We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caravaggio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caravaggio to your Saves list
Hotel Caravaggio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Indipendenza 5, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really liked this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. Rooms are very clean and adequate. I liked that it had an elevator from the ground floor up. Breakfast choices were good and staff attentive. While not in the middle of the main attractions, easy walk to everywhere. The restaurant next door is very nice but from the outside it can look very plain. They have beautiful terrace seating in the back even in winter. I saw a previous comment about noise. It was quiet in our room, but we always travel with ear plugs which makes a big difference. While we did not interact with desk staff much, they were friendly and helpful getting a cab to the airport.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Owner at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are happy that you appreciate our hotel and made enjoy your holiday
we hope to have you soon as our guest

Warm regards
Leonardo
Hotel Caravaggio Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    249
    70
    12
    8
See reviews for
103
222
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The guys at the front desk are very friendly. The beds are not very comfortable. Out of the three hotels we stayed at in Italy these beds were the worst.
The location is good. Very quiet. Across from a park.
The pizza place next door is very very good.
The bathroom is not very clean. I wondered if they cleaned it daily because it did not look like it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for the time taking to comment
we appreciate your suggestions

We are looking forward to see you again
Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed four nights with Hotel Caravaggio and had a pleasant stay with them. The hotel was a short walk from the main train station (10mins~) and was conveniently located within walking distance to various main attractions in Florence. The receptionist was always ready to greet us with a smile and provided us with great help during our stay with them. The variety available for breakfast was nothing fantastic but it was of good quality. Rooms were quiet and peaceful. No complains whatsoever, yet I cannot seem to point out anything exceptional either. In sum, this is a value-for-money stay with a good location. (:

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for the time to comment
We looking forward to see you soon next time

Regards
Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel isn't spectacular as the room decor is a bit tired and the walls are rather thin so we could hear the conversations of the guests in the next room, but the service is outstanding and the price can't be beat. Also, it is a few blocks from the train station and all the major sites. The room was rather clean and a fairly good size compared to other Italian hotels. The water pressure in the bathroom was excellent.

My one complaint and the only reason I couldn't give the hotel a 5 is that the sleep quality was poor. The mattress was horrible and we could hear the people above us walking around late at night. Luckily, we have a white noise app on our phone that helped with the noise. The bed is two twin beds pushed together and one of the mattresses had a giant hump in the middle of it so we just huddled on the other mattress.

Breakfast was perfectly adequate every morning and there was a server constantly restocking the food items.

Overall, if you are traveling on a budget, this is a good place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for taking the time to comment,

we're sorry you have found the mattress uncomfortable and the room decor a little tired but, in addition to the service they provide our employees, the quality and variety of the breakfast buffet and the hotel's location, these are the things that our guests tell us to better appreciate.
We will, however treasure your suggestions

Kind regards
Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel! Very friendly and helpful staff, delightful rooms, very clean, nice outlook, very adequate breakfast and superb situation. Very easy access to railway station (less than 10 mins) and to central sights. Some road noise at front but did not bother us. Rooms even had a kettle and a fridge for milk. To be able to make a nice cup of tea in continental hotels is an unusual and much to be valued bonus! Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Andrew,
we appreciate your comment and your suggestions
we hope to have you as our guest again soon

Regards
Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

A little bit of a walk from the train station. Rooms were nice and quiet.breakfast was very nice with good variety.Really good brick oven pizza next door. Centrally located with helpful staff. I would stay there again...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for the time taking to comment
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us

We're looking forward to see you soon next time

Warm regards
Leonardo
Hotel Caravaggio Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in late October 2012. Very nice hotel, well cared for and clean. About a long 4 block stroll from train station. We rolled our luggage one way from station (was raining the day we left so we got a taxi). Right across the street from Piazza Indipendence, nice place to walk. There is a spagettaria next door on ground level which has some very good food at a reasonable price. We also walked to and fro from the Uffizi Gallery. Also did day trip from here to Pisa to see Leaning Tower. Good location for day trips and Firenze attractions. Staff friendly and helpful and spoke good English, though I mostly spoke Italian with them. Breakfast is quite good and free. Front desk service is commendable, and for Firenze, the price was pretty good. Would stay here again, though Saturday night the natives got a little loud across the street.

Room Tip: I'd try to avoid rooms facing the Piazza because of noise on Saturday night. Otherwise, anyplac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for your valuable feedback

We are looking forward to see you again

Warm Regards
Leonardo
Hotel Caravaggio Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caravaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Address: Piazza Indipendenza 5, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Florence
#126 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
500 meters from the central train station of Florence and very close to the Polo Fieristico Fortezza da Basso, Palazzo dei Congressi, Stazione Leopolda, where the main displays and fairs take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caravaggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.