We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy (Duomo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Davanzati during our recent trip to Florence. The hotel location is perfect and the room was large and very clean with many unexpected amenities. The breakfast was excellent and we especially enjoyed the early evening Happy Hour. Best of all, Fabrizio and his staff were fantastic! They had great recommendations for dinners and sight-seeing and made us feel incredibly welcome every minute that we were there. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,586
    302
    66
    11
    9
See reviews for
614
1,387
200
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our first trip to Italy and were totally pleased in every way. The location is great with being walking distance to the airport drop-off and all the sights in Florence. The breakfast and afternoon happy hour are excellent for meeting other guests and sharing your experiences. We had several excellent recommendations for restaurants from the owner and he was just a total pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our one night stay at Hotel Davanzati. We missed breakfast so we can't comment on that but the room and hospitality was great. The location can't be beat. I loved being able to walk to everything. And yes, the David is a must see!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby BC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We loved this hotel. From the great welcome at the front desk, the delicious breakfast to the evening happy hour, everything was well done. The room was spacious and clean, with a good bathroom. Location was just steps away from 2 good restaurants where we had 2 good dinners and one lunch, and all the sights of Florence were about a 5 minute walk. We would stay here again if in Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, spotlessly clean and wonderfully managed. Hotel Davanzati's greatest asset is their owners and staff. Before we even arrived, they had booked tours and made dinner reservations (Natolino - the best) for us. Because we were in Florence during the bicycle race, the city was tied up at different times. Our hosts went out of their way to find us the best route out of the city and make arrangements for us to get to our car rental location. Our rooms were nicely furnished and the bathroom modern and very clean. Breakfast was lovely with a nice variety and the happy hour was a very pleasant experience, all to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Location is everything and this small family run hotel definitely has that. A lot was made about the steps going up to the elevator but even with luggage this wasn't a problem. The lobby and room are well appointed and all very clean and modern. Anything that we needed the staff was more than willing to help ...They also own I Just Drive touring company so we had them arrrange a tour of Pisa, Seina etc. which was a great couple of days. The Happy Hour in the evening a great way to wind down before supper...would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

All I can say about this hotel is it was just average with a great location. However when you're used to hotels where the staff will go above and beyond this will disappoint. One person up front usually the owners son who was helpful yet gave the feeling he'd rather be doing something else then helping you. The rooms were dated but the terrace was nice.
This hotel isn't bad and it isn't great it's just average.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,281 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#16 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#23 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,795 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#9 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#7 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Family Hotel in Florence
#39 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.