We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices from these 4 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Davanzati to your Saves list
Hotel Davanzati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a fantastic place Hotel Davanzati is. The service from Fabrizio and all the family is exceptional. They really make you feel like part of their family. We are on our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. This was by far the best hotel, from the breakfast, to the gorgeous Tuscan rooms, to the tours they organized for us, all of it was an absolute dream!

Our recommendations... The most romantic part of the trip was Fabrizio's limousine ride 'i just drive' through Florence which takes you to a beautiful lookout over the entire city just as the sun begins to set.

The day tour of Tuscany is also a must, especially with the tour guide Giovanni. Thank you Giovanni!

Thank you Hotel Davanzati. We can't wait to see you again!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,393
    275
    60
    11
    9
See reviews for
549
1,286
182
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel by a recommendation from a friend. We were not disappointed. From the minute we arrived, we were welcomed by Fabrizio like we were part of his family. They were very accomodating and take great care of their guests. I've been to Florence before and I couldn't believe what a great location this hotel was. It's close to all main attrations in Florence. I definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to go to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The family should be writing a book on boutique hoteliery. From the grandfather who ambles about every breakfast to the 3rd generation attending the front desk. The entire family is genuinely friendly, courteous and helpful. You will feel as welcome as anywhere you may ever stay. The daily happy hour is so consistent with this warm friendly atmosphere. Should you be inclined, it allows guests to mingle with each other and creates a feeling more like you are staying with a good friends, which you will be. Just to set expectations at an appropriate level, Hotel Davanzati is not a 5 star palace. It’s comfortable, spotlessly clean, intimate and charming in it’s own idiosyncratic and endearing sort of way. The climb up the 26 steps from the street to the lift is your first evidence of it’s undeniable quirkiness. Having said this they have somehow wired up the connectivity in this old building to provide really nice wifi. The free use of iPad’s is a nice touch. I honestly can’t imagine anyone traveling to Firenze not enjoying a stay at The Davanzati, as it is so very much reflective of the essence of Firenze. A short ten minute walk from the train station, the hotel itself is in fabulous location convenient to central Firenze and should you simply ask I am certain the family will go above and beyond to help make your holiday that much more special. Grazie.

Room Tip: Be prepared for your hike up the stairs to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were very careful to review all of our overseas hotels. We were very pleased with the quality of service here and with the room. it is in a fantastic location, they have a complimentary happy hour every night and a wonderful breakfast. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband, teenage son, and I stayed here for three nights in July. We were warmly welcomed by Tommaso upon our arrival, and Fabrizio (his father) took great care of us for the remaining two days of our stay. We were impressed by the spaciousness and cleanliness of our lovely room, which accommodated the three of us with ease. It was quiet at night, save for their fun happy hour during which we indulged in tasty prosecco, snacks, and upbeat music. Fabrizio's wife, Patricia, was kind enough to put out gluten-free biscuits and cookies for breakfast once I divulged that I was allergic. Tommaso also mapped out several locations where I could find excellent gluten-free pizza and other food (such as gelato!). This was my son's favorite hotel experience on our trip, and we definitely plan to return. Many thanks to Tommaso, Fabrizio, and Patricia for their lovely service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We chose to stay at the Hotel Davanzati based on the reviews of others on Trip Advisor. We arrived at the hotel and, without even buzzing anyone, someone came down immediately to take our suitcases up the huge staircase. Tomas greeted us at the desk at reception and was friendly and helpful in telling us about the hotel and services. My first impression was that the reception room looked a little "worn" compared to the pictures online, but that is a minor detail. Our room was spacious and clean, but also in need of a little sprucing up. We were on the first floor and didn't have a window in the room but instead a door out to a little shared terrace. The laptop and free wi-fi was great and the breakfasts were perfect for us. They served yogurt, cheeses, meats, cereal, toast and other breads, fruit, pastries, juices, coffees and probably more. The happy hour was okay with free wine but only peanuts, toasted bread and sauce, and some crackers.

Overall, the positives were the great location, the nice service and the size of the room. We had some problems with a leaky air conditioner and the door to our terrace wouldn't open. I have to say that Tomas and his father were on top of fixing all the problems and even discounted our charges without us even asking. In general, I liked the hotel and its staff but I would recommend a little updating to make this the 5 star it could be.

Room Tip: I would request a room with a window. I felt a little like I was in an inside stateroom on a ship si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My family of 4 (2 Adults, 2 teenagers) stayed here for two nights in the first week of July 2012 and loved it! Family run with exemplary service, especially Fabrizio who will accommodate your every whim - we even took advantage of their new limousine service up to a view point which was great fun. Only negative would be the steps to the lobby - would put off those less able. Otherwise, perfect central location, spotlessly clean, up to date technology, happy hour, but most of all, you feel right at home and sleep well (surprisingly quiet!). Would definitely stay here again when next in Florence.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Davanzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.