We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Wonderful Staff - Bring Small Stroller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy (Duomo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel - Wonderful Staff - Bring Small Stroller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The staff was very welcoming and friendly. They were always available and ready to help. Front desk hosts really went out of their way to make us feel at home and comfortable. We even forgot our passports and they drove to the airport to deliver them.

Very close to the middle of all the sights. Within walking distance to almost everything. Breakfast was decent, coffee was great! Rooms were good, many modern amenities. Highly recommended for anyone, not just families.

The only issue was the flight of stairs to get in. Staff helped with arrival and departure, but if you have a large stroller it isn't so easy going up and down.

Overall - we would definitely go back with a smaller stroller.

Thank you guys!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,561
    298
    65
    11
    9
See reviews for
607
1,376
197
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great family hotel. We stayed here 3 nights its location is great, very central and easy to see all main attractions. The staff were all so nice and helpfull and gave great dinner recomendations. The happy hour was a great touch, it was nice to enjoy a free drink before dinner. The room was a good size and very clean. Overall it was a great experience i would recomend this hotel to anyone vistiting florence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We actually stayed at the Hotel Davanzati, four years ago,( the form requires a more current date of stay). At that time, there were so many outstanding reviews that I neglected to write one. However, this past week a longtime friend contacted me for suggestions on where to stay in Florence. I immediately thought of the Davanzati and contacted Fabrizio on the whim he would remember us.

His response was a greater compliment to his hotel then all the positive stay comments. He was delighted to hear from us, remembered even some shared moments and immediately assisted in insuring that my very good friend and his family would have an outstanding experience during his time in Florence.

I am glad I waited to write my comments

Room Tip: communicate with Fabrizio
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very comfortable and cozy B&B run by a family, who were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about everything in Florence. They knew every restaurant by name including where they are and when they open. They also made reservations, which was an immense help.

The hotel has a happy hour every evening for the guests, which includes free drinks and snacks. This was a great event for me, since I traveled alone, and met a fantastic eating buddy there who was also traveling alone.

The room was small, but comfortable and clean. The hotel made strange noises at night though, which bothered me until I popped in earplugs. I'm a light sleeper though, so this might not be a problem for most.

It's around the corner from the market, and five minutes or less from Duomo and Uffizi/Ponte Vecchio by walking, so it's a great location. The real advantage here though is the fact that the family who runs it is so friendly, helpful and obviously masters of everything Florence. It's clear they've been doing this a long time, and take pride in their service. I would definitely consider this hotel again if I come back to Florence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Davidantza on our recent trip to Italy. This was a nice hotel with a great location (5 mins walk to most of the attractions, and restaurant/bars). The staff was friendly and made us feel welcome. We mostly dealt with Tomas who happens to be the grandson of the person who established the hotel. He was very pleasant, gave us a lot of good information.

The rooms are very clean and fairly spacious. The bathroom was pretty clean, but small like all other Italian hotels. There’s a laptop in every room for use for those that don’t travel without a computer/ipad (who does that these days?). There’s free wifi in the hotel but is really spotty.

The hotel has a free happy hour every evening where they serve red/white wine with some snacks. The happy hour was not too happening when we visited (in November). But, we enjoyed it. It was a nice way to relax after walking around Florence the whole day.

The breakfast was just OK. They didn’t have a big selection. But they have someone who will prepare cappuccinos/lattes from the machine which was a nice touch.

The hotel can be hard to find (no big signs), we walked right by it. There’s is a steep staircase, that you need to climb to the first floor before you can take an elevator to the next level where the reception is at. The stairs can be a little challenging if you have a heavy bag, so be prepared.

We stayed here based on the great trip advisor reviews. What we liked best about this hotel was the location, and the rooms were nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, ma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Davanzati for the first time this past August. There are many fine reasons to recommend this hotel. The location is perfect, the room is large and clean. The breakfast is ample and the happy hour is a nice bonus that allows meeting and greeting other guests. But the Davanzati distinguishes itself through the level of service and customer care they provide. We traveled by car to Florence and could not navigate our way through the confusing maze of poorly marked streets to the hotel. We called the hotel and Fabrizio stayed on the phone with us while we were driving, and calmly talked us over the bridges and through the several turns until we arrived at the front door of the hotel. I know I tested his patience several times while doing this, but upon arrival he met us with a welcoming smile and a warm greeting. This was not the end of his customer service. While in Florence we mailed a package home to the USA. However, the package was not delivered to us, but returned to Florence. Upon learning of this, Fabrizio has been acting as our contact in Florence and dealing with the Italian post office in trying to locate and reclaim our package. He has made calls to the post office, filled out a lost and found form, and communicated back to me on several occasions. It’s truly extraordinary to receive this level of personal service and willingness to assist in any way possible. We obviously highly recommend the Davanzati.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonkers new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved the Davanzati. On our first trip to Florence, it was delightful and a great choice. Room was great; location fabulous, happy hour and breakfast were excellent as well. Can't say enough and will recommend it to all our friends. A wonderful choice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 458 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,244 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#16 of 458 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,753 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#9 of 458 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#23 of 458 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,769 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#38 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.