We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Very High Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Save Saved
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 461 hotels in Florence
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Exceeded Very High Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Hotel Davanzati in Florence is an incredibly well run family affair. Fabrizio and his son Tomasso are extremely gracious and committed to excellence. Staying at the Davanzati is as close as you will come to feeling like you have family in Florence. If you stay for a few days you will feel like Fabrizio is your uncle and Tomasso is your cool cousin. They care and it shows. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms are good size and well appointed. The wine and bruschetta happy hour is very nice and offers an opportunity to get to know fellow travelers. The breakfast is fresh and very good quality. It is not a huge buffet, but the baked goods are fresh and the ham, cheese and salami are excellent. The highlight is the made to order espresso and cappucino prepared for you in the room. A bonus was the all day trip arranged for us by Fabrizio with very short notice. The Davanzati has a new company that arranges various tours. We took the Tour of Tuscany referred to as :Chianti's Best" that visits Siena, San Gimignano and Monteriggioni. It is nice to see the beautiful area outside of Flroence. You get a good perspective on the general area, including a tour of a very nice local winery in the Chianti Classico region. Part of the tour is eating a plate of ham and cheese while tasting 4 wines. Buying wine is not required, but it is hard not to buy at least a couple bottles of wine. The wines are high quality and the prices seem reasonable. If there was any pressure to buy, I would have been totally turned off. Our driver, Valerie, spoke excellent English and was extremely professional. He picked us up at 9:00 and delivered us back to the hotel about 9 hours later, just in time for the wine happy hour. At first I thought that the price of 110 Euros per person was high (credit card), I actually now think that it was a very good value. I highly recommend it. Needless to say, my family and I had a great stay at the Davanzati. I don't know how he does it, but despite all the guests that come through the hotel in a year, Fabrizio has a unique way of making you feel special. The amazing thing is that it is sincere..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,363
    271
    57
    11
    9
See reviews for
542
1264
178
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We found this hotel to be one of the best 3 star hotels we'd been to but also the most expensive. However, our room with it's little private balcony was gorgeous and the bathroom large and well equipped. We only stayed one night in transit but will definitely go back to this hotel when we spend more time in Florence. The management and staff were friendly and the decor is superb.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

A wonderful boutique hotel, centrally located. My room was clean and comfortable. Fabrizio, Patricia, Tomasso, Leonardo and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. A family owned hotel were the guests are treated as family. Like other reviewers, I much enjoyed the prosecco "Happy Hour" each evening. A great way to meet fellow travelers, exchange information about sightseeing, dining, etc. The family owned chauffeur company, I Just Drive, offers fantastic service for day trips outside the city. The Davanzati is highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Family owned and operated, impeccable, friendly and knowledgeable. Clean, well appointed accommodation. Nothing too much trouble from booking a museum to a hire care or just the inside scoop on best times to visit the famous statue or where to eat. Centrally located, we walked everywhere and were able to imbibe the atmosphere of this romantic city with ease. A good breakfast is available and an early evening happy hour facilitates a convivial get together with other guests.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Glad we read them and stayed here. Friendliest staff around and full of great tips and advice. We really loved the happy hour. We had the drinks in our room before venturing out. I love that it is family owned. Watching dad senior sit and walk around in his suit and tie everyday was charming. We also really like booking the tours directly from the front desk. Good job Davanzati!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

PROS:
1. Great location. It's minutes away from shopping, Ponte Vicchio, duomo and many more.
2. Great family owned, family run business. It's very clean and very well maintained property.
3. They offer continental breakfast from 7:30 to 10:300 and happy hour from 6:30-7:30. There's always fruit available for you to grab.
4. They have great Internet connection, ipads to use, travel books to borrow and even converters if you forgot yours.
5. Everyone is so helpful. The front desk staff (owners and family) help you book whatever you need. The staff also sent a bottle of wine to my room when they realized it was my birthday from my passport.
6. The cleaning staff is great. The room is spotless daily. One day I forgot my wedding rings in the room , they must have fallen on the floor. When I came back that night they were neatly put back on the bedside table.
Incredible hotel. I recommend it and I would definitely come here again. We enjoyed our stay so much, we are extending our stay a couple more nights (we're still here)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We LOVED this hotel. It is run by 3 generations of family members. You see the grandparents in the morning hovering around breakfast (outstanding breakfast), the parents through the day and evening and occasionally, son Tomas runs the desk. Incidentally, Tomas gave us 3 outstanding restaurant recommendations. The hotel is lushly appointed from the lobby to the rooms. The staff are all very gracious, kind and accommodating. I would ask for a different room in that our room only had one window and to open it meant opening up to the outside air. When it was shut, and the lights went out, it was BLACK dark which was GREAT for sleeping but we overslept on several days...not a bad thing. The drawback to this hotel is requires ascending 2 flights of stairs to get to the lobby. For us, this was not an issue. They have a cocktail hour serving wine, beer and snacks daily and we went daily. One night, we came back to the hotel to find the lobby lights dimmed, candles burning and European pop music playing and we thought (honestly), "is this our hotel?" It was and Tomas was in charge of the cocktail hour this night. We're in our fifties and honestly, this just made us smile and was a welcome surprise. The 3 restaurants Tomas recommended were 2 minute walks. A laundromat was located about 5 minutes away (and we needed to use one at this point). The market is only 5 minutes and the Duomo, main museums and the river and main bridges are all within 10 minutes. There is a famous little fountain of a brass boar located about 3 minutes away and that's a nifty little experience. Our cooking class shuttle picked us up about 10 minutes down the street so ideally, this was very well located. I highly recommend staying with Tomas and his father Fabrizio...you'll want to come back!

Room Tip: I would ask Fabrizio for a room with curtains that can be drawn so you're not compelled to hiber...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;