We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean, Central, Relaxed, Quiet..............” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 461 Hotels in Florence
drbex999
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Friendly, Clean, Central, Relaxed, Quiet..............”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel from the minute we arrived was a joy, all the staff were friendly, attentive and understand about running a hotel. There objective was about making sure we had a fantastic holiday and they did. Our room was the floor below reception and very quiet, clean and a comfy bed. Touches like a laptop in the room, free wifi and drinks during happy hour certainly make it a great place to stay. Certainly if we go back to Florence we will stay here and if I do for work then I would chose this over a large 'soulless' chain anyday.You can explore the Uffizi, David, Ponte Veccio, Pitti Palace all within a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,412
    277
    61
    11
    9
See reviews for
552
1,297
183
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The staff here truly enjoyed what they did and could not do enough for anyone in the hotel.
There whole objective was to make sure that our stay in Florence was memorable and totally hassle free which they succeeded with flying colours.
The location is perfectly located in the center so walking to everything is within minutes.
The only slight inconvenience for some maybe the flight of stairs but it did not bother us at all,in fact after eating out it was the perfect way to burn a few calories.
The only place we would ever stay in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have been visiting Florence for the past 20 years, virtually every year, sometimes more than once a year. Naturally, we stayed in all kinds of the hotels there and, with a few minor snags here and there, they all were quite acceptable and good.
On our recent stay in Florence in late April, we booked hotel Davanzati, for three nights and there are a few things that compel me to share this experience on the TripAdvisor. I will spare you from highlighting the central location of the hotel, conditions of the rooms, the happy hour for the guests at the hotel that takes place every evening, etc. – these are all great things and many other reviewers have done the justice to these points already. What sets this experience apart, for my wife and me, is a refined dignity with a wide range of expected and unexpected services provided at the hotel. I start with stating that it is a good deal moneywise – we stayed at a decent size, well laid-out suite with a spacious adjoining terrace that overlooked tiled roofs of Florence buildings at ~$300 per night. We had a lunch at the terrace (bought some wine, cheese, meets, bread, vegetable and fruits in a nearby store) and it was simply great!
For a few of years we had tried to visit the Vasari Corridor (connecting Uffizi and Palazzo Pitti). Perhaps, because we tried to do it on a relatively short notice, we could not book it either through hotels we stayed at or even when we asked a few local friends in Florence for help. Fabrizio and Tommaso (father and son running this hotel) just made it happen. My wife and I have thoroughly enjoyed the “Corridorio Vasariano” and are grateful! Another point: even though we did not need much of restaurants recommendations, the recommendations for the restaurants from Fabrizio are different in a way that he recommended us a restaurant that he dined in a few days before himself. He gave us the owners name, pointed to a few particulars of the restaurant menu, and this is, in my view, what’s the real recommendation should be all about. All our requests, and I witnessed handling of the requests and questions of other guests, were carried out promptly but without rush, completely but without becoming overwhelming, precisely and politely – in other words, professionally. The only issue is the 22 steps that lead form the street level to the elevator, but the hotel provides the necessary help with the luggage, hence it was not an issue for us. My wife and I strongly recommend this hotel and will stay there on the next opportunity visiting Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

While the Davanzati might not be the most luxurious hotel in town, I don't think we could have made a better choice. It is impeccably clean and very well run. Fabrizio and his family make you immediately feel welcome. They are very enthusiastic about their city and will do anything to ensure that you have a great time. Wonderful location, excellent breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It could not be easier to get anywhere from this location. You do have to walk up a flight of stairs to get to elevator. Nice lobby - good breakfast - clean room - helpful staff. Really no downside to this place

Room Tip: No views - average size rooms all with good wifi - you'll hear some street noise but your so tir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel before we even got to Florence from Fabrizio's emails. I have never stayed at a hotel with such great personal service. He made great suggestions and even offered to make reservations for us. Take him up on the "Best of Chianti" tour from I just drive....this was our favorite day in Florence.

We loved that the front desk was staffed around the clock. It is a three generation family business and by the end if our stay we felt like family as well.

The staff could teach a class on exceptional service...incredible!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location. It is a 10 to 15 minute (easy) walk from the train station and is located very close to attractions (Duomo, David, Uffizi, etc), shopping, and restaurants. The staff is excellent and very helpful, as they had many good suggestions for our visit. The rooms have everything needed for a comfortable stay and are very clean. Breakfast was included in our reservation, which provided a nice start to the day.

You cannot go wrong at the Hotel Davanzati. We will certainly stay again during our next visit to Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#40 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.