We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No WiFi in Room!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caravaggio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caravaggio to your Saves list
Hotel Caravaggio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Indipendenza 5, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kaneohe, Hawaii, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No WiFi in Room!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First the positive things about our 4 night stay in late April 2015: The bathroom was clean, towels replaced daily. The breakfast was better than average (for Italy). The location was handy, about an 8 minute walk from the train station and close to all the main landmarks you would want to visit.
Now the negative things: They put us in the room next to the elevator - I'm sure that was due to the great "deal" we got on the room rate. The photo on their website is NOT what you get here. NO WIFI IN THE ROOM. We complained about it and the guy at the front desk argued with us, implying that we were delusional or something. EVERY DAY. Next, this is NOT a non smoking hotel and the smell of cigarette smoke was typical day & night (YUCK!!). Lastly the pillows were flat as pancakes.

Needless to say, we WON'T be back to this hotel and do NOT recommend it to people that need access to wireless in their room and don't smoke.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    249
    70
    12
    8
See reviews for
103
222
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights in March. The hotel is convenient to the train station and easy walking distance to all the main attractions. The courtyard and little bar were a nice place to relax after sightseeing and before dinner.

Room was comfortable and clean, staff was very pleasant and helpful, and there was a typical selection for breakfast. This is a good value and a very nice three-star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the street side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piegaro, Italy
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

We had a very pleasant one night stay when we traveled from our home in Umbria to meet friends in Firenze. Since our favorite hotel was fully booked, we tried the Caravaggio upon reading the reviews. Our train was cancelled so at the last minute we had to drive and were dreading finding parking in Firenze. To our delight the hotel was easy to access with our car and they booked nearby parking for us, even driving the car to the parking. That was just the beginning of the wonderful service and some very pleasant talks with Guiseppe at the front desk. Overall, it exceeded our expectations and we would definitely stay again when overnighting in Firenze. The location is excellent if you are arriving by car or train. Short walk to train station and Mercato Centrale about 10-15 minutes. Breakfast was typical of Europe but with a lot of selection and loved eating in the little courtyard in back: cold cut meats, cheeses, nice pastries and cakes, juice, yogurt, cereals....be sure to ask for a cappuccino as it was great. Good WiFi, ample space in our room which was third floor and faced the back with a view of the Duomo roof. Ask for room at back as the hotel faces a park with a lot of noise that we noticed when we walked back late at night. Our room at back was entirely quiet. Some have commented on the firm beds which we liked, so no complaints and our shower had some of the best water pressure we have had in major cities in Italy. Elevator, nice garden courtyard. I feel that given the great and friendly service, value for the money spent, the location, easy parking or walk to station, ample breakfast, clean bathroom, size of room and fast WiFi it rates five points! Hits all the points we like. Bravo to Guiseppe.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back facing garden and on third floor, not the front of hotel facing the public park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsascala, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Hotel is only 10 mins walk from Santa Maria Novella Train Station, and close to all main attractions. Hotel is facing the Piazza Indipendenza and although we had a front facing room, it was not noisy at all. Stayed in 3rd floor, room was very clean, with temperature of ac can be controlled from your own room. Nice bathroom that never ran out of hot water. Breakfast was abundant, serving cereals, yoghurts, juices, pastries, bread, ham and cheese, tea and coffee. Reception is open 24/7. The lady there helped us book a day tour while Giuseppe was very kind in recommending a good restaurant. He also gave us information about some of the historical places in Florence. Since we left early in the morning, he also prepared breakfast for us so that we did not miss it... thank you :) Definitely recommended and will visit again if we come back to Florence

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon for 3 nights. Location is perfect for city centre, the Duomo and ponteveccio bridge. Little bar is nice, we watched world cup final here with the staff. All really nice, but we had requested a double bed and it was like concrete. I mean there was no "give" at all and I prefer a firm mattress, but this was ridiculous. Hotel was full and couldn't really do anything at the time. Didn't really spoil our stay and I'm sure other beds are probably ok. Other than that, lovely place to stay, not far from the station. Recommended.

Room Tip: Hotel in nice location, seemed quiet wherever you were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moncton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Nice room and walking distance from most of the attractions.
Im a light sleeper and it wasn't a problem.
We arrived earlier than check in time but staff was really friendly.
The lady helped us booking some attractions.
Guiseppe went above and beyond for finding us great things to do.
we had misfortune to have been pickpocket and Guiseppe was really great.
I loved having conversation with him.
The lady serving breakfast was very nice and courteous. She always had a smile.
litlle patio outside if you arrive on time is nice to have breakfast.
breakfast had a lot of choices. very nice touch.

only cons was we had problem with the internet. we sometimes needed to call the reception to reset it. but hey its europe...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

The room for the 2 of us was huge and the best value during our trip. Walking distance to many of the attractions. Would stay here again. Very clean and big bathroom when compared to the rest of Italy.

Room Tip: any room should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caravaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Address: Piazza Indipendenza 5, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Florence
#140 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
500 meters from the central train station of Florence and very close to the Polo Fieristico Fortezza da Basso, Palazzo dei Congressi, Stazione Leopolda, where the main displays and fairs take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caravaggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.