We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, helpful and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, helpful and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very comfortable and cozy B&B run by a family, who were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about everything in Florence. They knew every restaurant by name including where they are and when they open. They also made reservations, which was an immense help.

The hotel has a happy hour every evening for the guests, which includes free drinks and snacks. This was a great event for me, since I traveled alone, and met a fantastic eating buddy there who was also traveling alone.

The room was small, but comfortable and clean. The hotel made strange noises at night though, which bothered me until I popped in earplugs. I'm a light sleeper though, so this might not be a problem for most.

It's around the corner from the market, and five minutes or less from Duomo and Uffizi/Ponte Vecchio by walking, so it's a great location. The real advantage here though is the fact that the family who runs it is so friendly, helpful and obviously masters of everything Florence. It's clear they've been doing this a long time, and take pride in their service. I would definitely consider this hotel again if I come back to Florence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,438
    279
    62
    11
    9
See reviews for
557
1,312
186
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Davidantza on our recent trip to Italy. This was a nice hotel with a great location (5 mins walk to most of the attractions, and restaurant/bars). The staff was friendly and made us feel welcome. We mostly dealt with Tomas who happens to be the grandson of the person who established the hotel. He was very pleasant, gave us a lot of good information.

The rooms are very clean and fairly spacious. The bathroom was pretty clean, but small like all other Italian hotels. There’s a laptop in every room for use for those that don’t travel without a computer/ipad (who does that these days?). There’s free wifi in the hotel but is really spotty.

The hotel has a free happy hour every evening where they serve red/white wine with some snacks. The happy hour was not too happening when we visited (in November). But, we enjoyed it. It was a nice way to relax after walking around Florence the whole day.

The breakfast was just OK. They didn’t have a big selection. But they have someone who will prepare cappuccinos/lattes from the machine which was a nice touch.

The hotel can be hard to find (no big signs), we walked right by it. There’s is a steep staircase, that you need to climb to the first floor before you can take an elevator to the next level where the reception is at. The stairs can be a little challenging if you have a heavy bag, so be prepared.

We stayed here based on the great trip advisor reviews. What we liked best about this hotel was the location, and the rooms were nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, ma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Davanzati for the first time this past August. There are many fine reasons to recommend this hotel. The location is perfect, the room is large and clean. The breakfast is ample and the happy hour is a nice bonus that allows meeting and greeting other guests. But the Davanzati distinguishes itself through the level of service and customer care they provide. We traveled by car to Florence and could not navigate our way through the confusing maze of poorly marked streets to the hotel. We called the hotel and Fabrizio stayed on the phone with us while we were driving, and calmly talked us over the bridges and through the several turns until we arrived at the front door of the hotel. I know I tested his patience several times while doing this, but upon arrival he met us with a welcoming smile and a warm greeting. This was not the end of his customer service. While in Florence we mailed a package home to the USA. However, the package was not delivered to us, but returned to Florence. Upon learning of this, Fabrizio has been acting as our contact in Florence and dealing with the Italian post office in trying to locate and reclaim our package. He has made calls to the post office, filled out a lost and found form, and communicated back to me on several occasions. It’s truly extraordinary to receive this level of personal service and willingness to assist in any way possible. We obviously highly recommend the Davanzati.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonkers new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved the Davanzati. On our first trip to Florence, it was delightful and a great choice. Room was great; location fabulous, happy hour and breakfast were excellent as well. Can't say enough and will recommend it to all our friends. A wonderful choice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My 2nd stay at the Davanzati was rewarded with a free updgrade to a superior room - greatly appreciated. This hotel is in the perfect location for everything in Florence.

Wifi works fine. Reasonable mini-bar prices. Extensive television system is a bit hard to navigate.

Room and linens were clean. Bed was very roomy and comfortable. Friendly good breakfast. Another great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantallon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

After staying at Hotel Davanzati, it's not hard to see why this is one of the top-rated hotels in Florence! We booked this hotel based on a friend's recommendation, as well as the Trip Advisor reviews. We stayed there August 31 to September 3, 2012 for the second part of our honeymoon. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the train station in a very convenient location. We were greeted by Fabrizio and Tomaso when we arrived at the hotel. We were welcomed in our room with a bottle of Davanzati Chianti as part of our honeymoon :) The room was very nice and clean. The happy hour from 6:30 to 7:30 (I think) each night was an added bonus! We got to meet several couples staying at the hotel and share experiences from our travels. Breakfast each morning was excellent! Fabrizio recommended and made reservations for us at several local "trattorias." All of them served excellent meals. We would highly recommend Trattoria al Trebbio, and order the Florentine steak... best steak we've ever had! We only had two full days in Florence... the first day we did the Best of Tuscany in One Day Tour (would highly recommend... see Trip Advisor reviews). The second day we did the Florence-In-a-Day Walking Tour (www.florenceandtuscanytours.com) as recommended by Fabrizio. On our last night we took a limo to Piazzale Michelangelo for a sunset tour and the most amazing views of Florence. It was only 18 Euro each, included a bottle of champagne, and lasted 1.5 hrs. They picked us up near the hotel and dropped us off at a restaurant for supper. See our review under "I Just Drive." We wish we could have spent more time in this beautiful city, but we only had 2 weeks to travel Italy. Thank you Fabrizio and Tomaso for an amazing experience! Matt and Andrea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently spent seven wonderful nights in this amazing hotel. Fabrizio and his son Tomaso made our trip to Florence memorable. The location cannot be better and the service cannot be surpassed. From wonderful breakfasts to amazing "happy hours"we felt a warmth and hospitality that was second to none. To us, there is no other hotel in Florence that can touch the Davanzati!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#39 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.