We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best hotel in Florence. πŸ˜ƒ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
uk
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Still the best hotel in Florence. πŸ˜ƒ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Love, love, love this hotel. It's warm and friendly and a very happy place to stay. This is our 2nd visit now and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else when we are in beautiful Florence.
The rooms are spacious and clean. We had one with a private terrace and certainly took advantage of the out door space when needed.
Happy hour is a fabulous idea and a rather nice chill out time just prior to setting out for the evening.
This hotel is rather special in my humble opinion because all staff seem to be singing from the same hymn book and this makes for a very special stay indeed.
Constant hot water. Toiletries and towels replenished on a daily basis. Bar prices extremely reasonable. Fabulous location.

Total cost for 4 nights was approx 1023 euros. This is including the 10% discount for cash and the addition of the city tax and our use of the mini bar and 3 (?) bottles of prosecco.

They also knew that it was birthday from my passport and upon returning from a day out found that they had put a lovely bottle of wine in the room with 2 glasses and a card. We thought that this was a nice touch and deeply appreciated by us. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room with private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,504
    288
    63
    11
    9
See reviews for
587
1,340
193
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited Italy for 5 nights and this hotel was our favorite. The service was fantastic. We felt as if we were welcomed into someone's home! We had a room with one king bed and one twin bed (for our 6 yr old son). It was is fantastic condition and very comfortable. The room temperature was perfect. Breakfast was delicious with an assortment of cereals, yogurt, fruit, meat, cheese and bread. Not to mention fresh coffee, espresso, cappuccino as you like. We used the hotel's restaurant reservation service was very convenient. We loved the restaurant Gargani Trattoria -- our best meal in Italy! The hotel's location is perfect for exploring Tuscany. Although it was in the city center, it was on a very quiet street.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Completely agree with all of the positive reviews. The hotel is perfectly located for exploring Florence. Every site can be reached within a 15 minute walk. And most a lot closer. This is the friendliest and warmest hotel I've ever visited. From the start Fabrizio made us feel totally at home and the staff couldn't have been more helpful with suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. Happy Hour is a huge plus as guests mingle in the evening over a glass of wine and swap stories and suggestions. The room was really spacious, quiet and conducive to a good night's sleep. I think this ranks as the most enjoyable hotel experience I've ever had.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for five days and covered all of Florence. The location is great, as it is centrally located. Fabrizio and staff were absolutely terrific. Very friendly and helpful. They had great restaurant recommendations, touring assistance and helped us get reservations for museums. The room was large, clean and well appointed. The breakfast was very good. And the made to order coffee was perfect. The only negative is having to walk up a flight of stairs to get to the lobby. But if you don't have health issues, don't let the stairs keep you from the potential for a good value and great stay in Florence. Oh, and don't forget the happy hour that's included in the price. Our stay couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently experienced 3 wonderful nights at the Hotel Davanzati. Fabrizio and his entire family could not be kinder and more attentive to every need. Riccardo took care of us at check-in and throughout most of the stay, making great restaurant recommendations and answering all our questions. The hotel is very clean, comfortable, and cozy. The breakfast room is warm, charming and welcoming; the food is tasty and very sufficient to start the day. Everyone on the staff at the Davanzati puts the customer first and is always ready with a smile! It is great fun to see 3 family generations in the lobby each day. Whether its helping with suitcases, serving up a Caffe Americano or Cappuccino, or discussing the activities of the day, the Hotel Davanzati staff is there for you and makes you feel like you are the only one staying at the hotel. This hotel is the perfect way to stay in Florence. The location near the Arno River and other sights is fabulous as well.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Davanzati in 2011 after reading Trip Advisor's reviews and had a fabulous time.

Returning this April with friends we found just the same level of professionalism and total dedication to the guests needs. As before, nothing was too much trouble for the team there and this meant our holiday was perfect! They even arranged wall to wall sunshine for us!

Complementary Happy Hour has been supplemented by coffee/tea and cake in the afternoon! What more could you ask?

The family and their staff are the nicest group of people you could wish to meet.

Room Tip: Take advise from the owners of you have special requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We highly recommend Hotel Davanzati for anyone traveling to Florence. Everything was perfect - the incredible hospitality (prior to our trip, while we were in Florence and even after we left), the rooms (could not have been a better room layout for our family of four including our 14 year-old son and 12 year-old daughter), the delicious breakfast, the happy hour, the wifi in our room, the dinner recommendation, and the location. You are literally in the middle of all the major sights in the city....we were (sadly) only in Florence for a short time but we were easily able to see everything we hoped to and more, and we even had extra time to relax in our wonderful and incredibly spacious room.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#38 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.