We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience - beautiful property, impeccable service, attentive staff who treat you like friends, not customers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience - beautiful property, impeccable service, attentive staff who treat you like friends, not customers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

The Hotel Davanzati is located within short walking distance of all the major attractions of Florence. This is a family-owned, family-operated, boutique hotel which is among the best properties we have visited anywhere in the world. We extended our stay and skipped two days in Venice because we were enchanted with the attentive, friendly service, lovely rooms, wonderful breakfast (included) and lively happy hour (included in the room rate as well). We will visit the Davanzati again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,502
    288
    63
    11
    9
See reviews for
586
1,339
193
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We absolutely loved Hotel Davanzati when we stayed there for 2 nights in June 2009. Fabrizio is the most amazing host. He cares so much about his guests. He will gladly help travelers with museums, restaurant reservations, train connections, etc. He is a genuinely warm and caring man. The rest of the staff and his family were equally helpful. The hotel is in a perfect location. It has a grat breakfast and a wonderful complimentary happy hour. Our room was large, modern, spotless, etc, We were in Italy for 12 days, and this was our favorite hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

The hotel is perfectly located,spotlessly clean and for the price in Florence the rooms were spacious. Breakfast was adequate and happy hour is great where we made some new friends. I unexpectedly arrived on crutches but managed the 27 steps ( I counted them ) to get up before you get to the lift. .. Tommasso. recommended some good placed to eat during our stay in Tuscany. In fact we had the best meal of our whole stay in Florence

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steph1084
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

My family and I have stayed at the Hotel Davanzati twice now. We have been consistently overjoyed with the facilities as well as the staff. The family is warm and welcoming and speaks English very well. The family went out of its way to plan tours and such for its guests. The amenities (American style shower, DVD player with a free library, free wifi, laptop, Xbox with free library) are exceptional. We really enjoyed the happy hour and plan on continuing our stays at the wonderful Hotel Davanzati!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed here for our honeymoon and a celebration bottle of wine was delivered to our room 10 minutes after we arrived. Staff were very friendly and helpful, great location, less than 10 mins to Duomo, very close to train station, uffici, actually it very close to everything in Florence. Breakfast was fantastic would recommend anyone visiting Florence to stay here

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Enjoy 'Happy Hour' where you get free wine and nibbles and get to make new friends.
Excellent help in choosing the right restaurant with the exact ambience to fit your mood whether it be lively or romantic.
Free laptop and internet use let you tell friends and family what a great time you are having!
Our first choice for when we return to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Davanzati for 2 nights on our honeymoon trip throughout Italy and it was a wonderful experience. We had a bit of a nightmare finding the hotel (don't listen to GPS instructions) as our car ended up in the middle of the Pedestrian Zone in Flroence with an Italian policeman tapping on our window. Woops. Basically, this was because the hotel is sooooooo well located. It is slap-bang in the middle of Florence - everything is in walking distance.
I left my wife in the car with the bags and trudged up the steps (difficult to find to look out for them) to go and check we had the right place. I was quite flustered by the police incident but was immediately calmed by the fantastic Fabrizio (second generation owner of the hotel) who was sitting behind the reception desk. "You must be Nick" he said, "Where is Heather?" How about that for a personal greeting when you walk into a hotel that you have never ever been to?!
After I explained that I had left my wife with the car to avoid further police investigations, Fabrizio sent one of his staff down to the car to pick her up and bring the luggage up to the hotel - he then took the keys off me, organised the car to be parked for me and contacted the authorities to ensure that I was not charged for entering the pedestrian areas. Wow!!
The above hopefully gives you a taste about how good this hotel is. The key is Fabrizio. However, ever present in the hotel lobby is also his father (the man who started the hotel more than 50 years ago). His friendly smile is always there and look out for the photo on the reception desk of the three generations doing a "see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil pose"!!
We had a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room with a congratulations card (great touch) and the hotel runs a happy hour every evening which is attended by most of the resident guests. Great idea, and good opportunity to meet fellow travelers as well as swap ideas and stories.
Last bit of advice. If Fabrizio gives you a recommendation for a restaurant, shop, bar or anything - do it!! Heather and I had some memorable times following Fabrizio's tips and recommendations. Oh yeah, nearly forgot to say - the room was fantastic too!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#38 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.