We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Save Saved
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 461 hotels in Florence
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Absolutely loved this hotel! My husband and I traveled in Italy for our honeymoon for 12 days and stayed in 3 different hotels and this was by far our favorite. Fabulous location just minutes from Piazza Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Short taxi ride from the train station and within easy walking distance of all the major sites. Lots of steep steps from the street to the elevator - not a big deal though, just ring the bell when you arrive with your bags and someone will come down to carry them to your room for you. We stayed in the Standard Double Room - it was very small but pretty and romantic. Bed and pillows were comfortable and clean - they also have this "white noise" machine in the closet that you can turn on to create background noise to help you sleep at night. Bathroom was very small as well but very clean - shower had great water pressure. Breakfast is included and served in a cute breakfast room near the lobby - food was very good. They have free internet access and laptops in your room that you can use free of charge; there is also a Playstation and DVD player in the room and you can pick up games or movies from a small library of choices in the lobby for free - several language choices are available for the movies. Staff was very friendly, spoke great English and everyone was very helpful. If we ever return to Florence we will definitely stay at the Hotel Davanzati again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,334
    266
    54
    10
    9
See reviews for
525
1248
176
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

This hotel is in Tripadvisor’s Florence travel planner under hidden gems, and with good reason. It’s a bit hard to find, just a regular doorway facing the street. But a germ it is. From the street a steep staircase with 22 steps leads up to the reception, no lift, but don’t let that scare you off. If you can’t handle your luggage yourself, just ring the bell, and they will be happy to help. Upon arrival we handled our own luggage, but upon departure one of the staff insisted on helping us carry it down. This is not the right hotel for people not being able to navigate stairs on there own, such as elderly or handicapped, but for anybody else – it’s great.

We had a very nice family room, actually more like an apartment (without a kitchen). It had two bathrooms, one with a bathtub, both with showers. One being spacious the other a bit small. The “room” had an enclosed master bedroom with a double bed. From the sofa area there was a staircase leading up to two singles beds and another staircase leading up to a single bed, which was a bit short, only suitable for a child. All beds being a bit hard, apparently Italian style. The apartment had no less than four flatscreen tv’s, plenty of channels, but nothing worth seeing. But the free movie selection in the lobby and a DVD player gave us a relaxing evening after a long day of sightseeing. Every room in the hotel is equipped with a playstation and laptop with internet. There is also free internet for your own pc, never got that to work though. The room being very modern in appearance, very clean and cleaned thoroughly during our stay.

Breakfast is buffet (cold), good and plentiful, although Italian, meaning almost no fibre and lots of sugar. The location is in easy walking distance from the train station, very close to Veccho bridge, a very good location to explore Florence. May we also suggest a day trip to Pisa, just a one hour train ride each way.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atl, ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Everyone on the staff was friendly and very helpful. Smiling faces everywhere!! The room was very comfortable, breakfast was great and the location was good. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. Its worth it!! We stayed in four hotels in Italy on our 10 day trip, the Hotel Davanzati was the best!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We are back from our Italian adventure, that started in Florence and a stay at Hotel Davanzati. The staff was so helpful. The hotel is spotless. The location is outstanding. The price is great for Florence. The linens are fresh and clean. The happy hour is a great way to connect with other travelers. The bed is hard.....like the rest of Italy, but otherwise fine.
A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

stayed here for 8 days in the centre of glorious Firenze, Loved it, its not voted number 1 for nothing.
3 generations of the same family run the hotel, staff are amazing,rooms spotless,large airy rooms , bidet in bathroom a plus.
close to everything.ask for best restaurants and they will book it for you give you directions etc. just a real pro set up..... local chianti so smooth

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Davanzati for two nights as the last leg of our trip to Italy. The Hotel provided a wonderful ending to our holiday. We were welcomed immediately by Tommaso who made sure we were taken care of including making sure our luggage was carried up to our room as there are many stairs leading into the hotel. We loved our room and even had a lovely patio off of it to sit and relax at the end of the day. We also really appreciated Happy Hour where Wine and Snacks are provided and a chance to meet other guests...the candles are a wonderful and romantic touch! Tommaso also gave us great sugestions for Dinner and made our reservations for us! Location was great and near all we wanted to see! The staff were all friendly and warm! Thank you fo Tommaso and the Hotel Davanzati for a terrific experience!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

There's a reason why this hotel gets consistently terrific reviews. It is immacuately clean, the staff are all friendly and helpful, the happy hour provides a welcome break after a long day, and Fabrizio was incredibly helpful and charming.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.