We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch In Every Way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top Notch In Every Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

From the 1st e-mail request I sent to Fabrizio & Tommaso many months ago while planning our recent 2 day stay in Florence, we received immediate, thorough and friendly responses from this family run hotel. Like so many other reviewers, I cannot say enough about the hotel and its proprietors. Before we even arrived, they offered so much helpful information. We used the car transfer service of their sister company to get from the airport. The driver was ready, waiting and so helpful. The afternoon "happy hour" is a fun addition. The breakfast was always delicious and service excellent. Our room was lovely and quiet. Hotel location is perfect for walking access to everything in Florence. Tommaso or Fabrizio was always at the desk, ready to help with directions or to make a reservation. Tommaso went above and beyond when we had rental car problems and made phone calls on our behalf. What could have been a disastrous situation was quickly resolved due to his intervention. If we ever return to Florence, Hotel Davanzati will definitely be our choice again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,462
    282
    63
    11
    9
See reviews for
568
1,323
187
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Hotel Davanzati is a wonderful hotel that captures perfectly the Tuscan flavor of Florence. The hotel felt like home during our 9 day stay in Florence. Fabrizio, his father, Tomasso, Giovanni, and Leonardo were great in their knowledge, information, and tours of Florence as well as of Tuscany. The breakfast was hearty and the happy hour fun and a great way to meet and talk with other travelers. We stayed in the junior deluxe suite which is Tuscan modern and a spacious apartment for a family; it was fantastic and clean! I recommend The I Drive Tours ( hotel tour company) highly! I Just Drive tour guides: Fabrizio, Tomasso, and, and Giovanni gave interesting and informative tours to Assisi, Chianti, Lucca, and Pisa~ so well worth it and excellent! The entire staff was welcoming, warm, and friendly. Fabrizio is a professional, great, and knowledgeable hotel operator, concierge, and tour guide at this hotel. Fabrizio's restaurant recommendations were perfect for us. I recommend the Hotel Davanzati for its great location, service, location, and understated elegance. I will look forward to another stay at this gem nestled in the Via Porta Rossa in Florence!

Room Tip: Room 100- the junior deluxe suite was spacious and like an apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I can not say enough about this hotel. It was absolutely perfect from start to finish. We stayed in Florence for three nights and loved the Hotel Davanzati. It's centrally located in the heart of the city; a three minute walk from San Croce, the Duomo, the Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi, and the main town square.

The breakfast each morning is included and consisted of fresh bread and melon as well as a selection of coffee cakes, cereal, yogurt, proscuitto, juices and cappuccino. The evening happy hour was also great. They had chianti and presecco as well as fresh bread and pomodoro. It was a great way to start the day and start your evening in Florence.

The room was excellent. There were two adults and two kids in the room and it was booked as the "junior suite." It was quite a large room by comparison, and the main bedroom had sliding doors so that it could actually be a separate room from the living room. The kids slept on a fold out sofa bed which suited them just fine. The bathroom was great and included a separate shower in the room. All of the bath fixtures were modern and new, including the rain shower head in the shower. The wifi was good, but not great, and you had to use a complicated password for your stay and could only connect three devices.

When we arrived in Florence we walked with two kids and three rolling suitcases from the main train station to the hotel. It was about a 7 minute walk to the hotel. Apple maps gets the location wrong by about two blocks, so if you are using an iphone for navigation you will be close, but not exactly there. All of the restaurants nearby are excellent, and the hotel staff was glad to assist you in finding what you want.

Hotel Davanzati was perfect, and we will stay there again when in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent location! Comfortable room and great staff! This is a family run hotel with Fabrizio and his son Tommaso who are skilled hosts. Fabrizio's wife and nephew are also involved in the operation! The 90 year old grandfather started the hotel in the 1960s and still supervises. An nice assortment of fresh fruit at breakfast and complimentary wine or champagne at happy hour.
We also enjoyed a private tour for 4 to Pisa and Lucca in a Mercedes minivan equipped with Wifi and iPads, water, and wine. Tommaso is a charming and friendly driver and tour guide. There is a 10% discount for cash payment for the tour and or hotel charges. Be prepared for the flight of stairs from the street to the hotel reception-there is an elevator partway- We could stay here again when back in Florence!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

All the great things you've read are true! My daughter and I spent 6 nights there and I can't say enough great things about our expierence with the hotel, and all the family members that work there. It's central location is great to all museums, restaurants and shopping. I'm already planning another trip for either the fall or the spring of 2014.
Thanks for a memorable trip,
Bill & Alese

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect position for sightseeing in Florence. The room was comfortable and the staff were charming and helpful. This included making several advance reservations for us at museums and also giving us detailed information on Easter and the Scoppio del Carro festival.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Right in the heart of the city, Hotel Davanzati is an absolute gem. We booked this hotel having reviewed it on Trip Advisor and also because it came highly recommended by a friend. The communication via email from the owners was second to none - many emails passed between us and they were able to recommend and book a couple of excellent tours for us (the walking tour was brilliant with a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide). Not only that, they gave excellent directions on how to get there by car, they organised parking for us, and we were duly advised that there were some steep stairs to climb to get up to reception. This is a delightful family-run hotel - the happy hour was excellent, the breakfast plentiful, with wonderful espresso etc available on request. As for the rooms they are clean, and full of character with big bathrooms. All in all, Hotel Davanzati is a great place stay and we hope to return and stay there again.

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#44 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.