking area. So, if you drive, this would be a plus. But on the plus side, and threre are many, being right on the river, you can easily find your way back at night. You just count the bridges from the Bridge of Gold and there you are. The staff is great, no lift but up two flights. Very short ones. We had the included breakfast each morning. Great coffee and rolls and danish.
We had planned to shop for ladies shoes on this trip, but wound up with purses this year. All in all, if I could find a Relais as nice as this nearer the Terminal I would use it. But i would def come back here. We stayed three nights, 2 couples traveling together.
Merci

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly and accommodating staff, nice breakfast, and in a fantastic location for central Florence - just south of the river, which seemed much less touristy than the northern side, with more real bars and restaurents with real florentines in them. Rooms weren't amazing, but perfectly fine and comfortable, AC very nice to have in the hot weather, and tho am a light sleeper, didn't notice any noise at all during the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Watford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights from the 15th to 17th April 2012 and I can't speak more highly of the hotel. It is in a great location, we had a spacious and very clean room which was full of character, and the hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Very convenient (on the south bank of the Arno, west of the Carraia bridge, a 10-15 minute walk to the central tourist area). Clean, quiet room. Modernized bathroom with plenty of hot water. Internet access. Nice breakfast. Helpful staff. Don't be put off by the inconspicuous door - the hotel is upstairs. Press the button and say your name and they will open the door; walk up one flight of stairs and you are there.

Room Tip: A room towards the front might not be so quiet but might have a better view.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The hotel is really nice and the rooms are clean. The view is superb and the location is perfect for visiting Florence. The owner is very friendly and kind and the breakfast is good.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Relais Il Cestello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Il Cestello

Address: Piazza del Cestello 9, 50120 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#114 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Il Cestello 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Relais Il Cestello is conveniently situated in a tranquil yet central part of town on the south banks of the River Arno. The Hotel overlooks the charming Piazza di Cestello and is moments away from all the major sights of the Renaissance capital of the world.This stylish 3 star establishment with its spacious climate-controlled rooms is the perfect base whether travelling for business or pleasure. Within a short walk from this centrally located hotel you will find Piazza del Duomo - the heart and soul of Florence, the Uffizi Gallery, Michelangelo's David, Palazzo Vecchio and Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Relais Il Cestello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Cestello Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais Il Cestello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.