We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy (Duomo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 419 Hotels in Florence
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for the first time in Nov. 2011 and liked it so much we came back in 2013! The hotel is conveniently located to all the sites in Florence. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. Fabrizio, Tommaso and all the staff there make you feel so very welcome. We especially loved visiting with them at breakfast and in the evening during their happy hour! They have iPads and many books available for their guests and always eager and able to help. We can't wait till we can come again! Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Morris, Connecticut
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Friendly staff, convenient location, relatively large rooms, clean. Complimentary aperitif nightly, and complimentary 1st breakfast. You do have to walk up 26 steps from street to reach their elevator or can walk another shirt flight to lobby. They will help with your bags from the street if you let them know you've arrived. They are helpful with tickets, reservations, anything you may need. Very nice all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolBS36 2DB
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, right from the moment we booked online, all communication was prompt and personal. Fabrizio and Tommaso helped us sort out our travel arangements and made excellent recommendations for eating out. Room was pretty small with no view, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was simple but again fresh and a good selection of produce. A particularly nice touch is the "happy hour" every day from 6.30-7.30pm when free Chianti or Proseco is served with nibbles to guests, what a great way to start the evening! Located an easy walk from the station and even closer to the divine shopping! An unforgettable trip, thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We traveled to Florence in November to visit my daughter who was studying there for the semester. All the reviews were spot on!. One incredible thing that no one seems to mention is that the hotel is completely nonsmoking which is very important to us. All hotels in Italy are required to have nonsmoking public areas, and many designate nonsmoking rooms, but these often are still on floors that allow smoking or may only have been sprayed with Fabreze before you arrive! We booked the Westin as a backup, but the owners at Davanzati were so friendly, helpful and inviting, the hotel is so charming with so many warm touches, and our room was so delightful (towel warmers and heated bathroom floor!) and quiet that we asked if we could come back for two more nights at the end of our trip and canceled our Westin reservation! We didn't regret it one bit! Don't let the stairs scare you! They will help you with all your bags and anything else you might need. I have a close friend who lives in Rome and she promises to recommend this hotel to all her visitors when the come to Florence. Florence is also very expensive, but the price for our room were exceptional given the level of quality and service we received.

Room Tip: Our triple room was large, charming and had a wonderful bathroom and shower. I think it was room 305...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBKagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a family owned hotel/B&B. You get to know the whole family (they all work there). They are warm and hospitable and will book anywhere you want to go. They even have their own driver. One day a beautiful Mercedes SUV took us and another couple for a day in Tuscany, which was the highlight of our trip. The rooms are cozy and they have a little happy hour every night so all the guests can relax and socialize. We made many friends there and everyone speaks perfect English! Would absolutely stay here again. Loved it!

Room Tip: Tell them you're on your honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyaaronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have already planned my 4th visit to beautiful Florence and, of course, will stay at the wonderful Davanzati Hotel. This time I will be bringing my grand niece--who has been with me on the previous 3 trips--as well as my niece and her daughter so they, too, can enjoy all Florence and Davanzati have to offer. I look forward to seeing Fabrizio and Tommaso again next year in early May. I know we won't be disappointed. Ciao

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Pleased to report that Hotel Davanzati did live up to its many positive tripadvisor reviews. This very well located family-run hotel was a good choice for a family of four. We were checked in very efficiently and informatively, and without asking, were given more than one wifi login & password. The room was comfortable, clean and quite quiet, though the music from the evening happy hour was very loud but thankfully did not last for long. The bathroom was small but very clean and had a decent enough shower, though the hairdryer was woeful (and quite possibly on its last legs). The decor is a touch Tuscan kitsch if that matters to anyone. The breakfast offerings were varied and satisfying. We certainly enjoyed the personal touch of someone making tea and coffee for the guests. A pleasant and conveniently located place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBM2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,483 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#16 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#2 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#19 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing