We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Denver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family of five stayed in the family suite during our June visit to Florence. We stayed in room 100 which is a fantastic space for both kids and parents. There are two lofts providing a total of three beds and a private bed room for the parents. The room also included two bathrooms and a living room. The living room was spacious and great for relaxing after a hard day of touring the city.

The room was updated, clean, and in impeccable shape. The air conditional was exceptional and I found it to be very quiet during the evenings. The Hotel Davanzati beds were very comfortable and the best I experienced in the three cities we visited.

The entertainment system blew me away. Three TVs in total with global satellite and movies - after a week of local Italian TV, the kids were overjoyed at seeing some English cartoons. One of the lofts had a playstation and DVD player as well. The hotel also provided a laptop and the wireless connection was outstanding. I never had connectivity issue during our stay.

The hotel provides a light breakfast which was perfect to get our family started. The freshly made cappuccinos were the highlight of every morning. My wife and I enjoyed the nightly happy hour as well - try the Davanzati sauce for a real treat!

Finally, I appreciated the kindness the staff showed during our stay. I felt as though they cared about our family and worked hard to make the experience as wonderful as possible. Thank you Davanzati!!

Room Tip: Room 100 for family of five
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,393
    275
    60
    11
    9
See reviews for
549
1,286
182
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate City, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Davanzati has a great location. Like some of the other reviews have mentioned, if you have a problem with steps then don't pick this hotel. There are a lot of steps to get into the off street lobby. They make up for that by customer service. The check in was great. They were fully expecting us and helped us with all of our needs. Davanzati was the only hotel on our 18 day trip that provide us with an iron and an ironing board! All around great hotel and good price. Book it now!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is very central to everything. We took a train to Florence and we took a taxi from the train station to the hotel. We had just finished visiting Venice where a trip with a water taxi cost 80 euro. We are very surprised that the trip to the hotel only cost us 6 euro. (and after we settled in Florence, we found out that it only takes 10 minutes to walk to the station)
The hotel is just 3 minutes from Uffizi. There are plenty of shops and restaurants around. We basically did not need to take any transportation (apart from going to Piazzale Michelangelo) around the city. And when we were tired after some walks or visits, we just returned to the hotel for some rest before we set off again. It was really very convenient.
The happy hour was not as exciting as I have expected. They serve Prosecco and also red wine with some small bites. They turned down the lights and lit up candles. But most of the people just stayed in their table and there was not much interaction. I would recommend them to remove all the table so that people will really get to talk to each other.
The room is clean and spacious. There are many TV channels including BBC 1 which was not available in other decent hotels in Italy. Toilet is clean but toiletries are minimal.
The front desk staff (that is the owner and his 2 sons) are friendly and helpful and speaks excellent English.
Overall it is a very good hotel with reasonable price. I would come back again if I have the chance to go to Florence again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a delightful small hotel in the historic center of Florence. It is lovingly run by a family who clearly care how their guests feel. The rooms are simple but nice. Breakfast is very good and appetizers with wine for happy hour is a very nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel Davanzati's service is above and beyond. The staff really tries to make you feel at home! The happy hour alone is worth booking this hotel! They provide free wine and snacks and you get to meet other guests at the hotel which was a great way to start every night. Anything we asked, they were happy to give us- wine glasses and cheese knife for a picnic, recommendations, booking tours, etc. The location is great, the rooms were bigger than most in Europe, and there were free movies and TV in English. After Florence, we stayed at a much more expensive hotel in Rome where the staff was rude, the room was tiny, and they would not let you eat or drink water in the room. We missed Davanzati immediately! Don't expect a fancy lobby and yes, you have to climb stairs to get in the hotel (not a big deal). However, the comfort factor of the hotel and the service is why this hotel is so highly rated!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX,USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I spent five nights here in June 2013 with my wife and 16 year-old son. The location was excellent, near most of the attractions and shopping areas. Florence was having a heat wave (95F), but we were able to ride it out in comfort with the hotel's air conditioning. The staff was friendly. The hotel has an excellent on-line movie library that is included in the room price. I have never seen such a system in any hotel: it is a unique feature. We had rooms 101 and 102. They were adjoining and provided a "suite" experience. The rooms shared a private patio and both had large bathrooms: quite spacious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nivelles, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a charming boutique hotel right in the heart of Florence. Everything is an easy walk, including the train station. The staff is friendly, welcoming and helpful. The evening happy hour was perfect for relaxing while dropping off shopping before going back out for dinner. There were so many TV channels in several languages, including free movies. The AC was quite good for Europe. They also include a laptop in every room free of charge. They clearly understand the importance of good customer service and seem to genuinely want to make sure you have the best possible vacation. We found the bed to be a little uncomfortable and they need a little more shelf space in the bathroom, but overall this is a top hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.