We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel, Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel, Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was large by European standards and quite comfortable. Fabrizio is a wonderful host as were the rest of the staff. LOVED the selection of movies available as my wife is a nite owl and was able to watch several during our stay. Location is awesome, an easy walk to most attractions. Rooms were clean, neat and comfortable.
If we return to Florence, I would stay here, for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,438
    279
    62
    11
    9
See reviews for
557
1,312
186
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I planned this trip using Tripadvisor to guide me to the right choices. This was the best recommendation!. I brought my goddaughter for her first visit to Florence but I had been a number of times uears ago when B&Bs were sketchy at best. I picked this hotel because of it's location close to the Ponte Vecchio and Piazza Signoria ( an area I was very familiar with from previouds visits to Florence) and the glowing recommendations of other travellers.

This little gem of a B&B surpassed my expectations by far!

We were greeted by Fabrizio, the second of a 3 generation family run business. (His 90 year old father still remains involved clearing breakfast dishes, organizing the buffet,etc.) His son Tomasso (who relieves Fabrizio in the evenings) is gorgeous looking (alas, to be young again!)and very funny! Both were extremely helpful with restaurant suggestions and other recommendations.
It clearly caters to the amenities that Americans in particular have come to expect in the very finest 5 star hotels....laptops in the room, large HD TVs, and particularly WiFi!
Our room #202 was perfect for our needs...a very well-appointed room with 2 twin beds. The bathroom was the big surprise! Although renovated 9 years ago it looked brand new! I requested a tub to soak my old bones after a long day walking.. (Tubs are not that common in small hotels)

The reception area was cozy with chairs in which to read your morning paper from a number of Ipads that were provided..Ingenious!

Breakfast is a very elegant continental one with many choices: cappuccino or espresso made on the spot, yogurt, fresh cut fruit, ham and cheese, pastries, croissants,etc.
At 6:30 Happy hour was provided ..offering chianti and Prosecco wine and hor d'oeuvres.

I cannot think of one thing missing from this experience. I loved this hotel! When I return this is where I will stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After traveling for 5 days in Italy, we came here and loved every minute of it! From the minute we walked thru the door and were warmly greeted by our host, Fabrizio, we knew we were in the right location. We loved having the laptop in our room, WIFI and American TV! The happy hour nightly is charming - the inn is lit with candles and chianti, prosecco and appetizers are served. It was fun meeting all the other guests and sharing restaurant tips, etc. Tommaso also works so hard to make sure that all your needs are met. They even provided a white noise machine which helped us sleep since we were there during Notte Bianchi (street performers and lots of outside parties).Truly a great location with wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wonderful experience. This hotel lived up to all the reviews. Great central location, we were able to walk everywhere. The room was nice, clean, free wifi with laptop provided and TV with loads of english channels. Even though we were in the centra we didn't have any problems with traffic noise. We were really spoiled, even provided a bottle of wine since we were there for our anniversary. The family and staff are all nice, friendly, and helpful for all things. Happy hour was a really great opportunity to meet others in the hotel and share experiences and ideas. Met some really nice other tourists. Breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and stayed at the Davanzati 5 years ago, and loved it so much that we stayed here again. The hotel is close to all the sites. The rooms are spotless and have all the amenities. But what really sets the Davanzati apart from other hotels are Fabrizio and Thomaso. Their service is incredible. They were extremely helpful with attraction tickets and dinner suggestions and reservations. The happy hour with proseco and chianti allowed us to visit with other guests and talk about our days. You can really tell it is a family run business. The attention to detail is noticed and appreciated. When we are back in Florenece we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolid
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our third time and always wonderful. We stayed a week and always a great experience. The most gracious family, wonderful suite, lovely breakfast and perfect location. A no-brainer...this is the place to stay. Love Davanzati!

Room Tip: They provided a noise machine for street noise...we heard nothing. We were on the main street and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A real treasure. This hotel lived up to all our expectations and more. Great location, nice room, wonderful staff. We were really spoiled. The family and staff are all nice, friendly, and helpful for all things. The room was good size, with a high ceiling which made it feel even bigger. Television and wi fi were great for those who want to use. Even free movies in the room for relaxing in the afternoon after a day of touring and before happy hour. Happy hour is a nice treat. Opportunity to meet others in the hotel and share experiences and ideas. Met some really nice other tourists. This hotel knows how to treat people, especially Americans, and does it well. Small enough that they recognize everyone and know your name.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#39 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.