We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming, perfect location and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming, perfect location and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Florence. Friends had recommended the Hotel Davanzati after staying there several years ago. The central location could not have been better and made it extremely easy to walk anywhere we wanted to go in 10- 15 minutes. We were warmly met by the owner - Fabrizio upon our arrival. He made it easy to settle in and get oriented to the city. This continued throughout our stay. He made great suggestions for restaurants in the area. Everything was well run. The hotel was vrey clean, room was simple but comfortable. Very enjoyable breakfast with fresh fruit and baked goods. All the staff were friendly and helpful and it was very welcoming to come back to Happy Hour after long days of exploring the city before we set out for dinner. It gave us a chance to relax and meet many of the other hotel guests from around the world. Wouldn't hesitate to return and certainly would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,517
    289
    63
    11
    9
See reviews for
588
1,346
195
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel Davanzanti really hits all the spots. The location is superb close to all the attractions, shops and restaurants. An unassuming entrance up a stairway leads to this great hotel where they really work hard to make your stay in Florence perfect.

Decoration is simple but reflects Tuscan style with tradional frescos and wrought iron alongside a beautiful modern steel staircase. Our room was generous, the bed very comfortable and there is every modern requirement including wi fi and computer. Both the room and public areas are scrupulously clean.

There is an excellent continental style breakfast in the morning with grandfather lovingly ensuring that the families high standards are being maintained. To single out one person front of house would be unfair, they all work hard to make you welcome and ensure you have a good stay in Florence.

Will we return? Definitely - and soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose Hotel Davenzati due to the great ratings that it has received on Trip Advisor. We stayed three nights. We were not disappointed, but we were not overwhelmed. Located in the heart of old Florence, the location cannot be beaten. It is a short walk from the train station, and all the main galleries and other attractions are within easy walking distance. The service is good, Fabrizio and his staff were friendly, and breakfast was fine. We were in a standard double room which was small, but comfortable and well appointed. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Hotel Davanzati in Florence. The last time I was here was almost 6 years ago. The level of service this time was just as great if not greater than last time. Fabrizio and his staff always makes you feel welcome when you're in the property. The location of this hotel can't be beat. It is located in the heart of Florence where you can walk to all the attractions, restaurants, shops etc. I really enjoyed the additional offerings of the tours which the hotel offers as it really enhances the experiences of exploring the areas outside of Florence (Siena, San Gimignano, Chianti region, etc). I liked how Fabrizio has kept on top of technology by offering free wi-fi! I highly recommend the Hotel Davanzati and would not hesitate in staying there again on our next trip to Florence (Firenze)!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in Florence at Hotel Davanzati for 2 nights in September 2012 (just now getting around to my reviews). This hotel is highly rated for a reason. It's well located and the level of service is exceptional. It's only a short walk from Piazza della Signoria and Ponte Vecchio, while the train station and Galleria dell'Accademia are also easily reached on foot. The rooms are very nice and we were given great recommendations for lunch and dinner. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Florence and I wish we had more than 2 nights while we were there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The reservation process is simple and Fabrizio provided a wealth of useful information and recommendations before arrival. We had trouble making a reservation at Santa Croce for the scaffolding tour on our own and the hotel helped with that and were eager to provide assistance in any way possible. The family suite with 2 lofts was very spacious and extremely comfortable for us and 2 kids, who greatly enjoyed the free Wi Fi. La Bussola across from the hotel also was exceptionally welcoming. Wonderful five days!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here in late December, for 2 nights in their 2+2 suite. The room was perfect for our family of 4 (2 girls ages 9 and 12), which separate twin beds for the girls, and a divider that could be closed separating the master bedroom from the living room. In addition, there was a huge, semi-private balcony -- albeit without much of a view. The room had great internet access (wifi), and the breakfast was good, if simple. The wine/appetizers served in the evening was a nice break after touring the city, before heading out for dinner. The only issue we had was with the temperature in the room -- it was too warm. However, the hotel staff immediately acknowledged it was an issue, offered to move us (we declined since we could open the windows for cool air), and comped us the train station transfers.

The hotel is in a perfect location, right next to the Palazzo Davanzati -- one of the more interesting museums, and in a short walk to everything else.

Booking was extremely easy, if not quite the point and click people are used to with the major hotel chains. After booking online from their website, the hotel e-mailed a confirmation page which had to be responded to. All communications were in excellent English, and the hotel staff provided additional suggestions for restaurant reservations, and train station transfers.

We'll be back next time we're in Florence!

Room Tip: The suite was excellent, and provided a ton of extra room for not much more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.