We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay at Hotel Davanzati” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay at Hotel Davanzati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Can't say enough about this establishment. They promptly answered the many questions I had prior to our arrival, setting up our museum vouchers, providing great advice about which tours and what days through their excellent IJUSTDRIVE tour company and over all friendly service. Fabrizio was frequently responsive with great advice and immediately resolved a couple of minor housekeeping issues. We loved our covered terrace and spent a rainy evening there enjoying some wine and light fare. Their breakfast was very good, although they didn't have eggs they had more than enough other items and quickly replenished them. They also gave us top notch restaurant recommendations as we loved the meals from each place.The wifi was excellent. The only item to be aware of is the issue mentioned here is the 26 steps to get to the first floor. We had to ring and ask for porter help for our large bags and someone quickly came down to assist. This place is a family run gem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,441
    279
    62
    11
    9
See reviews for
559
1,313
186
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Due to a significant flight delay we arrived quite late at Hotel Davanzati. We were supposed to arrive earlier than our college aged daughter who was training from Venice. We called ahead and the staff made her extremely welcome and settled her into the room without us. We utilized two wonderful suggestions from the staff for dining and they were very helpful with museum tix. The room was very comfortable although as a big guy I was a little squeezed in the shower. Happy hour and breakfast were top notch.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Hotel and staff always warm, friendly and accommodating. Room was a nice size, clean and comfortable. Some nice technology upgrades, including wifi and ipads. Great central location good value for money. Would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I chose this hotel mainly for its location, as I am studying the frescoes in the church of Santa Trinita just a couple of minutes' walk away. I had never seen such a positive set of reviews on here and now I know why - the value for money was excellent and the welcome was warm and friendly. I've just spotted Karen K and Atperts' reviews and agree with it all so I'll stop now!

Room Tip: I had a single room on the street side but thanks to the double windows it was surprisingly quiet fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel was wonderful in EVERY way.
The room was lovely, clean, and the beds very comfortable. And the location was perfect!! Close to EVERYTHING.
The staff was top notch: super professional, and just soooo nice!!! They were incredibly responsive and helpful with the dozens of email inquiries I had before I got there (regarding transfers to and from airport, tours, museum reservations, etc.), and they were just as helpful when we got there.
I appreciate and enjoy high-end hotels and this is definitely top notch.
The only problem would be if someone can't do stairs because you need to go up a big flight to get to the hotel. (But don't worry about suitcases: they come down and carry them up for you!).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I do not recommend staying at this hotel if you:

1. Are allergic to exceptional service
2. Prefer to stay in an unclean room with low aesthetic quality
3. Are put off by a generous and completely free breakfast
4. Are offended by delicious, complimentary chianti, prosecco, and snacks after a long day of exploring
5. Really like taking risks when it comes to restaurants, rather than receiving excellent suggestions from hotel owners and staff
6. Hate staying in an exceptional location within a few minutes walking distance of amazing places of interest
7. Cannot stand walking up one flight of stairs
8. Have a hankering for a stuffy room with no air conditioning
9. Enjoy paying for wireless internet

If this describes you, please do not make reservations at Hotel Davanzati. I would recommend a Motel 6 or Best Western in the midwest.

I just returned from my second stay here and I look forward to the next. We were a group of four women staying in two rooms, and we could not have been any happier with the service we received and the general quality and beauty of the hotel. Two women in our group were in their 60s and had no problems with the stairs. Congratulations, your search for a hotel in Florence is over. Enjoy!

To Fabrizio, Tommaso, Patricia, Leonardo, Pierluigi, Sofia, and the rest of the lovely staff whose names I did not learn: Thank you ever so much for another wonderful stay. We will see you again.

Room Tip: superior doubles are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

After our first visit to Rome, my wife and I decided to make a return visit to Florence specifically to spend a few days at the Hotel Davanzati. Immediately upon entering the lobby we were greeted with a warm and enthusiastic smile from Tommaso...it felt like coming home to family. Fabrizio, Tommaso and the entire Davanzati family are very customer service focused which is evident from the consistently excellent reviews we see on Tripadvisor. I highly recommend choosing the Davanzati as a centrally located base for exploring Florence Italy and the surrounding areas. You should note that they can arrange specific and custom tours to fit your interests. We have taken two which were fabulous! Thanks to the Davanzati family we will return...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#39 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.