We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mom loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Save Saved
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 459 hotels in Florence
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mom loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thanks again TripAdvisor, for pointing me in the right direction for a trip to Florence with my mom last spring! Great location, lovely room, tasty breakfast, and nice happy hour to encourage us to re-group at the end of the day before heading out to dinner. It's true that the younger staff guy is a shameless flirt, but it is Italy after all. Just roll your eyes and walk away if you're not into it. There were definitely a couple ladies who were loving the attention while I was there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,273
    250
    53
    10
    9
See reviews for
503
1211
170
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Similar to the two single ladies reporting on tripadvisor I can also confirm I was made to feel uncomfortable as a lone female traveller. I was propositioned for an upgrade provided I'd be willing to "sleep in the same room..." (with a certain staff member). Unlike the other two ladies I was not single and made this quite clear during the "friendly" happy hour meeting. Not worth the distress and harassment girls, stay away.

Stayed 2012, travelled alone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Florence. Friends had recommended the Hotel Davanzati after staying there several years ago. The central location could not have been better and made it extremely easy to walk anywhere we wanted to go in 10- 15 minutes. We were warmly met by the owner - Fabrizio upon our arrival. He made it easy to settle in and get oriented to the city. This continued throughout our stay. He made great suggestions for restaurants in the area. Everything was well run. The hotel was vrey clean, room was simple but comfortable. Very enjoyable breakfast with fresh fruit and baked goods. All the staff were friendly and helpful and it was very welcoming to come back to Happy Hour after long days of exploring the city before we set out for dinner. It gave us a chance to relax and meet many of the other hotel guests from around the world. Wouldn't hesitate to return and certainly would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel Davanzanti really hits all the spots. The location is superb close to all the attractions, shops and restaurants. An unassuming entrance up a stairway leads to this great hotel where they really work hard to make your stay in Florence perfect.

Decoration is simple but reflects Tuscan style with tradional frescos and wrought iron alongside a beautiful modern steel staircase. Our room was generous, the bed very comfortable and there is every modern requirement including wi fi and computer. Both the room and public areas are scrupulously clean.

There is an excellent continental style breakfast in the morning with grandfather lovingly ensuring that the families high standards are being maintained. To single out one person front of house would be unfair, they all work hard to make you welcome and ensure you have a good stay in Florence.

Will we return? Definitely - and soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose Hotel Davenzati due to the great ratings that it has received on Trip Advisor. We stayed three nights. We were not disappointed, but we were not overwhelmed. Located in the heart of old Florence, the location cannot be beaten. It is a short walk from the train station, and all the main galleries and other attractions are within easy walking distance. The service is good, Fabrizio and his staff were friendly, and breakfast was fine. We were in a standard double room which was small, but comfortable and well appointed. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Hotel Davanzati in Florence. The last time I was here was almost 6 years ago. The level of service this time was just as great if not greater than last time. Fabrizio and his staff always makes you feel welcome when you're in the property. The location of this hotel can't be beat. It is located in the heart of Florence where you can walk to all the attractions, restaurants, shops etc. I really enjoyed the additional offerings of the tours which the hotel offers as it really enhances the experiences of exploring the areas outside of Florence (Siena, San Gimignano, Chianti region, etc). I liked how Fabrizio has kept on top of technology by offering free wi-fi! I highly recommend the Hotel Davanzati and would not hesitate in staying there again on our next trip to Florence (Firenze)!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in Florence at Hotel Davanzati for 2 nights in September 2012 (just now getting around to my reviews). This hotel is highly rated for a reason. It's well located and the level of service is exceptional. It's only a short walk from Piazza della Signoria and Ponte Vecchio, while the train station and Galleria dell'Accademia are also easily reached on foot. The rooms are very nice and we were given great recommendations for lunch and dinner. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Florence and I wish we had more than 2 nights while we were there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence
Davanzati Hotel
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Business Hotel in Florence
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.